We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely has the WOW factor!”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely has the WOW factor!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday evening and had a feature room, OMG it was lovely! It was our 25th wedding anniversary so we wanted to go somewhere special and that's what we got! Very Gothic & quirky room but loved it, quite low lighting in the corridors & reception which is a bit strange but adds to the atmosphere. We had a pot of tea in the bar, the restaurant was busy with afternoon teas which looked fab! Service in the bar wasn't as prompt as I'd expect and other people struggled to get served, however, once ordered the presentation was great.
Evening Meal was wonderful, beautifully presented and chocolate torte to die for! My husband had cheese which was equally lovely.
Marvelous Breakfast in the morning, we are real foodies and were more than happy!
The park & gardens were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Feature Room overlooking the drive was lovely, we took our daughter and she had a sofa bed, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_MumKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    674
    301
    117
    87
See reviews for
420
1,417
22
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I attended a medieval feast event in June and it started well when we were shown into the historic building for a drink and a wait for the begining. The monk music being played added to the atmosphere.
As we were taken in to the hall it started to go down hill. We were taken to a long
table with wooden benches. There was a problem as there was little room and another couple complained but we were all bunched together. In front of us was a steak knife.
We were entertained by some actors who were playing the part of the court. This amounted to singing some bawdy type songs an introducing the feast.
The food was a total disapointment and in no way could it be defined as a feast.
The first course was a soup in a small bowl. It was not overly good. The second course was a spare rib on a plate. The main course was a chicken leg and a jacket potato with a small bowl of salad beween 7 people. The final course was a bowl of crumble. This stodgy dish defeated many on our table as little of it was eaten.
The food was not of good quality and the wine was generaly agreed by my fellow dinners as very rough and not pleasant. Apart from a vegitarian option there was no choice of food.
Throughout the dinner the actors contiued to entertain with saucy type songs.
This event was supposed to be a feast but in truth it was far from that and the main point of the evening was the acting.
The evening finished with a disco.
I would say that this was a sing song evening with a bit of food and not a fantastic evening of feasting.
At £39 a person I would expected far better quality food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perfick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A few miles outside of Coventry’s hustle and bustle lay this rare gem. Grand, striking and simply magnificent; and that’s just the outside! If you’re looking for something luxuriously romantic and quirky that will take your partner’s breath away, I’d highly recommend Coombe Abbey. Huddled between acres of sumptuous parkland, gardens, lakes and streams, there is plenty of scope to stroll hand in hand off the beaten track and take in all the sights and sounds. We stumbled upon a heronry, bird watching hut, a small pet graveyard (which we could only assume from the dates, these canine critters would have belonged to previous owners of the Abbey), a waterfall, masses of ducks… and an adventure playground – probably built for kids, but we still clambered to the very top of the framework and had wobble around on the tyre swing!

The hotel itself is lavishly decorated and makes home to plenty of intricate detail. Our bedroom was clean, plush and both bedroom and bathroom were extremely comfortable. The staff at Coombe Abbey were pleasant and the chef whipped up a delightful self-service breakfast. Usually, the use of crumby self-service heated trolleys infuriates me as the beans are congealed, bacon is like eating shoe leather etc but this was NOT the case at Coombe Abbey – they got it spot on. All in all, one of the best hotels we’ve ever had the pleasure of staying in. This hotel is fit for royalty :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miladyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We shall be heading back in the near future for another visit. The food, wine, service and the hospitality showed by all of the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M and N J j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed last week for two nights. The room was lovely very clean, quiet and a super bathroom. We had a spring bloomer package for the Saturday might which was £95 for B & B. I felt this was about right. I think we may have been lucky to get this deal as when I called to book I was firstly told that the offer had ended (in fact it did not end until 10th June) then was told it did not apply on Saturdays. Again which was not true I had to speak to a manager to get our deal. We really enjoyed our stay but I do feel there is room for improvement. It just so happened I forgot my hairbrush - the staff did not have any left and no-one offered to get one for me so I had to spend the 2 nights without brushing my hair! For a hotel of this standard this was poor. However, the food and wine were excellent. You have to find your way in the garden room - you cannot just sit in there and have a drink which is a shame as it is a beautiful room. The day we arrived we went for a glass of wine about 5.00 pm and we told rather rudely by a female member of the bar staff that we could not sit in the garden room despite there being empty tables. We were told the seats were all fully booked for afternoon tea but this was patently not true as no-one ended up sitting at those tables anyway! That said most of th eother staff went out of thier way to be helpful. Finally, I did not find the bed confortable - the mattress was old and springy and the pillows were flat and shapeless. Overall I would go again. What really lets the place down is the lack of spa facilities on site but this may account for the reasonable prices.

Room Tip: second floor and rooms at the back are quietest especially when there are functions on. Avoid the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catspelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Treated myself to an overnight stay at Coombe for my birthday. And I was not disappointed, friendly, quick check in, a beautiful atmospheric room, a really high bed which was so comfy, bathroom was lovely, have not seen an old fashioned high toilet cistern for such a long time, a trip back to childhood. lovely drapes alonside the bath, a lovely well presented charming room.
Down to breakfast in the morning, and wow, so many different varieties of fresh fruit to choose from, green figs, strawberries, melon etc, a really excellent choice of cereals and pastries, and onto the Abbey breakfast, wow, well presented and cooked, 2 thick rashers of bacon, a sausage, a large half of grilled tomato, hash brown, black pudding, proper fried bread and a perfect poached egg, that oozed a golden yolk when cut into, perfect, plenty of coffee and fruit juice. Staff very attentive and friendly and attentive.
A walk around the grounds after breakfast, ducks on the lake, a lovely stroll around the wildflower meadow, a perfect end to a perfect day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had such fun for the two nights we spent at the Coombe Abbey. The hotel is so beautiful and historical with lots of great gardens to walk through and things to do, We loved the sheep next door and there are so many birds on the grounds. The rooms are nice and the food was some of the best we had on our trip to England. The staff was really great and helpful. We really had a great time here.

Room Tip: We stayed in adjoining rooms on the ground floor. The patio doors opened right out onto the lawn and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,252 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,193 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing