We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I stayed in this hotel on Saturday 26th and Sunday the 27th of April. I had looked at the other reviews on this site before making the booking and I agree that it is a fine hotel.

I stayed there as I was attending the Heineken Rugby semi final in Coventry and I was flying out of Birmingham on Monday morning. The hotel has a great location not far from the motorway (you can hear some traffic noise but it was not a big issue). Getting to the Rioch for the game and Birmingham airport on Monday morning during rush hour were both easy trips.
The hotel is a fine looking building and the gardens and grounds are kept to a high standard.
Check in was efficient and friendly. We found all staff to be friendly and helpful and customer service and care is obviously very good. My wife does not like feather pillows and foam ones arrived promptly and without fuss.

We paid a little extra to stay in the main hotel building.
However, the seperate building is very close by and I am not sure if location is a real issue here. The room was well fitted out and in good condition as was every other part of the hotel I saw.
Slipppers and a gown were the only things that were missing from our room that you might want. The fridge and mineral water (which was replaced each day) being particularly useful.
The hotel was very busy on Saturday, in that there was a wedding on and the Saracens Rugby team were staying there in advance of the Rugby Match on Sunday.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was very good. Service was fine despite there being pressure on all hotel staff with the two parties. Breakfast was a mixtuire of buffet and table service for hot food and tea coffee. It was very good on both mornings.

Ansty itself is a small village, we went for a nice walk by the canal and strollled the mile or so to the next one. We also visited the local pub for an afternoon drink and dinner on Sunday night. Unlike, other reviewers, we thought the standard of the food there awful. However, it was busy on Sunday night, nevertheless I would recommend eating in the hotel over it any day.

The hotel was offering a deal whereby you got a second nights b&b free if you paid for one and ate a 3 course meal during your stay..
At the deal rate this was very good value for the quality we encountered. This would be a good place for a quiet weekend.

  • Liked — The quality of service
  • Disliked — No leisure centre / Computer with internet access available to guests
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tmurphyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    385
    159
    60
    29
See reviews for
225
474
20
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We got a great dinner bed & breakfast deal with this hotel. £128 for two people. This included a 3 course meal (a la carte choice - very nice food) the room (similar facilities & size as a travel lodge for the classic double, but more old fashionly decorated) and a lovely cooked to order breakfast (buffet also available).

The restaurant felt like our own living room, and the staff were fantastic.

We're going again on the same deal in two weeks and I can't wait!

  • Liked — The staff, the food and the value
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Stayed at Ansty Hall for one night in December. Got a good r/o rate off their website and as a result stayed in one of the out-buildings (not within the hall itself). These outbuildings were just a few yards walk from the main reception.

The hotel itself is rather grand looking from the outside, however the hall itself (downstairs only - reception, bar and library lounge) are looking a little tired and dated. Don't get me wrong, they are comfortable and clean but it would really lift the grandure of the hotel if a bit of money was spent. Nethertheless it still has a country feel about itself which is nice.

The bedrooms (in the outbuildings) were likewise, decorated to early 90's standards; spacious, comfortable, but really lacked style.

Didn't eat within the hotel, took some advice from a previous report and ate in the pub a short walk away. Food there was good and reasonably priced.

Did have a few drinks within the hotel, staff were courteous, however drink prices were not cheap. I think a pint of Guinness was about £3.40.

Summary:

The hotel was fine for what we paid for it. We didnt stay in the hall itself so can't comment on the rooms there but our room was adequat but nothing to write home about. Had a problem with our shower (kept going cold!) which I reported on the customer comments card (couldn't be bother to complain at the time). Just last week received a letter from the hotel stating that they were looking into the problem - just goes to show that the hotel management do read those cards.

  • Liked — close to the m6
  • Disliked — the decor inthe rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Due to extra stay in the Hinckley area, I needed to change hotel.
This turned out to be for the best.

This hotel is far superior to the Hinckley Island which I had just left.
The room in the new wing was nicely appointed while the bathroom had a seperate shower and bath.
The dinner in the restaurant was the best meal I had in England during my 2 weeks there. Service was attentive while special dietary requirements for my companions were looked after with aplomb.
Breakfast was also very satisfactory.

I stayed here on a business trip. I would consider coming here in a private capacity.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranFarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed at the Ansty Hall as a relaxing birthday surprise for my boyfriend. When we arrived I was amased at how easy it was to find and how beautiful teh property looked as we drove up teh sweeping drive.

The check-in on Friday was very quick and simple. We were located in the new part of the building. The only downside being that there is no connecting building between the old manor house and the new part so we got very wet when it was raining. That said the room was wonderful. Large room with lovely bathroom. Everything was very clean and the bed was very comfy.

On Saturday we drove to Warwick Castle (about 25 minutes away) and had a great day. We vacated the Castle grounds to get some lunch in the town centre. We found a lovely bar called The Keep - just across the road from the Castle. The service was great and the food was amasing. We will definatley visit here again probably to try the evening menu.

We dined at the Ansty Hall on Satrurday night and I can't speak highly enough of the experince. The staff were very attentive and the dining room was lovely. The food was very good indeed. We were treated to home baked bread and enjoyed a lovely starter and main course (the lamb was cooked to perfection). The food was quite reasonable at £25 for two courses or £30 for three courses. There was an excellent wine selection to suit every budget. The only disappointment was being charged £4.75 for a bottle of Highland Spring (which I priced at the local supermarket the next day for 58p) - I felt ripped off.

All in all I would definately recommend this as a place to stay and will stay here again in the future if we are visiting this part of the County again.

  • Liked — The large room and the great food.
  • Disliked — Price of the water
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt's-Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Here on a business trip for a 4 night stay. This is a really nice hotel in a rural area, set in large gardens and not too far from the centre of Coventry with easy access to the motorways.

The hotel has the old building and a new complex built to the side, most of us were in the new buildings and they were all very clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable.

Just a short walk from the hotel we found a fantastic pub (not sure of the name but it was on the road towards coventry) which had the biggest food menu I have ever seen - at the end of the menu it said to ask if there was something you wanted that was not on the menu and they would get it for you! We ate in this pub every night as the food was great. Because of this we only had breakfast at the hotel which was very good.

Really enjoyed my stay here and would not hesitate to return to this hotel for a weekend break.

Staff were all great and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Ansty Hall is a first class hotel in a quiet location but very convenient for the motorway network to the East Midlands.

We had an excellent room in the large annex and it did not matter that the lift was not working.

Our dinner was excellent. First class food cooked to perfection and served quietly but professionally.

The breakfast buffet was also very, very good with an extremely wide range of items.

If Macdonalds can reach this standard in all their hotels they will soon be the top hotel group in the UK.

Sidnycat

  • Liked — Large quiet room with all necessary amenaties
  • Disliked — The lift was not working and there is no covered way between the main hotel building and the annex.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydnycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing