We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great "museum-hotel",tons of atmosphere, but turn the lights up a bit !”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I'd stayed in this hotel a few years ago on a works xmas do so was eager to return with my wife for a weekend away. It was pretty much as i remembered but of course this time it was summer and the gardens were blooming !
The first thing that hits you when you step inside from the sunshine is just how dark this this place is, they must own the nations stock of 10watt bulbs ! However once your eyes adjust to the gloom you realise that this hotel just has history and atmosphere oozing from every cloister and the "subtle" lighting adds to the experience of staying in such a historical building.
We arrived at lunchtime so rooms weren't ready, no problem, we retired to the conservatory/bar (the only bar) for a cup of tea before venturing forth into the huge grounds for a walk. Back later we indulged in a full afternoon tea which was excellent, cakes, scones, clotted cream, sandwiches, tea, had to leave some ! Back outside for another walk to lose some of the clotted cream calories !
There were a couple of weddings going on whilst we were there but didn't really bump into them too much, they have their own rooms and bar to celebrate in.
We checked in, reception staff weren't exactly welcoming but not unfriendly, i think this is something that the hotel management could look to improve, after all they are the first staff the customer speaks to on arrival generally. Room was fine, we had a feature room with a 4-poster, everything else was hidden away in padded boxes eg tea/coffee, trouser-press ! A view of the back garden was nice. Bathroom good , excellent shower.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, the staff there were excellent, very efficient and friendly, food was very good and plenty of wine options. We chose from the table d'hote menu which was fine,plenty of choice and not too expensive, with a decent bottle of wine for about £15 i thought the overall meal was good value.
After dinner your options are rather limited, there is no lounge as such, just small alcoves off main lobby where you could hide, we ended up just retiring to the main bar area and tried to make ourselves comfortable in the rather uncomfortable wrought-iron garden chairs !, however the bar staff were ok.
Breakfast was good, a large buffet of all the usual cooked options, fruit, cereal, yogs, cakes, etc etc...and included in our room rate.
I think if you're here for one of their mediavel or murder mystery nights then there's plenty to keep you entertained but if you're just here relaxing then the after dinner options are limited to drinks in the bar....maybe another suggestion to management...?

Overall we enjoyed our stay, the surrounding parkland is good for a gentle walk, the hotel gardens are small but pretty and a moat surrounds the hotel on 2 sides. The park is public so you do get a lot of "rubber-neckers" wandering around the garden too. Only recommendation is the turn the lights up a little more so we can actually see some of the amazing internal architecture and decorations !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,970)
There are newer reviews for Coombe Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,847 - 2,853 of 2,970 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

What can I say, I cannot fault Coombe Abbey Hotel, due to the ash cloud I had messed the hotel around changing dates and rooms for weeks. Finally we arrived in the most beautiful weather, glorious surroundings and very attentive and efficient check in staff. I'd booked the weekend as a surprise for my boyfriend, so had booked a feature double with four poster and view of the front. the room was extremely homely, comfortable and clean. We had dinner in the garden restarant which was faboulous once the sun set lit by candle light, remeber to booked alittle later in the evening in summer to make the most of the romantic darkness. breakfast was also great, comfortable and informal yet classy, followed by drinks in the cosy dark reception with plenty of hideaways to have a private drink. I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Exceptional surroundings, first class service and melt in the mouth food served up in a light conservatory style atmosphere in one of the most beautiful country parks in England. Its well worth splashing out for. Go on, spoil yourself!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank AlanO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We went to Coombe Abbey to celebrate my wifes birthday,and the experience is just fabulous. Check in is very straight forward,and our room was beautiful(102) overlooking the moat. I had arranged the celebration pack and the fresh flowers and chocolates were already in the room,and the champagne was delivered freshly chilled to our room shortly after arrival. We had a quick exploration of the hotel and grounds then as the weather was so nice we collected our champagne and took it down to the private garden area where we then settled down and enjoyed it. We had a lovely 3 course meal in the garden restaurant,with the food excellent. Breakfast was also in the same restaurant and of a very high quality and lots of choice too. Everywhere inside is very dimly lit,and there are some lovely little alcoves to sit and have a quiet,private drink. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly,and everywhere was spotlessly clean. We cannot recommend this hotel experience enough,whether for a special occasion or just a treat(they do some great deals and packages from time to time). We will definately be going back,and the sooner the better. Anyone want to ask us anything then giv us a shout, hirons452@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed here for a friends wedding, the venue is lovely. This is not like a standard hotel, the staff were very helpful and made the wedding run very smoothly. The weather was lovely for our drinks out in the gardens and for photos. The scenery is breath taking. The hotel reception is very low lighting with a nice big staircase and sculptures of heads leading to the rooms. Very different. Each room has a different theme. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spud1stclassonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

A very enjoyable evening, in a very nice setting! I would recommend for couples of all ages... Dinner was very nice although was mildly let down by the service.

All in All i would recommend !!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed here for one night in Aug 09, the hotel is full of character and very different to the standard chain hotel you get. Inside it is pretty dark and your eyes have to adjust after coming in from the sunshine!
The hotel is set in park land and when we were there it was PACKED with queues of people and cars trying to enter the driveway. The hotel itself was quiet though.

Our room was a standard chamber but was so full of nice features like the big round bath tub in the bedroom behind draw curtains.

We really enjoyed the hotel and would go back again if they had a special offer on price again, (we paid £60 for the room for 1 night B&B)

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelbuggirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,265 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
21.0 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $110 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing