We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was brought here for my 40th and stayed in the Nesfield Suite - words can not express how stunning a place this is!! The grounds, the staff, everything !!

The knowledge of the Porter (Craig) and passion he had about his place of work was just excellent. He knew so much about the history of the place and was more than happy showings us the grounds and some of the most luxurious rooms that Coombe Abbey had to offer

Just book up and stop waiting around!

Room Tip: The Nesfield Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiley1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,028 - 2,034 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed with husband on a very busy wedding weekend 1 on Friday, 2 on Saturday & 1 on Sunday but this did not once detract from the excellent stay and it was lovely seeing so many lovely frocks and suits. Room lovely, sumptuous and comfy. Only minor thing would be the restaurant which whilst the food was lovely was overpriced compared to other places of possibly a slightly higher standard. Breakfast was a wee but of a let down with a limited pastries and bread selection, not quite a full range of hot selection such as no grilled tomatoes, no hash browns and only scrambled eggs - although I did ask for and got a fried egg this was not offered by waitress or a notice at the buffet. However this did not spoil my stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 4evaLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Coombe Abbey Hotel this week for a business dinner. The surroundings, service, staff and food are all first class and you will not be disappointed if you eat out here....fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Well what can i say, on Oct 5th 2013 Coombe Abbey Hotel and grounds were the setting of both mine and my newly aquired husband's wedding!!! We chose this venue after spending a romantic suprise birthday here. During our evening meal and speaking to toast master "Tony" about the history and the beauty of the hotel we decided to sit down with one of the Hotels wedding planners the very next day and get some ideas of what this could look like for us. "Kelly McGee" our co-ordinator is one of the most heartwalming and wonderful people on this earth that both i and my husband have met, Her bright, funny and excitable personality almost felt as though she was about to marry on our day, nevermind just assist with the planning of it which was refreshing and comforting. Kelly was on call for the dramas, the bridezilla mo's and always a delight to speak to. She is organised and plans every detail of your day to ensure nothing will distract you from the significance and importance of "YOUR" big day. i can but recommend her services... even if she may try to steal a peice of your wedding cake :)!!! Thankyou. The service on the day was impecable, the staff doting and profficient which all made for an amazing venue to both our family and wedding guests, if you want a truely magnificant setting and warm welcoming service then its definatly a place to stay.... you never know you may even choose to get married here!!!! cant wait to come back on our anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel, I loved the old victorian theme and the room was a good size with a great big bath, which I loved. Free wifi and all facilites in my room. Food was ok, i was disapointed im my desert as it was a bit dry. Hopefully my breakfast wont disappoint.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank truesavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

After 3hrs in car looking forward to tea and scone in the lounge to soak up the atmosphere was unable to get any attention. Went to restaurant to be told pre bookings only and 2.5 weeks notice was required the fact that we were resident made no difference. I had to go to the room and telephone to send someone to my hubby to explain but we were still only offered a pot of tea and there may be some lemon drizzle cake. There was room service at a £3 charge but no 'afternoon tea' if not pre -booked. A very busy week for them ...2 Halloween dinners, medieval banquet, weddings, business meetings. No ordinary place for guests on a few days break indeed so don't expect any attention. Turn down service non existent on first evening, room not made up til next day only then did we get slippers. Room dingy and wi-fi barely connected. Staff polite and friendly but but you had the feeling that they hoped you would get fed up waiting and go away. Thank goodness breakfast was self serve. Lovely grounds and hotel but would leave it to the masses.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Good afternoon and very many thanks for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay here at Coombe Abbey.
I was extremely sorry to read, that your stay did not meet your expectations.
With regard to afternoon tea, unfortunately, our Garden Room Restaurant, is extremely popular and does get very busy, especially on a Saturday. We strongly recommend to all of our guests, to make a reservation prior to arrival, so as to avoid disappointment.
Please again accept my apologies, if you did not receive a turn down service on the first night of your stay. However, had you reported this to reception at the time, our turn down maid would have attended to your room immediately.
I sincerely hope the issues you experienced on your last stay, will not prevent you from returning to Coombe Abbey, at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited Coombe Abbey on a corporate event and can honestly say we had a fabulous evening. The hotel is set in a lovely grounds of Coombe Park and is an old monastery. Very tranquil and beautiful. Amazing building which has been very tastefully converted to a high quality hotel with some very quirky features. Food was lovely and the room was stunning. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sallyraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,273 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
21.0 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $113 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing