We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable hotel with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I originally selected this hotel via a bookings website and now regularly stay because of the excellent service and secluded setting. I travel regularly for work and use this hotel whenever possible as it is close to the M6 but far away enough to be tranquil. The staff are friendly and professional and thanks to Joyce who works in the restaurant and Chris on reception, my company will now be opening an account.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    380
    157
    59
    28
See reviews for
220
469
20
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at Ansty Hall Hotel to get away from city life for a few days. The location of the hotel served as a welcome retreat in the countryside, with quiet surroundings that helped provide a fantastic escape from the everyday hustle and bustle. The hotel grounds are magnificently kept, and we spent much time looking outside the windows to watch the rabbits and squirrels that roam the gardens! Our room was the perfect combination of manor house style with modern luxuries, and was spotlessly clean and spacious. The hotel is also very well located, situated only twenty minutes away from all the main tourist attractions. Despite all of these elements, we were most taken by the hotel staff and their attention to detail. Carina at reception gave us a warm welcome upon our arrival at the hotel, and went out of her way to help us plan day trips by suggesting suitable local attractions. During our entire duration, Joyce in the restaurant remembered our names and favourite breakfasts, and housekeeping were careful to note that we are keen drinkers of Earl Grey tea - leaving a stack of these teabags for us to enjoy in our room. Despite seeing other guests continuously around the hotel, we were made to feel that we were the only ones there and that nothing was too much trouble. Even the general manager, Antonio, was around to make suggestions for day outings and places for dinner. We could not that those at the hotel enough for such a wonderful stay. We hope to be back very soon!
- Tarkan Nevzat and Jessica Ridler

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaridler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the British Grand Prix. Our room was in an adjacent building to the main building, so its advisable to check in before removing your bags from the car. Room was ok , clean and large enough Rooms are getting a little dated now. There were parties on both nights , but we heard no noise. We had dinner included in the rate and the staff in the restaurant were excellent and food was top quality. Breakfast didn’t start till after we were leaving, so we ordered room service on both mornings, which arrived 15 mins late the first morning, so for the next morning I ordered it for 15 mins before we required it, but this time it didn’t arrive for 45 mins after we requested it and just as we were leaving, so had to eat it in the lobby. The waiter apologised and said he was busy. Overall a good Hotel.

Room Tip: Check-in before removing bags from your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skull0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight here recently on a theatre trip, with her parents, and we were all mightily impressed both by the hotel and the standard of service. The front of house staff were friendly & courteous when we booked in, our rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, and the breakfast the next morning was first class. The breakfast team in particular were lovely - helpful, efficient and courteous - a real credit to the management of the hotel.

Add to all this beautiful grounds and easy to reach location, and you've got a recipe for a truly great stay. We've stayed at other Macdonalds hotels before, and they've all been good or very good, but Ansty Hall is exceptional. We shall certainly be back soon, next time for a longer break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightae
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked into Ansty Hall for two nights on the way back to Scotland from a music festival in Cambridgeshire. We chose it because it was convenient for the M6 and Coventry, a city we'd not visited before. I booked a feature room with king size bed, located in the main house rather than the outlying newer part of the complex - a wise choice given the torrential downpour that occurred shortly after we arrived. Overall the room was comfortable, well-appointed and very clean, but not particularly interesting compared with feature rooms we've stayed in elsewhere. The decor fitted well with the age of the building but definitely lacked that special something. Having said that, the overall experience, including one dinner in the restaurant, was very good and most of the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient. I'd like to give particular praise to the ladies who served us breakfast. They were so obliging and very patient with everyone, including some rather awkward business travellers who were both difficult to please and very dismissive towards them.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for the motorway but, although you can actually see part of the building from the carriageway, we experienced no noticeable traffic noise. The trip into Coventry was quick and painless and there's a cinema five minutes from the hotel with Nando's and Frankie and Benny's, plus takeaways and a supermarket - all this but you still feel that you're in a country house hotel. Definitely one to add to the "would stay again" list, although I'd book earlier in the hope that we got a more interesting feature room

Room Tip: The main hall is lovely and full of character so I'd choose a room there over the modern parts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
756 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a very imposing building and has the potential to be a lovely hotel. Check in area is attractive but highly impractical. Everyone turns up at the same time and they cannot cope. We booked through Booking.com but hotel placed us in a substandard room with incorrect bedding. They quoted us the incorrect rate and had no idea I'd booked the B&B rate. It took over an hour to get into the right room and sort out the correct rate.

Room in the newer Stopford Wing was reasonably large, well furnished and a good bathroom with a roomy shower and good water pressure. I was quite put off each time I entered the Stopford Wing and other areas of the hotel by a revolting silver cigarette receptacle. They need to be removed or regularly cleaned as they stink! In-room tea and coffee facilities are provided but there's no mini bar. We needed to use the iron but it was dirty and it took a long time to send up a clean one. Car parking was plentiful but the hotel doesn't provide internet - you have to access BT and the service was not the greatest. The hotel's piece de resistance is their lovely stately and spacious garden. You can even enter the church behind via a gate at the back of it. Very charming. Breakfast is also well done - nice service and a mixture of buffet and a-la-carte. Try and book a breakfast rate as its a little more economical.

If the few issues I mentioned above were addressed, I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A last minute booking to celebrate our wedding anniversary that has left a lasting impression of this hotel. We had not stayed in a Macdonald hotel before and this will definitely not be the last all the staff were helpful and friendly the accomodation was spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed our evening meal and the Maitre D` was knowlegable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing