We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again, good location and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Would stay again, good location and comfortable”
Reviewed May 8, 2010

The grounds are beautiful. Like an old mansion. Food was great. one negative aspect was if you stay there during the winter and your room is outside the main building. Its old but well kept. Recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    385
    159
    60
    29
See reviews for
225
474
20
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is a typical chain 4* hotel.
Pd £90 for a double inc b'fast on a Friday night as a special wedding deal. Stayed in 107 in the annex. Room was good size and quiet but since it was on the ground floor, for privacy, it was necessary to dress with curtains closed. TV only had the basic channels.
Suggest a path or even a covered way be constructed between the annex and the main building. At present, access is by walking on the access road to the car-park..loose gravel is not easy on the high heels and if it were raining, the wedding finery would be rather spoilt!
Bar prices were expensive £18 plus for two pints of Creamflow and two single G & T's) and only a limited range of drinks..4 draught beers, Creamflow, Guinness, Carling and Grolsch plus only 2 gins..Hendricks and Bombay Sapphire..
Little to do in the hotel...suggest they put in a swimming pool...it would be appreciated by the kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for one night on a Saturday and had a very nice and relaxing evening. There was a wedding party also in the hotel which caused the service staff to be a little busy and stresed although they remained friendly throughout. The building has lots of character, as others have said, and the restaurant was of a very high standard which we would recommend to others.

We stayed in a standard room which we found to be very large and contained all of the facilities that you would like. The only complaint is that the TVs have very little reception and no digital channels which did not spoil our visit but could for others.

Overall we thought that the hotel was very good and would recommend it to others - particularly those looking for a hotel which is a short drive from the NEC as we required.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstymanager, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Ansty Hall.
It was a pleasure to receive your very positive comments regarding the Customer Service you received and the quality of your accommodation.
In response to your issue concerning the TV reception during your stay, there was a fault in the main amplifier which has now been replaced.
Digital channels are now available, however we are pleased to note that this did not detract from your visit.
Regards
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed here for the weekend and had an amazing time! We had a feature room in the main building, which had a massive superking bed and wonderful views over the gardens. My partner and I both slept so well - the bed was the most comfortable we had ever been in! The breakfast was included and was wonderful. We ate in the hotel on both evenings - there is not much else near the hotel and the food is excellent anyway, so we were more than happy! The restaurant gets booked up very quickly, so you will need to book if you want to eat there. I highly recommend the breads with the oil and butter - delicious! The service throughout the stay was top notch, particulay the waitress Karolina, she was lovely! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This lovely hotel is set in beautiful grounds and although not far from the M6 turnoff which makes it easy to find, is very quiet. We stayed in the annexe, requesting the same room we had stayed in previously as the bathroom has a bath and a large separate shower as well! The purpose of our visit was to relax, have some peace & quiet in which to read, and be looked after. The Staff are lovely - very friendly and welcoming and provide a very good and efficient service. We ate in the hotel restaurant on Friday night - the food was excellent, as were the breakfasts on each morning. The hotel is very elegant and has a good ambience,! We look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Just returned from a weekend break with my wife.The hotel is fine and in a plesant loction near the M6 ,but we heard no moterway noise.We where in the annex next to the hotel and had to walk on a muddy path to get to the main building.The room was big and comfortable with a great shower and a nice big bed .Breakfast on both days was very good get in early to avoid the rush ,we had one meal on the early bird menu £16 each it was very good value.This option is not on Saturday and Sunday.All the staff where exerlant and could not be faulted.On Saturday we walked 5 mins to the pub in the village and had a good meal in there .Only one pub you drive pass it get in early it gets busyWe had a loverly time and would go back again when the weather is better to do some walking.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Beautiful 17th century house which has been sympathetically restored and modernised. The gardens are beautifully kept and the public rooms reflect the stature and history of the house.
Service was good; staff approachable, welcoming and professional. We had a traditional, feature room which was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
Restaurant was busy, but service was well controlled by experienced Maitre d' and breakfast was excellent!
Not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity... however, a golf course within almost putting distance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing