We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Coventry
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel . We booked on the Internet and got a great week end deal, i wish we were always that lucky.The staff were extremely friendly and although seemed quite busy we found them to be efficient. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We didn't have time to eat dinner there but we managed to grab a quick lunch which was simple but tasty and well presented. Breakfast was fantastic. Full English and croissants!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illiberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments and feedback which i can share with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    208
    97
    47
    25
See reviews for
116
114
18
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great access to the M6. really close.
About ten minutes easy walk from the Ricoh arena, you are better off walking as the road system takes you out of your way.
The reception/bar area is very plush, as you walk to your room it's slightly outdated. But clean, and very comfortable. No complaints. Bar service a little on the slow side but very nice and friendly. Reception staff friendly and helpful.
No free wi-fi, but apparently this is due to be changed in the new year.
Nice gardens and children's play area.
Parking is £4.00 per stay, pay on departure.
I would happily stay here again. Bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments which i can share with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed over at this hotel with for a gig at the Ricoh arena as it is only a 10 minute walk there. When we arrived, the receptionist was friendly and checked us in - from there it only went downhill!

The room looked nothing like it did on the website and although it wasn't a terrible room as it was clean, it didn't look as thought they had tried with the decor at all! The toilet was shoddy and the bathroom got drenched when the shower was on.

Me & my partner then went down to the restaurant and ordered dinner at the bar. The barman was obviously not trained very well and it look 10 minutes for the barman to take our order and it wasn't complicated at all! We then sat down to the 4 table 'restaurant' and our table was shared with us by some left over rice that the staff hadn't bothered to wipe off.

We waited for over an hour for the food to come out and I really can't say it was worth it - overpriced and not great.

The only reason i'd stay there again was if I was seeing a gig and everywhere else nearby was booked!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback however i am disappointed to hear your issues.

All of our bedrooms were refurbished in the last 5 years and the pictures on our websites reflect that, The only differences being between a standard and superior room.

The restaurant was not open on Saturday night due to the nature of business in the hotel so i can only assume you used the bar area to dine which was extremely busy that night due to other events going on inside and outside of the hotel which may of caused a delay in the timings.

We appreciate your feedback and i will share this with the Food and Beverage Manager as this is not a true reflection on the hotels standards and if further staff training is needed then we will ensure this is done.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On visiting a nearby festival, we needed somewhere to lay our weary heads for a couple of nights, and due to a misunderstanding with a booking elsewhere, got transferred at the last minute to the Novotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found in a hotel and the whole place was spotless. The choices at breakfast were extensive and it was all really well prepared and cooked. On the down side, we found the bedroom too hot, even with the thermostat at its lowest setting and had to keep the window open the entire time even in driving rain and near gale force winds. Nevertheless, if we revisit the area, it is the hotel we would choose to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally and Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and comments i can share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

In over 25 years of staying in business type hotels, this has to be one of the worst experiences ever. Staff are clueless and whilst reluctantly serving you complain about their colleagues and management. I'd say it's ready for change of management.

There was however one ray of sunshine, a young waitress by the name of Ola, her colleagues and managers should take a look and see how it should be done!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback, However i am disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied.

The issues you have raised are concerning for myself regarding the discussion of staff and managers so i would like to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantes
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As part of my business trip decided to change from my usual hotel company, from arrival to departure nothing to fault. Smiling and welcoming staff on reception, clean and nice bedroom with a nice view over the garden. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on the night, well groomed service staff and so welcoming nothing was too much trouble for them considering that I can can be a funny eater. Well presented breakfast buffet and a very easy and slooth check out.
Would definatly use it again on my own and certainly recommmend it for business for the rest of my company.

Loved it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel49nantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that we have left a lasting impression on yourself and that all aspects of the hotel are to your liking as we pride ourselves on customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your company back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend as part of a coach trip to Stratford Upon Avon and Blenheim Palace. Overall, found the hotel to be very well organised and efficient. The room keys were ready for us on arrival. We were travelling as a party of seven, using two double and three single rooms. All our rooms were together on the second floor. They were pleasant, modern and with everything you could require for an overnight stay, ie, tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries, flat screen TV, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, etc. NB. All the rooms are exactly the same - you just pay the supplement for single occupancy. The hotel was very busy with several coach parties in and therefore the meal times were staggered. We were booked in for dinner at 8.00 pm, and unfortunately they were running a little late. However, this was not a problem as the extremely charming Restaurant Manager made a point of apologising and letting us know exactly what was happening and how long we would have to wait. He then organised a table for the seven of us to sit together. Service was extremely efficient and the staff were working extremely hard. The food was fine - perhaps a little wider selection would have been nice, but that is just a minor gripe. Breakfast was very good. Again, there are allocated time slots to accommodate all the coach parties, but everything seemed to be running like clockwork. If I had to be critical, it would be that the rooms were extremely warm. The air conditioning didn't seem to make too much difference. Overall, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

I will share your feedback with all our team as i am sure this will serve as an encouragement to all our staff going forward.

we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Property: Novotel Coventry
Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coventry
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing