We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly - Not an ordinary Hotel”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Truly - Not an ordinary Hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to experience an afternoon tea bought for us as a Christmas present. Looked at the participating venues and chose Coombe Abbey. Decided to take option of a special Friday evening DBB offer - Glad we did.

The afternoon tea was excellent - small cost but treated as though we had paid the earth.

Coombe Abbey is some special hotel - very atmospheric and the meals were excellent. The room we stayed in was on the dark side as the theme is in keeping with it's age (no reading of long novels etc). The Grounds and surrounding country park were impressive. Several events were taking place at the same time but the siting of these removed any noise disturbance in the main hotel building.

Meal choice was quality based rather than quantity based and the wine list will suit most tastes.

There is a national heritage castle 11 miles away which, if visite, concludes a very special visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    655
    285
    113
    84
See reviews for
398
1,370
22
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Easy to find off the main Coventry ring road, but check via Google maps as some satnav's don't take you straight to the location.
Really good first impression and impressive driveway to Abbey. Parking easy, but slog to reception so if it's raining, take a coat or umbrella before you begin your journey.
Good booking-in service at reception, friendly - however, took me ages to find my room in confusing set up. Could sign-post better for all concerned.
Room well furnished, clean and good quality, but dark. Bathroom great - shower even greater!
Breakfast and evening meal taken in the conservatory - very good, with excellent selection of fresh foods and choice. Service was very good.
The whole place is steeped in history so don't forget to take some time to look around the grounds and buildings when you are there. The Abbey is used a lot for business meetings.
Quiet and comfortable stay. Mobile signal is poor. Wifi available in some areas.
Not too expensive and good value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob140567
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a fabulous hotel

It has so much character, great staff, amazing rooms and wonderful setting. The whole place just took my breath away and I cannot wait to go back. I had room 141 which had a beautiful view, huge windows, stunning four poster bed and wonderful en-suite. Staff look after us well and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I cant wait to go back for much longer stay. I have a £140 a night deal which was the best value I have had in a long time for a hotel of this quality

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently spent a three day conference here. Having heard so much about it I was really looking forward to my stay. Some may call the hotel atmostpheric but I just found it really dark and gloomy. It is undoubtedly the most stunning house and setting but the interior designer has just gone a bit too gothic. It makes it all a bit like a theme park which doesn't do this historic house justice. Having said that the American guests were loving it!. The food was fine but not remarkable. The service was OK too, but the over powering gloom of the place seems to have rubbed off on the staff!.

Room Tip: Insist on having the aircon checked. Mine didn't work and the porter was unable to operate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishybarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. Had to walk 300 yds from car park to reach reception. Staff friendly. Lovely room, four poster bed. Breakfast on 2nd day excellent. Staff very obliging and even offered to poach my wife an egg as there were none on the menu. We had afternoon tea on last day, excellent value. Evening dinner was again excellent quality and excellent service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Coombe Abbey Hotel for one night for our Wedding Anniversary, what a treat! Gorgeous hotel, thoughtfully restored and everything was perfect from start to finish.
We had upgraded to a Feature Double, and were allocated Room 205, huge room and bathroom complete with large roll top bath.
I had read some negative comments on here prior to our stay and so was a little concerned, but i should not have worried, it was everything I had hoped for and more.
We had the evening meal booked in the Garden Room Restaurant, it looked really romantic at night with all the lights, the service was excellent as was the food & wine!
Breakfast was also excellent, lots of choice for both hot and cold plenty of juice, tea & coffee.
Unfortunately we were let down by the weather (non-stop heavy rain) so did not get to enjoy the beautiful grounds, but look forward to that next time.
Overall we just cant wait to return!

Room Tip: The Feature Double well worth the little extra, much bigger rooms & the bath was amazing if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetoescape-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just arrived back from our wedding anniversary weekend at Coombe Abbey.Beautiful hotel and spectacular grounds just as fantastic as we remembered from our wedding here two years ago.We booked a special offer package through Coombe("Romancing at Coombe")You Should be informed of a £69 food and drink allowance which is included in price when you book as if you go above this then your not shocked when you come to check out.Fabulous food and service,Crown Bedchamber spacious and beautiful view of the gardens. Staff are very accommodating and very friendly A* hotel highly recommended for weddings or Romancing can't wait to return for next years anniversary.

Room Tip: Main part of the building is kept oldie worldie with labyrinth of rooms and passage ways bedrooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing