We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peace & Quiet Retreat in Gracious surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A peace & Quiet Retreat in Gracious surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

This lovely hotel is set in beautiful grounds and although not far from the M6 turnoff which makes it easy to find, is very quiet. We stayed in the annexe, requesting the same room we had stayed in previously as the bathroom has a bath and a large separate shower as well! The purpose of our visit was to relax, have some peace & quiet in which to read, and be looked after. The Staff are lovely - very friendly and welcoming and provide a very good and efficient service. We ate in the hotel restaurant on Friday night - the food was excellent, as were the breakfasts on each morning. The hotel is very elegant and has a good ambience,! We look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    380
    157
    59
    28
See reviews for
220
469
20
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Just returned from a weekend break with my wife.The hotel is fine and in a plesant loction near the M6 ,but we heard no moterway noise.We where in the annex next to the hotel and had to walk on a muddy path to get to the main building.The room was big and comfortable with a great shower and a nice big bed .Breakfast on both days was very good get in early to avoid the rush ,we had one meal on the early bird menu £16 each it was very good value.This option is not on Saturday and Sunday.All the staff where exerlant and could not be faulted.On Saturday we walked 5 mins to the pub in the village and had a good meal in there .Only one pub you drive pass it get in early it gets busyWe had a loverly time and would go back again when the weather is better to do some walking.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

Beautiful 17th century house which has been sympathetically restored and modernised. The gardens are beautifully kept and the public rooms reflect the stature and history of the house.
Service was good; staff approachable, welcoming and professional. We had a traditional, feature room which was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
Restaurant was busy, but service was well controlled by experienced Maitre d' and breakfast was excellent!
Not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity... however, a golf course within almost putting distance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Chose this hotel for a weekend of peace and quiet, a place to chill. That is exactly what it was. From the moment of arrival the staff were friendly and very efficient. The room was of an excellent standard - clean, warm and well serviced. The hotel was very quiet and we both had 2 really good nights sleep - not always the case in some hotels. The breakfasts were amazing - really delicious! I would most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy13Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

After seven years of regular visits to Macdonald Ansty Hall I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for its gracious ambience, immaculate and comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant under the meticulous supervision of Mr Elio Recchia and its ever helpful staff.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank happycouple741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicstershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

On the 9th of January 2010 my wife and i got married and stayed over at the Antsy Hall Hotel.
The hotel itself was built in the late 1600 and has much of its original character still intact with many original features and plenty of history.
The moment we arrived we were greeted by happy smiling staff who genuinely care.
We were welcomed and from that point felt at home.
The room was beautiful and spacious and a gesture of a wedding card and chocolates greeted us, it was a lovely surprise.
The bar appeared well stocked and we were served by a waiter who again was very polite and tended to our needs.
We had an evening meal of Steak which was cooked to perfection and breakfast was no different.
Antsy Hall is one of the nicest places i have ever stayed at and can not wait to revisit.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing stay with good food and drink.and relaxing background music.
On our special day we were made to feel special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_emmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimbolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had the warmest welcome we have ever received when we visited Ansty Hall last weekend. The two girls on reception were polite and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We were then shown to a lovely spacious bedroom that had recently been refurbished.
Dinner was lovely, the menu was quite simple which made a change from some of the fancy places we normally go to and the service again was brilliant! They couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was great, same lovely waitress as the night before.
Overall, our stay was wonderful, brilliant service which we were not expecting, lovely food and lovely bedrooms.
We will be returning in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimboltonhotelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing