We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beware!!! At all costs avoid this hotel!! The cleanliness of the hotel is non existence. The smell of the hotel is terrible and the sheets have other peoples hairs in them. There was a dog show in the hotel, so dogs were walking around the hotel! The pool is cloudy and smelly. The decor of the hotel needs some serious updating. Check in at 14.00 and checked out at 17.30. Will not to spending the night or going back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sexma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    361
    338
    302
    455
See reviews for
241
591
58
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have used the royal court hotel for an annual event since 2008. The hotel suits our needs the staff can't be anymore helpful and things couldn't be better.

The food is always amazing and our guest of which there are at least between 150 and 200 get served without delay.

We never have a bad experience at the hotel and the service from Angie and the rest of the staff is always top notch.

Even breakfast suits our guests as it's eat as much as you want.

The hotel us what you make it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked into the Royal Court Hotel due to minimal availability at other hotels within Coventry. The hotel is located within the residential areas and most guests seem to drive to the hotel in order to get there. On arrival, the exterior of the hotel and the parking area is not well lit and gave me a "haunted feel" about the hotel.

At the reception desk, you can tell that the hotel is old fashioned and dated. Check in was much longer because there was a queue and the receptionist were chatting between themselves more than dealing with the guests. Once checked in, we went to our respective rooms and 2 of us got the smoking room even though neither of us smoked. The receptionist also never mentioned it to us that we were given smoking rooms so we were not impressed when we stepped out of the lift to be engulfed by the musky stale smoke smell which overtook the entire floor. As soon as I entered my room, the smell was even stronger and unbearable. I looked around the room and bathroom to find dusty sheets & covers and a bathroom that was still dirty from the last guest. I immediately went downstairs to the reception desk to ask for a non-smoking room.

The non smoking rooms were much bigger and a great relief that it did not smell of smoke but there was the same stale/old furniture smell. Bathroom was still slightly dusty and needed a clean but was much better than my previous room. There was an old box TV which had no channels but there was free Wifi throughout the hotel so that was a life saver. The room only had a small central heating which took a few hours to heat up the entire room. The ceiling also had several scratch/dent marks which were uncovered.

I did not have high expectations for this hotel but I was extremely disappointed with the cleanliness of the hotel and also the lack of information communicated to the guest upon check in. The receptionist should have told their guests if they were staying in a smoking room or given them the option to choose. I would not return to this hotel or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are much bigger and cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klkh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

just stayed at this hotel Saturday the 25 to the 26 of January 2014.we went on a groupon offer and for the price £45:00 we thought was reasonable ,we were wrong, it was cheep at half the price, as the saying goes, the reception I thought was very grand, and the usual smile from the staff at reception "maybe its just me, but I cant say that any break I've been on have I been received with negative attitude " they took the usual info of name car reg etc., we were told what was on the offer , witch was bed breakfast and evening meal, and a bottle of house wine. we were in room 362 witch is a good size and had the usual tea coffee toiletries etc., with the bonus of a bath with power jets, so I knew I was having ,a bath before dinner . even though there is signs that the hotel could do with a handy man to tidy a few bits and bobs it is a nice place and I've definitely stayed at worse for a lot more money. on to the evening meal. it was a set menu with the option of salad or soup for starter, and the main is carvery followed by a choice of cake,cheescake etc. A bottle of wine later I left the restaurant a very full and happy man. on the down side witch has no reflection on this hotel is the foolish man witch I would say was a little worse for wear and was shouting the odds in a very colourful language at around two in the morning and waking other guests, and also cracked the glass in the second floors fire door. witch was the topic of conversation over breakfast, witch again was of a good standard, and no restriction on how high you piled your plate, I had to limit myself as we were eating in Coventry later that afternoon , we also made use of the swimming pool and Jacuzzi, and there is also a gym steam room and sauna . all in all a good time was had and it made for a very nice birthday treat from my wife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longmanwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

First of all, the rooms are extremely dated, carpet missing, tiles off the wall and a big old TV that only shows half a picture. The shower is a lucky dip as in dip your body in whilst its hot before it freezes again. Nothing about this hotel shouts quality and every element is poorly presented. The main bar area is badly designed and looks dated and although has plug sockets in the wall were you may want to use a laptop or charge your phone, not many of them work. The best advise for this hotel is avoid at all costs. I won't be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Having made a last minute booking at this hotel we were not expecting much. The room was only £32 for a double with Jacuzzi bath en suite. The room was clean and tidy. View from 462 was overlooking the gym and towards the carpark. Bath was hot and bubbly and very good, only downside was no bath rail to help you get out. Very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Visited this hotel as part of a cheap coach package. Check-in was very quick. Room and bathroom were large. Bathroom cold as heated towel didn't work properly. Bath etc were dark brown - not seen this colour in decades. Bedroom was freezing as heating hadn't been switched on, warmed up after several hours. Beds were not fitted with valances, made it look very tacky. Furniture very old fashioned, cleaning not up to standard. Food was very average and uninspiring. Nowhere in local vicinity to go for a drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolsGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing