We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Coventry South
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed September 19, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SgtSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kellynack
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cannot find fault with this budget priced hotel. The staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I got a very good night's sleep, undisturbed by any external noise. Does what it says on the tin, this establishment does not try to be anything it's not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry south in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quite hard to find do think the signage problem needs addressing after travelling for hours the last hing you need is to struggle finding the hotel. All that said we would go again now we know where it is. We stayed as we were entered in a dog show at stoneleigh. Our room was good lovely and clean and on the ground floor with a grassy area outside brilliant with a dog. The walk by the river is lovely too. Breakfast was good . We stayed for two nights and would not hesitate to stay again. The staff were very friendly .

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

Regards the signage toward the hotel, we do have several signs around the local area,
But I appreciate this may not be very clear currently we are unable to do more due to local planning issues with road signage.
Both our own website (ibishotel.com) & other third party sites such as Booking.com / Late rooms have detailed information on arrival to the hotel.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked into the Ibis for just one night ( thank goodness), we had used Ibis before in another town and never had a problem.
First impression was how terribly confusing it was to actually fnd the place, eviidently the local road lay out had been changed, sat nav was no use so we had to call from three streets away to get directions. Some roadside signage would have been a big help!
Next problem was the shortage of staff. I am guessing the way they keep it so reasonably priced is by hiring less people. One poor soul seemed to be serving drinks, operating a friar, answering the phone and dealing with customers at the counter.

Our room was ok, a fair sized room with a nice big bed. Yes, the bed was close to the wall on one side but putting in a smaller bed would have spoilt the effect. All very clean, extremely comfortable, bathroom with shower and a small bath, so far so good! The problem realy started when we flushed the toilet! Instantly it flooded right up to the top but thankfully did not spill over! Back to reception again to speak to " she who does all things" and were told that no one could fix it that night. After ,much discussion and hanging about I was advised that if it actually spilled over during the night we would be moved to a new room. NOT IMPRESSED. At this point we were so tired after our trip up from Devon that I was almost losing the will to live! . By now it was 9.30pm and "she" said if we really wanted too, we could have someone come in later on to look at it when they came on shift! No chance ! All I wanted was to go and lie down in peace!
By now I was less than amused and extremely tired so we gave up and went to bed in the hope that it didnt flood over the sides. I left nothing in the bathroom " just in case"
Although the bed was comfortable I did not have much sleep because sadly the rooms are not very well sound proofed. Every time the people above us walked about it was clump clump clump . We could hear every move, every tap that was run, every cough! Sadly I myself had a terrible cough so spent the whole night trying to stifle it for fear of waking the entire block!

6.20 am, I was awakened by my pup trying to be sick so grabbed her up, ran outside in my night things and placed her on the grass. My husband pulled his jeans on and came out with leash, doggy bag, door key etc. As I was only in my night things I asked for the key to slip back into the room. In the 30 seconds I had been outside the electronic swipecard key for the door decided to stop working! Wonderful! Here I am in the car lot in my night dress and it is broad daylight! There I had to stand until my husband went up to the main building to get the key re activated!

After finally returning to our room and making a cup of tea we then loaded the car only to find that AGAIN the key had stopped working!
After the various trials and tribulations we decided to leave there and then and go and purchase breakfast else where, I dont think I would have risked eating there after everything elses going wrong!
Would I stay there agaiin? Probaby yes but not in room 12 and certainly not on the ground floor where people tramp overhead and along the walkway until all hours of the night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quintrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by some problems you experience during your stay,
Regards the signage toward the hotel, we do have several signs around the local area,
But I appreciate this may not be very clear currently we are unable to do more due to local planning issues with road signage.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ten of us stayed en route to Retro Rides car show. We had a really good peaceful stay. The rooms are simply furnished and very clean. Nice comfy king sized bed. Full sized bathroom with bath. TV, hairdryer, kettle etc. The staff are very helpful. Next morning we enjoyed a good breakfast, with choice of english breakfast, cereals, croissants and coffee. Overall a good experience. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts.
My team and I appreciate your kind words. I'm pleased that you found the staff helpful and look forward to welcoming you back to IbisCoventry South in the future
Julian ward General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked two nights at the Ibis Coventry South as I was attending an event at the Ricoh arena and this was one of the cheapest hotels in the vicinity. The setup is slightly odd, as the reception/bar/lounge/restaurant is in one building on one side of the car park, while the actual rooms are in a separate building on the other side of the car park.

The room building is on two floors and is motel-style, with no corridors, just doors to rooms facing directly out onto the walkway on the ground floor, or the "balcony" on the second floor. I had room 140, which was in the far corner on the first floor. At night, while the stairs you had to climb came complete with a blindingly bright movement triggered light, but once around the corner it was not lit at all, so was quite unnerving entering your room late at night. CCTV cameras which I saw gave little reassurance and I only saw one, so lots of blind spots with those.

The room itself was pretty much what I'd expect - basic and small. There was a strange layout feature whereby you open the front door of the room to enter and immediately find yourself in a kind of "air-lock" with another door directly in front of you which opens into the room itself. This small square area between these two doors has a transparent pane looking into the room, so all in all it's a strange feature. Only the outermost door has any kind of lock on it, so I'm not sure what the point of this was.

When I first arrived at my room, I found a dead bug lying on its back on the sideboard, which was unfortunate. I gave housekeeping the benefit of the doubt and assumed it had decided to expire there after they prepared the room. I left it there to see whether they would deal with it the following day or not - it seems they decided to move it into the sink in the bathroom for me, which was not exactly the result I was looking for.

The room had a small bench next to the bed, with a sideboard/desk and a chair, facing out of the window at the front of the room. The window did open fully, but also had a restrictive lock so that you could leave it open somewhat at night without fear of intruders climbing through.

There was a small LCD TV on a table facing the bed and a wardrobe with some hanging and drawer space in the corner of the room. The bathroom was fine, with sink, toilet and shower/bath. The plughole mechanism on the sink was not in 100% working order, but this didn't really bother me. The shower was reasonable, although the bath was quite small, so there wasn't much room for manoeuvre and the shower curtain kept sticking to me.

The double bed was reasonably comfortable as were the pillows and I didn't have any trouble sleeping. I left the DND sign on my door on both nights and was not woken by housekeeping at any point, which was good. General noise was fairly minimal, although you could sometimes hear people in other rooms or walking past outside.

The two members of staff who I dealt with were friendly, helpful and courteous, although on checking out the individual on reception didn't ask me if everything was ok with my stay - if he had, I probably would have mentioned my unexpected room-mate along with a couple of other minor points.

I didn't sample any of the food or drink in the reception area, so I cannot comment on the quality. There was a room service menu in the room which included some items which were available 24 hours a day and prices/selection looked reasonable. Speaking of 24 hour facilities, I did need to speak to reception at 5am one morning to find out what time checkout was and it took a couple of attempts and some waiting to get them to pick up the phone - I presume they were busy with something else though and not just ignoring me.

All in all this is a perfectly fine place to stay for a very cheap price. If you're visiting Jaguar/Land Rover for business it's a 5 minute walk away, so is perfectly located. For other areas of Coventry, nothing is more than a few minutes away in the car, although like in all cities, traffic can be a factor. I would recommend this hotel to others, provided I know they're not too fussy about the quality of their accommodation.

Room Tip: If you go for the upper level, try to get something close to the stairs, as the first you go from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
We do have several CCTV throughout the hotel and as you mention an ideal quiet location next to Jaguar.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry south in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
614 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry South

Address: Whitley Business Park | Abbey Road, Coventry CV3 4LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry South 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coventry South Whitley is located between the Jaguar factory and the Virgin leisure centre. Warwick University is only 5 km away and Stratford upon Avon (the city of Shakespeare) is a 30 min drive. 5 minutes drive from the centre of Coventry and the airport, the hotel offers 51 en suite rooms and a meeting room. It has a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours 7 days and a free car park (50 spaces). Free Wireless Internet access available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Coventry South Whitley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing