We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is superb. Lovely quiet room with comfortable bed. It is the staff who make it really special, especially Samantha on reception. She upgraded us because the hotel was quiet and it was our special wedding anniversary, and booked us into a local pub/resaurant that I know for a meal. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast, though paying extra for smoked salmon is a bit much when breakfast is expensive anyway. It is a costly package, (including bar prices), but worth it for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'm sitting writing this review in the beautiful gardens of Ansty Hall. A lovely hotel in the village of Ansty in Coventry. I have to say this is one of the most friendly, welcoming hotels I have stayed in. The staff cannot do enough for you. They are atune with guests needs and requirements without being obvious, a sign of good training and nurturing management; indeed quite a few staff have been at the Hall for several years. The rooms are clean, well looked after and there are plenty of public areas to sit and relax. We only ate in the dining room on one night and the meal was good but to my mind not seasonal - I hasten to add this is no reflection on the standard of cooking and presentation but of a catering decision further up the chain I'd guess. The breakfasts were outstanding with plenty of choices and hot dishes cooked to order and here again the staff were wonderful. I noticed in a previous review comment on needing a taxi to get into Coventry centre. The 74 bus runs from just outside the Rose and Crown pub (good food there by the way) just down from the hotel; admittedly on a limited service but frequent enough to allow a day in the city without resorting to a taxi, which is about £12-14 each way. If you like to stay in relaxing surroundings with comfortable rooms and lovely gardens then this is the place for you in Coventry. Would I visit Ansty Hall again?, a resounding yes.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice before and it is one of our favourite hotels within the Macdonald group. We had a party of 11 ranging from 14 years old to 81 for mothers 80th birthday some staying overnight and some just for the meal. It never fails to disappoint especially the restaurant and the staff who worked hard to make our small group feel special a very special thanks to Katrina who made mums day special. Mum and her brother where talking booking for a family Christmas before we left they enjoyed it so much. So we will be back again soon. But be warned if you arrange a birthday party make sure they know who’s birthday it is, as I made the booking for everyone and ended up with a 80th birthday card addressed to me. The rest of the family are still laughing about it, so it added to the fun of the occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel have more character and I prefer them however there is no lift to these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our daughter got married in the Anglican Chapel next door to the hotel and we had a wonderful celebration at Ansty Hall! A private dinner on Friday evening, Wedding breakfast at lunchtime and evening reception on Saturday. Everything was just great! Attention to detail, quality of food, exceptional service, friendly and helpful staff...... what more can I say? Guests who stayed were generally happy with their rooms all we heard were favourable comments about the whole experience. Well done all at Ansty Hall!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My Fiancee, 23 month old son, and I stayed here for one night as we attended a birthday party ( beilng held at the hotel ).
The hotel is very impressive as you enter from the driveway, and we was not disappointed with the interior either. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We requested a cot bed for our son and this was already set-up in the room along with sheets for same. The rooms are very impressive, clean and of a good size. Our room was on the warm side though, even with the window open, but this was not a real issue. The bathroom was all clean and had all you would expect ( bath gowns etc ). The door cad key is very simple to use on entry to the room. Just swipe in front of the receiver and it unlocks ( unlike soom that you have to fiddle with into a slot ! ).
The evening meal was fantastic.I had the beef which was the best I've ever had, and it wasn't small portions which you get at some places.
Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice - it set us up for the day! The highchair was even already out for our son !
All in all, a really good place to stay ! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Fantastic.....from start to finish, top to bottom!!! In all aspects. What can I say??? Went to a wedding in May and stayed the night and the night before! Wish we'd have booked a whole week now!!
Breakfast - PERFECT
Evening meal - PERFECT
Wedding food - EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Service - OUTSTANDING!!
What a wonderful place!! Very relaxing, staff were lovely and just couldn't do enough - so helpful too!! Spotlessly clean. Fabulous premier room. Evening room for the wedding party superb and detached from the hotel so doesn't disturb other guests no matter how loud.
If you are ever in the area - STAY HERE!!!
Thank you for a wonderful trip and wedding!!

Room Tip: As it's a listed building there are no lifts, but for the difference in price the best rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just had a very pleasant weekend break, (Friday and Saturday night) at Ansty Hall. Stayed in the main house. Room was spacious, comfortable, clean and had a nice view of the rear garden and patio areas.
Chilled bottle of wine was waiting in the room and was most welcome on arrival.
Ate in the restaurant both nights and again breakfasts both mornings. The food was good, especially the breakfasts.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
A wedding was being hosted by the hall both nights, making it lively and somewhat noisy at times. This did creat an nice atmosphere though. Without these functions some might have found it too quiet.
Location was convenient (off the M6 / M69 junction) and was easy to find. However we needed to get in the car to go anywhere and do anything as the hotel did not have leisure facilities.
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
18 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,565 reviews
20.5 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $85 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing