We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great stay but room for improvement”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed last week for two nights. The room was lovely very clean, quiet and a super bathroom. We had a spring bloomer package for the Saturday might which was £95 for B & B. I felt this was about right. I think we may have been lucky to get this deal as when I called to book I was firstly told that the offer had ended (in fact it did not end until 10th June) then was told it did not apply on Saturdays. Again which was not true I had to speak to a manager to get our deal. We really enjoyed our stay but I do feel there is room for improvement. It just so happened I forgot my hairbrush - the staff did not have any left and no-one offered to get one for me so I had to spend the 2 nights without brushing my hair! For a hotel of this standard this was poor. However, the food and wine were excellent. You have to find your way in the garden room - you cannot just sit in there and have a drink which is a shame as it is a beautiful room. The day we arrived we went for a glass of wine about 5.00 pm and we told rather rudely by a female member of the bar staff that we could not sit in the garden room despite there being empty tables. We were told the seats were all fully booked for afternoon tea but this was patently not true as no-one ended up sitting at those tables anyway! That said most of th eother staff went out of thier way to be helpful. Finally, I did not find the bed confortable - the mattress was old and springy and the pillows were flat and shapeless. Overall I would go again. What really lets the place down is the lack of spa facilities on site but this may account for the reasonable prices.

Room Tip: second floor and rooms at the back are quietest especially when there are functions on. Avoid the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catspelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    643
    283
    109
    83
See reviews for
394
1,343
22
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Treated myself to an overnight stay at Coombe for my birthday. And I was not disappointed, friendly, quick check in, a beautiful atmospheric room, a really high bed which was so comfy, bathroom was lovely, have not seen an old fashioned high toilet cistern for such a long time, a trip back to childhood. lovely drapes alonside the bath, a lovely well presented charming room.
Down to breakfast in the morning, and wow, so many different varieties of fresh fruit to choose from, green figs, strawberries, melon etc, a really excellent choice of cereals and pastries, and onto the Abbey breakfast, wow, well presented and cooked, 2 thick rashers of bacon, a sausage, a large half of grilled tomato, hash brown, black pudding, proper fried bread and a perfect poached egg, that oozed a golden yolk when cut into, perfect, plenty of coffee and fruit juice. Staff very attentive and friendly and attentive.
A walk around the grounds after breakfast, ducks on the lake, a lovely stroll around the wildflower meadow, a perfect end to a perfect day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had such fun for the two nights we spent at the Coombe Abbey. The hotel is so beautiful and historical with lots of great gardens to walk through and things to do, We loved the sheep next door and there are so many birds on the grounds. The rooms are nice and the food was some of the best we had on our trip to England. The staff was really great and helpful. We really had a great time here.

Room Tip: We stayed in adjoining rooms on the ground floor. The patio doors opened right out onto the lawn and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Coombe Abbey hotel is stunning and our room was excellent and full of character. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and the food was also very good. The service at the tiny bar was slow and staff milling in the background had to be told to serve at the bar. The breakfast buffet was busy and very confined. Logistically breakfast service does not appear to be well planned as you spend a lot of time in close proximity to other guests also forraging for breakfast. The cereals and juices are too close to the hot buffet, causing a spaghetti junction effect amongst hungry guests! For the price of the hotel I expected a more relaxed experience but in fairness it was a Saturday night so the hotel was very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'old' part of the building. The rooms are so full of character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_b_01499523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We choose here as a good stop off en route to a day of skiing at Tamworth, I'd stayed before on business but before the property extensions.

First impressions was that it is a busy function hotel, but that said plenty of space and Sunday supper was fantastic, especially for the 2 for 1 price.

Liked the quirky nature of the place, been to too many normal hotels. With a bit of attention to detail this place could easily add a star on - definitely had bits of places like the grace hotel chain but not the full package

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aeparker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was only meant for us to have afternoon tea but we were surprised to learn that we had been booked in for bed&breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonstonemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nites in June and had a fantastic time. We opted for an upgrade to make the most of our stay although i think a free upgrade would have been a nice gesture as rooms were still available and other hotels similar to this one have offered us this before. The hotel and grounds are absolutely fantastic as are the rooms. The only downside was that the bar area is too small and could do with comfortable seating and sofas, also there was no games room or swimming pool. The sheer size of this hotel could easily accomodate these things but it didn't spoil our stay and we would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Room in the new quarter are beautiful and very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,224 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,142 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing