We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here as a celebration with my husband. Had a beautiful room, lovely view, staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the garden room restaurant which was lovely. Food fantastic although possibly a little overpriced. Beautiful atmosphere in the evening with attentive staff. The gardens are beautiful and can be explored all day. Unfortunately weather was not great but still had a wander.
Our only complaint was whilst I was having a bath the phone rung. I didn't get to it in time but just as I was about to return to a relaxing bath the door went. My husband opened the door to be asked whether someone was having a bath in our room. He continued to say that if any water overflows from this specific room then it leaks down into reception. Why oh why don't they fix this problem instead of waiting until someone has a bath and disturb/ embarrass them. A small niggle but overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Not 118 until they fix the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    645
    283
    109
    84
See reviews for
394
1,347
22
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

we stayed at coombe abbey for 1 night with friends in april 2014. from the second we turned off the main road onto the hotel driveway our jaws dropped at hot fantastic the hotel was. Walking through the main hotel doors we were stunned as to how beautiful the hotel was.
the reception was wood panels,stone floors, medievel decoration, but still cozy. our room was 228 with a view straight up the main drive and grounds. our room was huge with a beautiful four poster bed and gorgeous en suite bathroom.
the service was 1st class nothing was to much trouble and was so fast ,extra tea came in seconds.food was faultless drinks a little bit expensive but if your away treating yourself why be a scrouge.so if you want a unique get away and really treat yourself this is the perfect place...cannot wait to go back hopefully november 1st. well done coombe abbey

Room Tip: 228 was amazing ,huge room ,huge four poster bed, grat views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at coombe abbey for 1 night with friends. As we turned off the main rd onto the hotel drive we were instantly impressed.the the hotel is so imposing and looked beautiful in the sunshine.As we walked through the main doors our jaws dropped it was just stunning. All wood panels .stone floors. Medievel decoration but so cozy.We stayed in room 228 with a fantastic view up the long driveway. Our room was huge with the most comfy 4 poster bed and a gorgeous en suite.the food was fantastic the service was 1st class in everyway.drinks are a little expensive but forget that just enjoy this beautiful hotel..cannot wait to go again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked a feature room and breakfast for my hubby as a birthday treat. We were met by the most amazing view as we drove up the driveway. The grounds were beautiful and the staff attentive. We arrived to our room door and opened it up to a stunning feature room with huge bed and spiral staircase leading to a big Victorian roll top style bath and amazing shower room. Yes for the money there were marks on the ceiling and walls but it did not detract for our stay. Breakfast was in a sunlit room and was great. All in all an experience we will never forget and worth the spend as a special treat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you travel down the long tree lined driveway leading to the Abbey, take that stroll across the moated bridge into the courtyard, are greeted by the reception staff in medieval surroundings you know that you are in for an experience you will never forget. And you will not be disappointed.
We stayed in the Lindley Suite. It was jaw droppingly amazing! My husband and I were actually late for dinner because we couldn't focus on getting ready because we were too busy admiring the suite and all the exquisite detail. The rooms were palacious, beautifully adorned with period furniture, interesting pieces and views to die for. Fresh fruit, cafetiere coffee, a good choice of teas, quality toiletries, need I go on?
Eventually we went down to dinner. We were greeted by the most friendly staff and had the best restaurant food we have ever tasted! Great choice of wine aswell. Such a good night!
The staff throughout our stay could not do enough for us and made us feel like King and Queen.
We had a very romantic experience, a comfortable and peaceful nights sleep and a well prepared delicious breakfast with plenty of choice and good service.
This REALLY is no ordinary hotel. If you want a truly memorable experience, this is it!
We highly recommend it, did not want to go home and hope to return soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had afternoon tea today at Coombe Abbey, and it was lovely. The food was more than enough, the setting in the conservatory was perfect, and the staff couldn't have been more professional, helpful and friendly! We will definitely be back once we've worked off the clotted cream scones! Many thanks :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaW163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Have visited Coombe abbey several times very special .cover all occasions weddings birthdays medieval nights etc .food excellent service great bedrooms spacious . Definitely for a special occasion set in lovely parks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing