We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gardens and we may book again”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful gardens and we may book again”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Coombe Abbey on Saturday 18th June 2011, for a romantic break. I had chosen this particular hotel over many others as I'm a particular fan of 'old' hotels, I don't like hotels that are modern. I was very disappointed with the location of our room, as I hadn't realised that a new building had been built and we were located there for our stay. The whole point of the hotel selection was to stay in the Abbey and even though the room was clean, I couldn't hide my disappointment. This said, the staff were very helpful and the views and gardens were spectacular!!! Breakfast was wonderful, however we did have to wait well over 15 minutes for our selection, as we seremed to have been forgotten.The staff did apologise for our wait. I would stay here again, but in a room inside the Abbey and not Priory Park, where we were located.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flish35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    667
    291
    114
    86
See reviews for
409
1,387
22
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast on June 18th, it was excellent value, the bedroom was quirky but very pleasantly decorated. The Restaurant was was very good, the staff attentive but not intrusive, the food was excellent.
The Hotel provided a very relaxing and unusual weekend.
Highly recommended, so unlike the souless chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The building and grounds are splendid and the bedrooms have a lot of character but feel very dark and gloomy, and the hotel has no leisure facilities at all
I wouldn't rush back to stay there on business but OK for a family/friends break.

Room Tip: Booked via Laterooms as hotel claimed to be full
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Went to a wedding and stayed overnight. service 100%. food 100%. rooms 100%. the whole surroundings AMAZING!! could not fault it...WELL DONE COOMBE ABBEY EMPLOYEES..!

Room Tip: get 2nd floor and you cant go wrong..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fazerboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband & I were given a B&B voucher as a Christmas present, after going over the available hotels we picked Coombe Abbey & what a fantastic choice.
Coombe Abbey is set in its own expansive, beautiful grounds, the original building is historic and rambling, mood lit inside with nooks and crannies stuffed with comfy chairs, statues, suits or armour and paintings. We paid £30 extra to have an upgrade to a 'feature room'.. this room was massive! deep blue fixtures with a 4 poster double bed which you had to step up to. A beautiful fully tiled victorian bathroom with roll top bath, fluffy towels and bath robes, deep set windows and a modern tv. What more could you ask for? We booked in for the eveing meal, & although I was disappointed by my steak the pudding, wine and service was great.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and I would like to add that the staff were wonderful, friendly, chatty and helpful but not overly so.
We have recommended the hotel to friends and family and are looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbyclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed for the weekend 20th/21st May 2011 and had a lovely restful and romantic weekend.

We booked through travelzoo and stayed in a feature room for a very reasonable £99.00 per night with £40.00 towards dinner on Friday and 25% off food on Saturday.

The room was spacious and luxurious with a view over the moat and out into the park. The bathroom was large and plenty of room for the both of us to use at the same time.

The food and service in the Garden Terrace Restaurant were great and we were well looked after. The head waiter was amusing and we would recommend eating there.

This Hotel is ideal for a romantic and relaxing break with a lovely park to wander around during the day. If you are looking for a more lively after dinner night life it may not be the right place as it was pretty dead after dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezboy5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Coombe Abbey on Friday the 13th of May 2011 along with another couple. I cannot fault this hotel! All staff were extremely polite and helpful. We also attended the medieval feast and we chosen as Baron and Baronness. This experience was very funny and enjoyable. The staff who organise this venue put all their heart into the event which makes it wonderful.
The grounds Coombe Abbey are set in are vast and clean for walks. There is also an adventure wooden outdoor playground a short walk away.
Please do not let the price put you off. In fact we considered the prices very reasonable for the service provided which included a breakfast of basically whatever you desired.
I would definetely visit Coombe Abbey again and hope to visit again.
Whatever your age you can enjoy this venue

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZipZipWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,247 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,171 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
2,077 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing