We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what a horrible hotel !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped here for three nights, that was three too many. The hotel is dirty ! We booked in on Friday afternoon. Fast food rubbish that was on top of the vending machine along with chips on the floor were all still there on the Monday morning when we left. Room was dirty, mould on the bath and tiles and peeling wall paper, told we could not change rooms as they were fully booked. Cupboards and drawers smelt odd, so we left our cloths in the case all weekend.Bar glasses we took to the room were also still all there on the Monday morning

Complained to the duty manager and was told housekeeping was not his department !!! He promised us housekeeping would clean our room on the Sunday morning, as of Monday still waiting!!
Meal times were no better, dirty table colths every time we went in. Meals very bland. Buns on the Friday night were stale and rock hard, if indeed you managed to get a pudding. No fresh fruit for breakfast every thing was tinned.

Room Tip: we stopped in 245 what a disgrace. No good rooms stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is disgusting. You will need to wipe your feet when you come out, the carpets are thread bare., and very smelly.I have never stopped in a hotel as bad as this one. Complained to the duty manager about the state of our room and was told 'it was not his department !!!'If the management cant be bothered then I am not surprised the staff dont care.
Room was not cleaned properly all the four days we stopped there, no clean towells, the room was not hoovered until we complained to the duty manager.Mould on the bath' we were told it was on most of the baths in the hotel and was just wear and tear!!All the ceiling tiles were either damaged or water stained, or missing altogether. Health and safety would have a field day,

Room Tip: Dont stay here No good rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just arrived back after spending 3 nights at this Hotel. Very disappointed. Hotel itself is dated but the dining experience is worse than Faulty Towers. I appreciate that for the last two nights 6 coaches were booked in but if the Hotel cannot accommodate the coaches, then do not book them in. The menu was very limited and the food itself not very inspiring. the plates were usually cold and the staff run off their feet. Would not want to repeat this experience again.

Room Tip: Room 125 on the ground floor was just by the main door and noisy with smokers standing about outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good clean hotel bar staff very good especially kierian went out of his way to serve us quickly . Grounds good and a nice relaxed surroundings .Recption staff very helpfull especially Maria and Fiona these girls will go out there way to find you a room even if hotel is fully booked as in searching other hotels for you all in all very good hotel will stay anytime I'm working in the area

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Worst hotel stay in my life, room was not cleaned from previous occupant,bedding, bath full of hairs, dried on extrement on wc bowl, with streaks on the outside. When asked for a different room I was told they will move me a one of their 'luxury rooms' in the manor house wing, only to be offered a dated, smelly and equally dirty room on top on the kitchen with loud generator noise. The bathroom has broken plastic bits everywhere including the jacuzzi bath fixtures, with masses or black mould and rot growing on tiles and showerhead. The soaps and gels provided were partially used and only 1 part used toiler roll supplied. The bed was very old with a solid hardboard base and legs taped back on with gaffa tape, mattrese thin and useless, spent the entire night either aching from the poor bed or kept awake from the noise outside and from neighbouring room, as walls are paper thin.
The hotel seem to have an at least 85% occupancy from older travellers and the whole set up and feel is of an old people's home. The stench coming from unclean carpets which is remiscent of a mixture of rotten cabbages, old fithy carpets and unwashed shoes is masked by the generous use of airfreshners. Walls seem to be randomly smeared with what appears like food, general dirt, grease and god knows what else.
Stayed for 2 nights and room was not cleaned the second day either, all they did was change the tiny towels. Was here on business trip - AVOID AT ALL COST, would have been better off sleeping in car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Girl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel celebrating a wedding there, the staff are hard working, couldn't do enough for you, you only had to ask, dori ce, amy,netesha, James and all the bar staff. Very handsome young men who served. Food and drinks, very polite, Also mark d/manager always had smile. We stopped in the old part of the hotel, o.k. Yes. It does need a lot money spending on it, bu t. What hotel in England doesn't need a face lift.? The grounds are fantastic, you could be any where in Europe. O.k. The sun did shine all the time, which is a big bonus, as we were able to sit outside. All in all for the value they charge it is a gOod hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for old building for the history of the place. If you want modern ask, and they will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkles92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked this with National Holidays. Have been on quite a few tours with them over the years so accept that most of their hotels are tired and need refurbishment. However - there is just no excuse for a dirty room . Toilet bowl all discoloured - could have done with a good dose of bleach.I removed bath mat from bath - underside was thick with black mould!!! Carpet covered in dust and hairs.Window nets dirty - I could go on and on.There is a pervading smell of foist and dampness in the old part of the hotel and toilet block there was disgusting. Just don't know how National can call this a luxury break.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seemed to be better furnished and cleaner -We were on the fourth floor.Maybe more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
527 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,433 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#18 of 39 in Coventry
399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $45 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing