We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and a local Gem”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and a local Gem”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here after a friend's wedding in the city. The grounds are huge and exquisite, I've heard that the hotel sits on 500 acres of parks and gardens. Our room was an amazing blend of elizabethan drapery and modern conveniences. Needless to say, we were too tired to enjoy it but will definitely be back! What a delight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    655
    285
    113
    84
See reviews for
398
1,371
22
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
401 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

An absolutely stunning location, as you drive up the long drive you are set in vast open parkland with the main house at the end. As you cross the moat to access the hotel you can see why this is a wedding venue. Inside the medieval theme continues with very dimly lit rooms filled with an abundance of character.
Our room was in the main house and had a small round turret which was novel but had had no function. The four poster bed was a bit twee for my liking and the bathroom very traditional.
The food here was disappointing. I think this was a huge let down when you consider the location and grandeur of the place. We had breakfast and dinner here, all in all I would have expected more. The traditional turkey dinner was very processed Bernard Matthews affair, the breakfast was a buffet which again looked as though it had been sat on the heated vats for a while.
The bar was lovely and the wine list extensive. nice touch to have fruit and mince pies at the bar to nibble on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my boyfriends birthday for one night at the Princess Elizabeth Suite. The suite was better than what the pictures showed online in the site. We had complimentary brandy, fruits and sweets. The bed was the most comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean and luxurious. We walked around the castle which had amazing scenery. Fantastic decoration and christmas tree and christmas spirit with lovely classical carols. The service was quick and helpful. The dinner we had was first class amazing delicious food and dessert. And the breakfast was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!! we took many pictures and this has been a memorable time. We definitely recommend it and we will definitely go back again probably in summer time! :)

Room Tip: Princess Elizabeth Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariehaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed in the Coombe Abbey Hotel in the Lady Craven Suite as a lovely treat for my partners birthday. It was an absolutely wonderful time! straight away we were really taken by the grandeur of the place and reception were really really welcoming and helpful. The room was out of this world! staying in a four poster bed for the first time was really exciting! They had left a Birthday card for my partner in the room which was really sweet of them. The room had loads of lovely treats everywhere as well! Dinner was great with really great service! Breakfast was also really great! I would love to go back and would recommend it to anybody!

Room Tip: The Lady Craven Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairy2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night for a business Xmas meeting. The main attraction of this hotel is the stunning and historic location, a gorgeous ancient building surrounded by a moat and formal gardens, in the midst of a huge park. I had a lovely room in the old part of the hotel, complete with a four poster bed. It was a little shabby around the edges, e.g. Cracked grouting in the bathroom, almost every picture at an angle on the walls, and needed a dust here and there, but it was clean where it mattered, the overall impression was stunning if you didn't look too closely. Slight lack of modern facilities e.g. no safe in the room and the water was running stone cold by midnight, but the room itself was very warm and cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Dinner let the hotel down badly, the turkey was quite tough with an odd sugar crust, the veg were hard and the soup lukewarm, but the hotel was really busy with several large parties at the same time and there are very few hotels which are capable of good mass catering. Breakfast was really excellent though, so I forgave the dinner. The staff were helpful and friendly without exception, and that was a big plus too. Overall I really enjoyed my stay so 4 stars.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Oh I'm so disappointed. Gaynor took our reservation at short notice & was so nice, I really didnt want to complain - but tea was so poor.
Coffee sent back because it wasn't anywhere near hot enough.
Tea was poor quality
Sandwich fingers were dry, only the middle section was moist
Bland Christmas tree biscuit
Burnt, actually burnt, mince pie
Shop bought chocolate thing.

Delicious warm scone.

Surroundings are beautiful & the staff are all charming, but if the chefs can only produce this quality for £34 for two people, then they really do not deserve customers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Good afternoon and very many thanks for taking the time to write a review, following your recent visit here to Coombe Abbey, for afternoon tea.
I was extremely disappointed, to hear that you were unhappy with the afternoon tea that you were served and would kindly ask, that if you contact me directly at the hotel, I will be only too happy discuss the matter further with you.
I very much look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Kindest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend away with friends. Enjoyed this very much, the staff are very friendly and extremely courteous and helpful. Room was lovely, just as they appear on the website, very clean with all the added extras. Fabulous breakfast on the Sunday morning with all the tea and coffee you could drink. All in all a great stay and would definitely go back to explore the grounds in more detail.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianophile37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing