We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Ansty hall. Our room was very large and very clean. We were in the annex building which was very quiet. The grounds are pleasant. The staff were exceptionally polite and efficient. The food was absolutely magnificent. Our stay was very memorable for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    380
    157
    59
    28
See reviews for
220
469
20
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a great overnight stay in the Ansty hall. We were staying in the annex which is separate to the main building, but what a beautiful building. The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious with plenty of facilities and just down the road is a shopping centre with other restaurants, depending upon what you like to eat. The room was nice and warm with a big bath and shower. The only downside was the pillows and bed were a little too soft for my liking, but otherwise a great stay at a good value deal.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the main hotel check your room is not in the annex as this is a separate buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times per year on a weekday, for the last 2 years. We have always stayed in the main house and we find the rooms spacious and comfortable and quiet on both elevations.

We always eat in the hotel and have found the food very good.

The staff are always very helpful, and we like the fact that the staff are the same each time we visit and remember us by name. We can recommend a stay at the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod_fransmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here on business. Upon arriving I couldn't believe a hotel of this type doesn't have any fitness area/gym. I checked in and went to my room which was at the other side of the hotel. I was told that if i wanted to eat in the restaurant I would need to come late as they had a couple big groups in - not great when theres nowhere else to eat with driving.

I went to my room, the room was a decent size with a refurbished bathroom and a separate shower. I unpacked and went to the bar to get something to eat.

The service in the bar was really bad, I asked for a menu and a young bartender said that I couldnt see the menu unless I had a booking for the restaurant! I said are you sure "yes". I said a friendly waitress who said he was wrong and brought me a menu! I decided to eat in the bar as the menu was almost the same.

I ordered a rib eye steak and a drink. It came to about £24 and the steak was really small. The chips were dry. I asked for some vinegar and ketchup and neither materialised - it wasnt even that busy.

I went to my room, the hotel gets no 3G reception and wifi cost a tenner - I think this is such a rip off! In the morning I left as soon as I could, well check out did take 5 minutes!

I really didn't like this hotel, good service costs nothing but makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlodivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Em and I stayed here last July. We had a room in the main building which was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was beginning to look a little tired though and other parts of the building are also getting that way in places.

We ate in the restaurant and the food, if rather standard fayre, was tasty and well presented. The menu, however, could do with a bit more variety. The staff were very good, helpful and pleasant at all times.

Our room looked out over the front of the building. At times the noise from vehicles passing was a little intrusive, more so in the morning. Em barely noticed though, being somewhat preoccupied with testing the bed which was large and comfy with plenty of room for her to starfish! Em also liked the decorative red ropes on top of the bed and thought they added to the whole experience.

If we are in the area again we would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotSoSecretSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently selected this place for a 2 night business stay through booking.com. Cost was around £60 for the room and £17.50 for breakfast- bit odd I thought, but hey ho came in under budget, so went for it. The hotel itself is nice enough, as are the staff but what really got my goat was the price structure and hidden charges.
Examples: £6.95 for a half pint bottle of Innes and Gun (beer)- this is £1.50 a bottle at my local supermarket. Ok I expect to pay more in a hotel, but this works out at £14 a pint!! Crazy!
Decided on room service for the 2 nights after seeing the restaurant prices, only to be stung for a £3 tray charge each night- surely this should be included in the room service menu price!?
Breakfast: £17.50 each morning, but get this- if you want a fish dish instead of the standard English...£2.50 supplement- so £20 for a plate of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs !!??
To top it all, on checkout, I noticed a £1 charity charge on my bill. Ok its only £1, but I had not consented to this and as a business user I cant claim it back. I was also then asked if I was paying by credit or debit card. Who pays with a debit card???? Another £3 added to my bill for the credit card transaction!
Will definitely not be staying here again- its a total rip-off!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkpre1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay at this hotel every week, I prefer the room in the Stopford Building ideal and functional for my needs. Breakfast is consistently good with the waiting team helpful and chatty, especially Joyce. I sometime have dinner, again very good or pop down the road at the pub.
Overall they look after me well. Thank you

Room Tip: The Stopford building is standards room with shower and bath separate, large working area with a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TowerbellFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,712 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing