We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and medieval banquet fun & frolics”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My fiancé booked a surprise trip to Coombe Abbey for Valentine's Day. We stayed at the hotel in a "feature bedchamber" which was huge and very lovely, decorated in keeping with the historic building. We were a little surprised at only a standard double bed in such a large room but it was very comfortable, beautiful bathroom with a large roll top bath. Included in the package was an evening's entertainment at the medieval banquet held in The Abbeygate and breakfast the following morning. The banquet was a four course meal (with only a knife to eat it - well they didn't have much cutlery back in Tudor times!) with mead and wine and loads of hilarious entertainment - not fine dining but very tasty - the wine was a little rough though. We had hired Tudor costumes but this is not compulsory - about 50% of the guests were in costume - however, we felt it really added to the atmosphere and the evening to dress up. Photos were taken by a professional photographer on the way in to The Abbeygate with no obligation to buy, but we did purchase one as it was a fab picture of us both. The food was very filling, a little tricky to eat with just fingers and a knife, but it did add to the hilarity. They did supply a spoon for pudding :-) After the meal there was a disco to boogie the night away. We really enjoyed the evening and it seemed everyone there had a great time - including the staff! Thoroughly recommended - but smuggle in a fork if you can't bear the idea of eating with your fingers!

Big applause to all the entertainers, with a special thumbs up to Johnny - aka Sir Nicholas Crapper - who was absolutely marvellous.

Room Tip: Feature Bedchambers are located in the historic main building. I believe there are cheaper options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,985 - 1,991 of 3,061 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

My fiancé booked a surprise trip to Coombe Abbey for Valentine's Day. We stayed at the hotel in a "feature bedchamber". Included in the package was an evening's entertainment at the medieval banquet held in The Abbeygate and breakfast the following morning. The banquet was a four course meal (with only a knife to eat it - well they didn't have much cutlery back in Tudor times!) with mead and wine and loads of hilarious entertainment. We had hired Tudor costumes but this is not compulsory - about 50% of the guests were in costume - however, we felt it really added to the atmosphere and the evening to dress up. Photos were taken by a professional photographer on the way in to the Abbeygate with no obligation to buy, but we did purchase one as it was a fab picture of us both. The food was very filling, a little tricky to eat with just fingers and a knife, but it did add to the hilarity. They did supply a spoon for pudding :-) After the meal there was a disco to boogie the night away. We really enjoyed the evening and it seemed everyone there had a great time - including the staff! Thoroughly recommended - but smuggle in a fork if you can't bear the idea of eating with your fingers!

Big applause to all the entertainers, with a special thumbs up to Johnny - aka Sir Nicholas Crapper - who was absolutely marvellous.

Thank Tigz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked this through a Groupon offer of £89 and paid a £30.00 upgrade to a feature room. Booking was very easy over the phone, and was confirmed by email within minutes. Also we had a choice of the rooms, for example did we want to stay in the old or new part and what feature we would prefer. Check in was not until 3.00pm, however we went a couple of hours earlier to collect the complimentary tickets to Coventry Cathedral, and was informed our room was ready.

Room:
Our room 140, is in the West Wing in the old part of building. The room was large, had a very comfortable four poster bed and two comfy chairs. TV was fine with freeview, furniture was in good condition and there were nice touches in the room. The floorboards creaked but all part of the olde worlde charm. The bathroom was behind a bookcase which was a nice feature. The bathroom was a good size with complimentary robes. Shower was good but temperature would fluctuate. Bed very comfortable and we slept well. There were lots of complimentary tea and coffee available and the kettle was in good working order. Our room was extremely quiet as we had no-one below us (our room was over a hallway).

Dining:
The dining room is very nicely set out and well decorated. The staff are extremely attentive, pleasant, polite and professional. I understand that they menu deals, and our meals were delicious. Breakfast was also well presented and very tasty. Again, morning staff were very attentive, professional and friendly.

Hotel:
The hotel has a lot of history, which is represented by its unique style. I understand each bedroom is decorated individually, so there is always something different to see. The building itself is beautiful, and the gardens are stunning in the summer. Due to the age of the hotel, there are many steps, uneven surfaces etc., but this all adds to the charm of the place. I understand they have ground floor bed rooms and there are lifts for wheelchair/disability access.

Location:
The hotel is nicely set in lovely grounds and is next to a Park owned (I think) by Coventry Council. Coventry has some good attractions to visit, notably the Coventry Transport Museum and both Coventry Cathedrals (the new one built next to the old one which was bombed in WWII). If you are prepared to travel 30 minutes or so then there is also lots to do at Warwickshire, including Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, Coughton Court etc. All very good days out.

All in all, a really nice place to stay that is individual, has beautiful grounds and has a lot of history to it. There is plenty to look at in the hotel (you can spend ages just walking through the ground floor in all the lovely rooms and hallways). The staff are all very attentive and offer excellent customer service. Rooms are nice and comfortable with good tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. I understand they hold a lot of weddings and when you walk around the ground floor and see your room, you can see why.

The only downside is the spa is located about 10 minutes away. I am a bit puzzled why it was not built into the new building however Im sure they considered it at the time. There are signs over the gardens stating photography is prohibited, which is kind of off putting, however, I understand that people who get married at other venues go to Coombe Abbey to have their photos taken so I can understand their annoyance of this type of thing.

However, these are only small quibbles in what is a lovely hotel and will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for your preferences on booking: each room is individually decorated and can be catered more to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawny7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I'd booked a surprise night for Valentines in the feature room. I wasn't impressed initially with the room, however I asked the receptionist if there was another room and she swapped it for a four poster bed room AND at no extra cost.

We are a Lesbian couple, I look alternative and no one treated us any differently which was really nice. The reception staff and porters were lovely, polite and helpful. Only criticism would be one of the bar staff didn't wait to be offered a tip and just took it.

I'd booked the medieval banquet and highly recommend trying this experience! Majority of us dressed up, us included which was really great to see everyone put effort in.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sj-Rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Coombe Abbey positively oozes character! The theming if the hotel is superb and the level of detail very impressive.
Dinner in the conservatory is very good, large comfortable furniture, quality food and attentive staff.
Room 119 carries on with the theming and is a very comfortable room with large corner bath.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Took a short break for St Valentine's Day but two days beforehand and stayed at this historic hotel on the edge of Coventry.

Really atmospheric with even the Bishop's Tomb in one corridor!

Had a great room with all facilities and a Four poster bed.

Very comfortable and good service.

Had both afternoon tea and dinner in the hotel

Both very good and with an excellent choice of wines for dinner

Really enjoyed it at a reasonable price - room price was excellent value for money

Room Tip: Go for the four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have become increasingly frustrated with the apparent assumption made by so many companies that an homogenised approach to customer service automatically results in a better experience for the guest. Operating under this sort of edict often leads to staff lacking in spontaneity: in aspiring to make the customer feel special the converse is the reality in that one feels like just another recipient of the 'standard patter'. There is nothing bland or 'standard' about Coombe Abbey Hotel.

Booking a short business trip, I was pleasantly surprised to find that not only was the hotel 'in policy' for my company, but that the price was competitive with a well-known higher end budget chain that I often use. The photos on the website and the majority of TripAdvisor comments sold the hotel and I was not disappointed.

That said, I was also interested to read the less-than-complimentary reviews, albeit they were relatively few in number. For any organisation dealing with a large number of customers, it is unrealistic to expect that no one will ever have cause for complaint. To a certain extent it probably comes down to tolerance levels and also how those complaints are dealt with.

If I wanted to be extremely picky I could say that the cold water tap in the bathroom was loose, that a colleague's meal was a little late in arriving, and that a dinner reservation had not been communicated to the maitre d'. But the first was not a problem and the latter two issues were swiftly resolved, so did they matter? No.

Coombe Abbey is a stunning property that oozes history, I found the staff to be helpful and friendly, and there was nothing 'standard' about the rooms, which are tastefully furnished and great value for money. As a result I have already made another reservation for my next trip to the Midlands.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#6 of 39 in Coventry
1,281 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,257 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
6.1 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#18 of 39 in Coventry
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $113 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing