We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management need to get a grip on housekeeping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Coventry South
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Devon uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Management need to get a grip on housekeeping!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

OK.. a 5 night stay at a hotel I have used before: It's a budget hotel, so I guess it's reasonable to anticipate that the rooms may be a bit tired and approaching refurb, which was indeed the case. However, it is not unreasonable to expect slack cleaning, which even though drawn to management's attention after the first night, remained unaltered throughout my stay.
To be more specific... 1) Towel hooks had been fitted, and the plaster dust on the ledge where the floor meets the wall had not been cleaned up, and this remained so during my stay. 2) The ledge by the window had not been dusted for some time, and a short finger wipe produced a goodly heap of dust as shown in the pictures added to this review 3) I had cause to move the comfort unit to access the TV plug only to find a considerable build up of dust and waste paper behind the unit.
I understand from the hotel management - who were the usual courteous and reasonably efficient Ibis staff - that the cleaning of rooms is contracted out: Unfortunately I know not to whom as I would happily name them so their shoddy work is exposed: One hopes that Ibis management takes them to task to make sure the usual high standard of Ibis hotels is resumed.
That apart, as a budget hotel... does what it says on the tin, and the breakfast is of acceptable quality and plentiful for a buffet type arrangement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Coventry south.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am investigating this matter further as I mention in an email with you last week.
My Area manager of the cleaning company is producing an action plan to ensure both dust levels and general Cleanliness is carried out every day.
I assure you we are working to ensure all guest have a great stay in Coventry south.
Thank you for your feedback
Julian ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    113
    92
    56
    58
See reviews for
42
95
63
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed for my work. The staff are amazingly helpful and very friendly. The beds and bedding are magnificent - such a good nights sleep. There seems to be no other nearby hostelry, not within walking distance, other than the Virgin Active Lesiure Centre. A very nice place but at £25 a visit, a little bit steep - a shame because a swim or place to workout would be very welcoming - surprised there is no liasion deal / discount between the hotel & leisure centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear avilaFobbing,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feeback and will pass the comments onto the team.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Coventry South.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Julian Ward
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We usually stay in the Coventry central Ibis but, because you more than doubled the price in a space of two weeks for the Spring Fair, we chose this hotel instead. The hotel is built really cheaply , more like a mobile home. The rooms were small, and the bath very slippery. The location is quite bad, and the traffic is really bad. The curtain in my room was dirty. Given a choice ,I would choose the other Ibis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Rainfield,

We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations at Ibis Coventry South

Majority of our rooms are currently being re-decorated but we thank you for the feedback regarding this.

Regarding the prices, there is an option of Advance Purchase online which the rates will be cheaper.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Regards,

Julian Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been there before a few times and I can tell you It's clean, tidy rooms, reception and friendly staff. Diferent menu was good surprise. Good value for money. Would recommend to family and friends. Also liked free car park.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsadurni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear tsadurni,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our change of menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Julian Ward
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you ever need a reasonable room at a reasonable price in the Coventry area try this hotel. I have been staying in this hotel every week for the last six months other than on two occasions when I tried other nearby hotels and realised that this was a bit special. The atmosphere created by the staff is welcoming and they will go to great lengths to make you feel at ease. For people working at the Jag/Landrover site it is ideal being three minutes walk away.
The rooms are spacious and warm ,( perhaps a tad tired) but value for money

Room Tip: Upstairs facing car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Simon W,

We are grateful that you could take the time and leave us feedback.

We aim to ensure all guests are made to feel welcome and are appreciated.

Ibis Coventry South looks forward to welcoming you back into our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Julian Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry South

Property: Ibis Coventry South
Address: Whitley Business Park | Abbey Road, Coventry CV3 4LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry South 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coventry South Whitley is located between the Jaguar factory and the Virgin leisure centre. Warwick University is only 5 km away and Stratford upon Avon (the city of Shakespeare) is a 30 min drive. 5 minutes drive from the centre of Coventry and the airport, the hotel offers 51 en suite rooms and a meeting room. It has a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours 7 days and a free car park (50 spaces). Free Wireless Internet access available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ibis Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Coventry South Whitley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing