We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel but fabulous staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coventry South
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel but fabulous staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here for an overnight business trip. The accommodation was functional but a bit 'tired'. However, ALL of the staff were brilliant - friendly and efficient - plus willing to 'go the extra mile' to help. A special thank you to the receptionist - Leanne Thandy - who offered to drive to a post box on her way home (at 11pm) to post my Mother's birthday card, as I'd arrived by train and there wasn't a postbox nearby - Leanne, you're a star! Restaurant staff were friendly and chatty, and the morning receptionist even brought my invoice into breakfast so I could make a fast getaway! I've stayed in lots of very good 'business hotels' with rubbish customer service, but I'd far rather stay somewhere less grand where the staff are this good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Nick N,

Thank you for your fabulous comments regarding our hotel and team. I am delighted you took the time to comment on your experience.

All guest feedback is used to create a great hotel that guests love so I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team, Leanne particularly, who joined our team only a couple of months ago.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Samantha Fensome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    109
    76
    35
    25
See reviews for
63
57
17
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Good Reception, quick & easy, the rooms are looking their age, they are clean & plenty of hot water & a comfy bed - but - one of the curtains was ripped & the room needed a bit of TLC, nothing serious but come on Holiday Inn, we the customer pay the wages dont forget !
We ate breakfast on both mornings, couldn't really see how they knew whether we ate Continental or Full Breakfast, ( which were priced differently ) everything was laid out & was self service, with few staff.
We also ate Dinner on one night, the food was fine, when it arrived, service was very slow & obviously new staff & only 2 staff plus the bar man.
No real complaint problems but Holiday Inn need to pull their socks up if they want people to continue to use their brand.
Yes I would stay there again, it is in a good position if travelling through & onwards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
458 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My first comment about the room in the motel is that it seemed old and tired. There were no free toiletries, and we could never figure out how to turn on all the lights. The room was large, but the bathroom seemed hard to use and the toilet didn't flush well. That may have been a low-water use feature, but when you have to flush one repeatedly, there probably isn't much of a savings.The staff seemed helpful. The two dinners we had there were no better than average, although the breakfasts were fine. There wasn't supposed to be free WiFi at the motel, but I was able to get online with no problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear psychprofessor,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It’s nice to know you enjoyed our breakfast selections and we thank you for the kind words about our helpful staff. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the overall condition of the room and the bathroom amenities. We take all feedback from valued guests like you very seriously. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We will certainly look at these points to focus on improving guest satisfaction.

Should your future travel plans bring you back here, we would love to welcome you back in our establishment.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I helped out at an event held at the Holiday Inn, Coventry last weekend and I just wanted to give a shout out to the staff and say how helpful they were in terms of looking after us and getting everything for us that we needed! Nothing was too much trouble! Thanks guys!

Helyn Tarr, Global Business Owner, info.forever.naturally@gmail.com

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking fields, so was nice to open the window and see the tranquil view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello ForeverGlobal,

Thank you for your great feedback. It is nice to hear these comments and I will be sure to pass them on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Very few staff - and despite not many guests... Service was poor..

Rooms were tired and need to be brought up to brand standards..

Maintenance and cleaning were both shockingly bad..

Mini gym was mostly out of order...

Food and drink service was very slow and expensive... But quality was OK..

Secure car park - had no barriers!

All in all not a pleasant stay and won't be back...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank No1WelshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hello No1WelshFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to pass your comments back regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Coventry-South. Please accept my sincere apologies for the incidents you faced during your stay with us. I must stress I was very disappointed to learn of your experience, It is always upsetting to find our guests do not experience the usually high standards we and the intercontinental hotel group adopt within the hotel.

I hope you will change your mind and return to us in the future, giving us the opportunity to to reassure you that the service you received is not to our usual standard and will go some way in placing you trust back within the Intercontinental Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This property of Holiday inn is in the middle of no where. Its probably preferrable if you are on a business travel and has no other choice which is closer to your work place.
The property does not have great looks either - pretty old one. However, the staff are pretty friendly and is the only best part of my stay. It has a mini gym but does not have a lift (doesn't need it as its just one floor) or pool. The restaurant is just okay and there are no nearby places to eat unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatyaAkkinapragada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your term to review our hotel.

Our location is great for the business travel and leisure gest as a base if traveling in the local area with easy access to the transport museum – Warwick castle Ryton Gardens or 5 miles from the City and 20 minutes from the NEC.
Or why not attend once of our murder mystery event each month a great experience. Our brand has a number of locations to choose from and we should be able to find the best location for you globally.
We hope you choose to stay in our brand in the future.

Regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is on the A45 - near the A46, but as this is Coventry other drivers let you out in the morning.

The hotel looks like a converted factory, not a hotel. Even the sign Holiday Inn does not convince.

Check in was friendly. I think I was upgraded, but I am not sure.

The hotel has a mini gym - and is eager for conferences etc to be held there. Other than staying in the room, I did not use any of the facilities. There is no lift or pool.

Room 41 is at the back of the hotel and other looks a field. It was clean and had good lighting and a decent sofa. The continental quilt was old and thin. Bathroom large.

Ok for business stop overs, but I would not wish to bring my family. You cannot walk out of the hotel and there is nothing in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet and overlook a field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diskdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi thank you for your time to post this review, we love feedback about or hotel and brand.
I am pleased you chose to stay with us and found the hotel clean with good lighting.

I will have a look at the quilt in room 41 as we change them regularly and will replace if required.
Hope you chooses to stay again if on business in the area.

Kind regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.8 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coventry South

Property: Holiday Inn Coventry South
Address: London Road, Coventry CV8 3DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coventry South 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is located minutes from the historical centre of Coventry and less than 1 mile from Coventry International Airport and 6 miles from Birmingham International Airport and easy to reach from the M1, M6, M69 or M42, M40. It's an ideal base for leisure guests with Leamington Spa, Rugby, Derby, Nottingham, Leicester, Warwick Castle and Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon a short drive away. The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) is within 20 minutes and the National Agricultural Centre (NAC) just 5 minutes along with Stoneleigh Park. Coventry City Football Club s new stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel facilities are modern and friendly with spacious public areas and exceptionally large bedrooms each with High speed internet access. Dine in our restaurant, from a wide choice of International dishes, or choose to relax in the lounge bar, alternatively treat yourself to room service. Whatever the occasion, the Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is an ideal venue for special events. We offer a variety of Wedding & Conference packages including, The Perfect Wedding Venue & Conference Center - Holiday Inn Coventry South ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coventry South Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing