We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the nestfield suite wow realy worth the money total luxury and I can't wait to return the staff are realy nice and the food to its a lovely building and the nestfield suite was on two floors and included a steam room its an old building with lots of charicter and the lake outside and the grounds are so lovely to walk around my brother in law and his girlfriend are getting married there after staying there with us they were so impressed

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    674
    301
    117
    87
See reviews for
420
1,417
22
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I was taken to Coombe Abby for my 40th and believe me I was not disappointed. The hotel is like a museum. Out standing hotel,food,staff,surroundings all in all 1st class. I have my next trip booked ❤❤

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a business conference; this is the third time in about 5 years I have stayed at this hotel. All of the rooms I have stayed in are a good standard with the caveat that in the height of summer there is no air con in the rooms in the main house, and if you have a 12 foot high window in a SW facing room you will struggle to sleep with the heat. Not something to worry about in January! This time I had one of the rooms overlooking the moat which was really nice.

On this visit we ate lunch and dinner twice and the standard of food was surprisingly good for this type of hotel. Breakfast s cooked to order and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only negatives relate to the bar. it is is really small for this size of hotel and they are reluctant to serve even guests after midnight. We were ushered out of the bar by a polite but assertive barman. Although many people may not care about this the only bitter they sell is keg Boddingtons and Flowers, both of which are awful. They really should try harder and start selling one good real ale instead of two bad artificial versions.
Overall I would recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having been for lunch in 2012 and enjoying the Conservatory Restaurant where we received very good service and enjoyed the daily table d hote menu we thought it would be nice to experience the accommodation and enjoy dinner for my birthday.
the approach to the hotel in the snow gives a lovely setting with the fountain being a feature frozen with ice. we checked in and were shown to our lovely feature room within the new building still being in keeping with the property, the room was spacious comfortable and provided everything we required.
The Hotel itself has a warm traditional feel with some unusual design features. We enjoyed a 3 course meal which was delicious. The staff were attentive ,friendly and well presented.
I would heartily recommend this hotel for a romantic break or family celebration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to Coombe Abbey for a Medieval Evening and stayed over night the room was out of this world Oldie Worldie but top quailty couldn't fault it at all, I had forgot my tooth brush and ask one of the people working there were I could buy one he said don't worry I'll go and get you one true to his word ten minutes later he was back with a tooth brush what service, The breakfast was qood but a do it yourself job the other people seem to like that .Would love to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller020953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Been here several times and never fails to delight in so many ways. Restaurant food is average but with so many great themed bedrooms ......and bathrooms....who wants to spend time eating. Explore the building too, lots of interesting gothic features and nooks and crannies to find. But do find time to walk up to the bird hide, take some binoculars and you can watch the herons in their nests in May.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have long been intrigued by this place, having last visited the park about 40 years ago as a child. And so I arrived with some anticipation. The whole place had been covered with a layer of snow and it looked amazing.

What was striking is that despite the fact that it was a very snowy Tuesday midweek in January in a rural area, there were nevertheless loads of people at the hotel, lots of conference people but also some independent travellers from Asia and Europe and some locals out for a special night-out.

I think that defines the hotel and explains some of the disputes about it... It is a conference hotel that accommodates private clients rather than the other way around.

I was given a room in the new section -- extremely spacious, extremely good wi-fi, wonderful high bed.

Dinner was a kind of bistro standard done very nicely - 7.5 / 10. Breakfast included fresh cooked breakfast which is becoming more and more rare. I ordered poached eggs and smoked haddock - 10/10. It wasnt speedy but nor was it excessively tardy which was fine by me. Juices were nice but from concentrate, coffee was ok. excellent croissants.

Basically this is a 4-star conference hotel with an amazing [of several periods] lobby and public areas. The owners have done a great job in transforming this into a functioning and apparently successful enterprise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bin-Derdundhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,252 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,193 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing