We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staying in a double and a single room. Don't be mislead by the nice picture of the old building, the hotelrooms are in a large building that looks like a rundown appartment block. Everything is worn down and smelly. Staff at the reception is very helpful and polite, but the maintenance of the building is very bad, nobody seems to care. Even on a day to day basis: shampoo and soap is not being offered daily, on the second day there was none. They refilled the coffee creamer but not the sugar. Etc. It is simply too expensive for what is offered.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 122 and 149, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BartSeverein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over but didn't eat there, every thing if saw was tired & worn out, the room didn't appear to be clean, the bin was full of rubbish.
when I asked for another set of towels( 2 sharing 1 room) I was told where to find them as the were no cleaning staff on duty.
At £50/night I felt I would have been better served at a Tavel Lodge-- don't think I'll stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank durhamsmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Warning! If you stay at this hotel be warned you need to ask for a refurbished room or dont bother going , seriously. Dirty bedding, smelled of fust, 1960s bathroom in dusky pink, pipes stuck out of walls from removed radiator ,filthy brown grout between tiles,torn curtains,no bar across doorway, carpet threadbare, door hanging off hinge, dirty sofa bed,drawer front on floor!,missing castors off bed, duvet too small as hardly covered you, old style large backed tv (very dated). Poor service in bar area as cups and glasses everywhere , it was unsightly and must have been like that for hours. We spent 2 hours in there and nothing ever got collected all night! I never moan about places ive stayed but this is a genuine grievance! .!Beware

Room Tip: only book a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with the National on a 4 day trip .It is not a bad hotel , clean but very noisy if you are offered room 147 refuse straight away room nice but next to boiler room banging all night , The food was nice plenty of it, staff polite very large hotel dated but clean entertainment rubbish .

Room Tip: Take ear plugs this hotel can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

From the outside the hotel looks nice, there is a mix of old and new . The original building was built in 1894 and you can still see original features. This is now adjoined to a new extension which houses the reception , there is also a spa, although on this visit we didn't use it.
The bedroom was average , we had a double room and there were tea and coffee making facilities and a television
Then bathroom was tiny so much so I had to lean slightly when when sat on the loo as the sink was in the way! The bath , sink and loo were clean but there was grime around the edge of the bath and the door stop.
There was dust under the bed and wardrobe which was visible without having to go searching .

In the room was a sheet giving the history of the old building and I did enjoy walking round the old building looking for original,features.

We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and the food was poor to say the least , 2 roast meats which we had to wait a long time for the chef to come and carve and a couple of bland veg .there was also a veggie option but I didn't see this on the self service buffet .
Breakfast was also a self service buffet , the sausage was poor quality , soft and tasteless, the bacon was barely cooked . They also ran out of bread for the toast machine . The waitress was extremely busy and we had almost eaten our breakfast before we could catch her attention to order tea and coffee.

The hotel appears to work on minimal staff , I saw two waitresses dealing with a full restaurant., there was a coach party in the day we were there and the waitresses could not keep up,with demand

On the whole it was a disappointing stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am originally froom coventry but left the town around 8 years ago. This hotel was always well spoken of and reviewed highly so i had no issues booking this when i needed an overnight in my hometown.
Oh how i was disappointed......I was placed at the far end of the hotel. I had a suitcase and i had 4 flights of stairs to walk up. My room had a dmap smell, the wallpaper was peeling away. There were no towels, iron or kettle in the room. The windows had broken handles so were not secure and the radiator had no thermastat. The room was next to some sort of generator so there was a constant loud whirring noise. looking out o fthe window, it was like i had been placed next to a builders yard! I asked to be moved and the receptionist was only too happy to oblige. I was then moved to a room whcih was just down the corridor from reception....this was much better i thought.......walked in room...found it decorated nicely. It was clean and smelt fresh. the room required some decoration revitalisation. the bathromm door had some of the wood panel gone, some tiles in the bathroom were missing and again, the wallpaper was peeling away and ripped.

For a bed for the night, this was suitable but i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were 3 ladies (age range 40-60) looking for a reasonably priced spa hotel in Coventry to meet up and chat. Our experience at this hotel was a shambles - how can a 3* hotel NOT offer afternoon tea - ie coffee and cake or a scone! The young man at the bar hadn't a clue what he could offer, he was polite and as helpful as he could be but we sensed he was being asked for something not easily offered. What we got was cheesecake and gataux in pudding bowls with coffee in teacups and milk in a teapot without a lid! It looked like yesterday's leftovers. No-one could tell us what was on the evening menu for dinner so we couldn't say whether we were eating there or not when asked on check-in. The rooms were a disgrace. So wish I'd read the reviews first, it certainly does not match up to its advertising. To be fair we didn't have any trouble in getting a refund and leaving without staying, which left us believing it was probably a common occurrance. They didn't seem to want to take feedback to make improvements for further residence ie re afternoon teas. A coachload of senior citizens arrived as we were leaving and hopefully when I am really old I will still not tolerate such low standards/poor conditions.

Room Tip: Don't have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
564 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $44 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing