We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for an afternoon tea for a group of friends to celebrate a birthday, was lovely. We had our own private room which not many hotels would do, and food and service was excellent, even decorated the table for us! Thank you to Chan and his team.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kvick1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Kvick1996, Thank you for your review. The team and I are pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea, to celebrate a birthday, the team and I always try to make those event memorable and looks like we achieved that . We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Macdonald Ansty Hall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    389
    163
    60
    30
See reviews for
229
478
20
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I held my 50th birthday party at the hotel in the Orangey. The venue was superb for a total of 80 guests, with a beautiful backdrop of the gardens
The food was fantastic, and presented extremely well, considering my request for a BBQ, at the begining April!!
The disco and bar staff were a delight. In fact all the staff were most helpful, with nothing to much trouble.
All my guests had a wonderful time with many staying overnight and savouring the hotel's facilities.
Thankyou Ansty Hall for a most enjoyable and memorable party

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LinW, Thank you for your review, and again Happy Birthday, we are delighted to have made your celebration something to remember, and hope to welcoming you back here at Macdonald Ansty Hall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We dined in the Shilton Restaurant and had a lovely evening. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. For starters, I chose the baked goat’s cheese & spinach tart with red onion chutney which was delicious - the pastry was light and melted in the mouth. My husband chose Serrano ham served with a parmesan wafer, tomato dressing and balsamic syrup - beautifully presented, which he also enjoyed. For our main courses I had potato gnocchi with blue cheese, spinach and herb cream and a side salad of rocket and parmesan. My husband had the Scottish ribeye steak with hand cut chips, tomato & mushroomed a side salad. Everything was delicious and, again, beautifully presented. The portions were a generous size: we couldn't manage anything from the dessert menu as we were both full. Other reviewers have commented on the prices of the wine etc., and they are not cheap, however I was given the opportunity to sample a couple of different wines before I made a choice and our pre-dinner drinks came with a lovely assortment of nibbles, all of which added to the enjoyment of the evening.
We will definitely be visiting again.



Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 722LeicesterLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear 722LeicesterLass, Thank you for your review following your dinner with us. We are pleased to read you found all the aspect of your dinner good, and sorry to hear there was no room left for the Home made dessert, perhaps nex time.
Once again thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Came as part of a business trip. It was nice to be away from the business parks where I usually stay. Ansty village is lovely and this hotel is lovely. A grand entrance welcomes you, inside a quiet reception and bar downstairs, with a restaurant, which serves lovely food. I don't usually like lamb but it was divine and fell apart at the slightest touch. I wish I'd had desert, my colleagues had one and they looked beautiful. The staff were all really nice. The rooms were great and the gardens beautiful. The room was spacious, huge bathroom with separate bath and massive shower. The only problem I had was at 3:30am when I needed the toilet and I couldn't open the bathroom door... it had locked from the inside, I called reception who sorted it very quickly. Wasn't impressed that I was charged £3 to use my credit card, which most of my colleagues and myself used because we expensed our trip. Breakfast was really good, cooked English breakfast. Anyway, I would definitely stay again as it is a beautiful hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Daveyh27, Thank you for your review. We was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, and found the food and the service first class.
I am pleased to read that bathroom door issue was sorted immediately.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Macdonald Ansty Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Great stay! Perfect room, brilliant staff, lovely relaxing bar, nice food! Good access to motorway, beautiful grounds. Set in a lovely area away from the city centre! Quite an expensive taxi ride to get into town! But totally worth it for the great hotel! Would loved to have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Steve C C, Thank you very much for your kind review, I was please to rea that you have enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We fell upon a glorious weekend to stay as part of a wedding party.As a wedding venue it is spot on. Professional staff and the food was lovely. Typically overpriced for drinks though! We weren't fortunate enough to be allocated a room in the main house so missed out on the lovely views,but that said, our room was perfectly comfortable. Great access from the motorway too, yet surrounded by lovely countryside.

Helpful?
Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear DonnaMFriendly, Thank you for your kind review, as you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. I hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you for another occasion in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Pit stop on the way to wales. Close enough to the motorway but still very quiet. Clean rooms. Good breakfast and good rates.
We were upgraded to a slightly nicer twin facing into the courtyard but the standard rooms are fine too.
Very good value and a reliable spot for a good nights sleep.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Quiet room fan, Thank you for your kind review, I was pleased to read that you had a restful night, and find both, the classic and the main house room of good standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at Ansty Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,852 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing