We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediaeval banquet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mediaeval banquet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Overall a very good stay only a few problems with the shower and mediaeval banquet very good and the actors definately earned their money and overall an enjoyable experience, the food was awful but not much was expected

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    645
    283
    109
    84
See reviews for
394
1,347
22
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

First I will just say I agree with everything that RUSS1602 said. That saves me writing all that out again.

I went there with 6 other family and girlfriends for a Hen Weekend. We attended the Medieval Banquet, in costume. Check-in got very confusing, partly because rooms weren't ready, and the computer system kept failing. Also, my sister had booked 3 twin rooms and one single, which all turned out to be doubles. One was quite a small double and wasnt really appropriate for our needs. To be fair to the check-in staff (especially Hayley - 'Hello') they did handle it well and eventually got us all sorted. For us this was not a problem because we were there to have a fun weekend but I could see that for some this may be frustrating.

The banquet was bit noisy, possibly becuase we were all left waiting around in the bar area for quite a while, so a lot of alcohol drunk. We were sat at one end, furthest away and sound system wasnt very good so most of the time we could not hear what was happening on the little stage. We just laughed when everyone else did to join in ! The food was what you expect at a Medieval Banquet - very basic, but the novelty is in eating without cutlery and in the dark candle light.

The disco after the banquet was a great idea, and alllows you to extend the evening.

Having said all that about the banquet, we all had a great time. But just wanted others to be aware of what it is like and go with the right expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnowls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Lady Craven Suite for 2 nights – yes it was lovely but freezing on the first night and roasting on the second. As for the food, I considered it was average to poor. Service – the staff were courteous but not attentive. It would appear that the hotel is considered the primary mover by staff when it should be the guests. I found out later that the hotel is run by Coventry Council and it then became apparent why, “I’m very sorry” is so easily said.

My receptionist was very pleasant and pleased to satisfy our needs but request follow-up was not performed. Issues that reduced the pleasure of our stay;

On the first morning, we were disturbed 3 times before 10:30 by the service staff, the first time being 09:20
No eye contact with guests and hence no staff activity when beckoned
Wine list cover was in a shabby state
Menus were covered with grease marks
Bar tables were not cleaned properly
A member of staff brushed me with his coat and gave no apology
Ice buckets placed where they could not be reached
I had to fill our wine glasses even when the waiter was there delivering the food
Electrical equipment was not tested for effectiveness
Room temperatures were not monitored prior to and during our stay
Requests had to be asked twice for any action to be taken
Previous occupant's tie was still in the room after we had finally left the room
Food was not presented well and some dishes were just ordinary to tasteless

Conclusion – I will not stay again and the hotel management do not appear to understand what is meant by “service”. The hotel appears to be living on reputation and lack of service quality will bring it down.

Room Tip: The Lady Craven Suite overlooking the garden and lake was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to experience an afternoon tea bought for us as a Christmas present. Looked at the participating venues and chose Coombe Abbey. Decided to take option of a special Friday evening DBB offer - Glad we did.

The afternoon tea was excellent - small cost but treated as though we had paid the earth.

Coombe Abbey is some special hotel - very atmospheric and the meals were excellent. The room we stayed in was on the dark side as the theme is in keeping with it's age (no reading of long novels etc). The Grounds and surrounding country park were impressive. Several events were taking place at the same time but the siting of these removed any noise disturbance in the main hotel building.

Meal choice was quality based rather than quantity based and the wine list will suit most tastes.

There is a national heritage castle 11 miles away which, if visite, concludes a very special visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Easy to find off the main Coventry ring road, but check via Google maps as some satnav's don't take you straight to the location.
Really good first impression and impressive driveway to Abbey. Parking easy, but slog to reception so if it's raining, take a coat or umbrella before you begin your journey.
Good booking-in service at reception, friendly - however, took me ages to find my room in confusing set up. Could sign-post better for all concerned.
Room well furnished, clean and good quality, but dark. Bathroom great - shower even greater!
Breakfast and evening meal taken in the conservatory - very good, with excellent selection of fresh foods and choice. Service was very good.
The whole place is steeped in history so don't forget to take some time to look around the grounds and buildings when you are there. The Abbey is used a lot for business meetings.
Quiet and comfortable stay. Mobile signal is poor. Wifi available in some areas.
Not too expensive and good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob140567
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a fabulous hotel

It has so much character, great staff, amazing rooms and wonderful setting. The whole place just took my breath away and I cannot wait to go back. I had room 141 which had a beautiful view, huge windows, stunning four poster bed and wonderful en-suite. Staff look after us well and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I cant wait to go back for much longer stay. I have a £140 a night deal which was the best value I have had in a long time for a hotel of this quality

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently spent a three day conference here. Having heard so much about it I was really looking forward to my stay. Some may call the hotel atmostpheric but I just found it really dark and gloomy. It is undoubtedly the most stunning house and setting but the interior designer has just gone a bit too gothic. It makes it all a bit like a theme park which doesn't do this historic house justice. Having said that the American guests were loving it!. The food was fine but not remarkable. The service was OK too, but the over powering gloom of the place seems to have rubbed off on the staff!.

Room Tip: Insist on having the aircon checked. Mine didn't work and the porter was unable to operate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishybarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing