We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if we pass this way again, we'll be back”
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Coventry
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On visiting a nearby festival, we needed somewhere to lay our weary heads for a couple of nights, and due to a misunderstanding with a booking elsewhere, got transferred at the last minute to the Novotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found in a hotel and the whole place was spotless. The choices at breakfast were extensive and it was all really well prepared and cooked. On the down side, we found the bedroom too hot, even with the thermostat at its lowest setting and had to keep the window open the entire time even in driving rain and near gale force winds. Nevertheless, if we revisit the area, it is the hotel we would choose to revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally and Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and comments i can share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 563 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

In over 25 years of staying in business type hotels, this has to be one of the worst experiences ever. Staff are clueless and whilst reluctantly serving you complain about their colleagues and management. I'd say it's ready for change of management.

There was however one ray of sunshine, a young waitress by the name of Ola, her colleagues and managers should take a look and see how it should be done!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback, However i am disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied.

The issues you have raised are concerning for myself regarding the discussion of staff and managers so i would like to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As part of my business trip decided to change from my usual hotel company, from arrival to departure nothing to fault. Smiling and welcoming staff on reception, clean and nice bedroom with a nice view over the garden. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on the night, well groomed service staff and so welcoming nothing was too much trouble for them considering that I can can be a funny eater. Well presented breakfast buffet and a very easy and slooth check out.
Would definatly use it again on my own and certainly recommmend it for business for the rest of my company.

Loved it

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel49nantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that we have left a lasting impression on yourself and that all aspects of the hotel are to your liking as we pride ourselves on customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your company back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend as part of a coach trip to Stratford Upon Avon and Blenheim Palace. Overall, found the hotel to be very well organised and efficient. The room keys were ready for us on arrival. We were travelling as a party of seven, using two double and three single rooms. All our rooms were together on the second floor. They were pleasant, modern and with everything you could require for an overnight stay, ie, tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries, flat screen TV, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, etc. NB. All the rooms are exactly the same - you just pay the supplement for single occupancy. The hotel was very busy with several coach parties in and therefore the meal times were staggered. We were booked in for dinner at 8.00 pm, and unfortunately they were running a little late. However, this was not a problem as the extremely charming Restaurant Manager made a point of apologising and letting us know exactly what was happening and how long we would have to wait. He then organised a table for the seven of us to sit together. Service was extremely efficient and the staff were working extremely hard. The food was fine - perhaps a little wider selection would have been nice, but that is just a minor gripe. Breakfast was very good. Again, there are allocated time slots to accommodate all the coach parties, but everything seemed to be running like clockwork. If I had to be critical, it would be that the rooms were extremely warm. The air conditioning didn't seem to make too much difference. Overall, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

I will share your feedback with all our team as i am sure this will serve as an encouragement to all our staff going forward.

we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

lovely hotel, lovely room & first hotel that actually provided 3 sets of everything with 3 in our party. the only gripe is we booked via late rooms & was offered breakfast at a reduced rate but as we didnt know what time we were meeting friends, we called the hotel to see if they would honour it and was told yes but on the day refused this so went to mcdys. not very happy. also, where on the website does it make it clear parking is charged? why i dont know as not close to anything.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatzNPaulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

I am happy to see that you were very satisfied with your accomodation and will be sharing your feedback with the team.
I am disappointed to hear you were refused breakfast so if you would like to contact me regarding this then please do so.
Car parking is clearly visable on all our booking sites and we make it a priority to ensure guests are aware of this at booking stage to avoid confusion at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of a National Holidays coach tour, going to a WWE show. We only stayed here one night but I was surprisingly impressed with how good the hotel was. Our room was clean and tidy, staff were all friendly and breakfast tasted great ( we didn't have dinner as we arrived late at night ). The only negative I can think of is that staff were a bit slow at breakfast.

If you are looking for a cheap hotel I would definitely recommend Novotel Coventry!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy-E-Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that you left with a positive impression of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night with family, in two rooms. Check in was quick, friendly and efficient. As there is nothing around the hotel. Would have been a 10 minute drive to nearest restaurant and shops, but as we didn’t know the area decided to eat in the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was well prepared.

The rooms were clean comfortable and well maintained. The 2 downsides: the TV system was a little confusing for my elderly parents to use and no free Wi-Fi. Even the internet access from the PC in the lobby as £1 for 20 minutes, not what I'm used to after staying with Accor hotels on the continent.

We had breakfast about 8.15, but was a little less organised than dinner the previous evening. It is a buffet style but obviously there had been a lot early dinners and many of the bread and pastry baskets and other selections were empty, and most were not filled during our stay despite asking for some croissants. The staff were friendly, but obviously not enough of them, or not well managed.

Overall a good stop over hotel and for what we paid good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.
I will share your comments with all the team regarding service and pass on your comments regarding breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
3.9 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coventry
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $70 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing