We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived at 16:00 after a long journey, all the kids wanted to do was go for a swim so after unpacking we headed down to the pool (16:40). However we were told at the entrance to the pool that children were not allowed in the pool after 16:30!!! Our young kids were literally in tears, and were subsequently a pain for the rest of the evening as had nothing else to do.
It's a nice hotel but seems to be facing an identity crisis, it can't make its mind up whether it is a nightclub, fitness club or hotel! I stayed at a De Vere in December for an Xmas party - it was perfect for that as we partied in the function room and then straight up stairs for bed. But for day to day B&B it wouldn't be a first choice, especially for families!
We upgraded to an upper-deck room, in general very nice but we were missing several items from the tea service and upon reporting this we were told there were no supplies left! Attention to detail on cleaning could be improved although acceptable.
Our over-riding feeling is that we have paid the same amount as other guests to use the facilities and as we were denied access to the pool just because we have kids surely we should pay less?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank West_Country_Rusty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Andy R,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with trip advisor following your recent stay with the family. We really do value the views and opinions of our guests as we constantly strive to make improvements to the levels of service and facilities on offer.

Whilst I was delighted to read that there were aspects you did enjoy please accept my apologies for the disappointment with the swim times, clearly something as a business we need to take a look at.

I hope that on future visits to the area wewill have the oppoortunity of welcoming you back but in the meantime.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,875 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited for an anniversary weekend and pleased we chose this hotel. Our room was clean, had flat screen tv, tea coffee making facilities, bed made daily, clean towels, beds firm but comfortable. Breakfast exceptionally good and hot, self service. Had Dinner on our second night, surprised not more of a choice on the menu but what we chose was very tasty, plentiful and enjoyable. Reception staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Had a massage on Friday which was so relaxing and enjoyable. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary on returning to our room on Saturday were greeted with a surprise, a beautiful anniverary card and balloons - what a wonderful gesture. Exceptionally large car park. Only downside of this hotel is the pool and spa facilities. The pool belongs to a fitness club and unfortunately early Friday afternoon when we wished to use the pool there was a swimming lesson being held for young children and young children were inn the jacuzzi. Not really what you want - spa facilities are for relaxing not trying to avoid splashing and noisey children. Do realize that these facilities help towards running costs but ............

Room Tip: We were in room 233 - exceptionally quiet. Looked out onto a brick wall but as long as quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Pam 1948,

Really delighted to have received the review you shared with trip adviser following your recent stay at the hotel, pleased that we were able to contribute towards making your weekend extra special.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting in the area.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Room faced a corrugated warehouse not a good start.. Standard room, room ok everything was clean and tidy. Good size tele , ironing board, hairdryer, etc. ok for a business trip would not stay with my family. food basic with not much choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Lisa C,

Many Thanks for the review you shared with trip advisor following your recent stay, we really do value the feedback we receive and whilst pleased that you found the rooms to be acceptable we clearly have work to do in other areas.

Next time you are with us perhaps check out one of our Upper Deck rooms and with the changes we are making to our food and beverage offer i am sure that your stay will be much more comfortable.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Booked in for a one night stay to attend a school reunion elsewhere in city centre. That's the first good thing - easy walking distance of city centre - approx 15 mins. We stayed in the Upper Deck part of the hotel and had a large very stylish room which was very clean, as was the bathroom. The pool downstairs was nice and warm and not too overcrowded despite it being a Saturday afternoon. My wife was interested in the spa treatments but hadn't pre-booked and they were fully booked - so take note. There was a wedding reception taking place in the hotel but despite this the hotel room was still nice and quiet. Staff at reception, the bars and in the breakfast room were pleasant and professional if not overly friendly. Room service food was good but my wife felt the choice was limited. Good to have a large number of Sky channels in the bedroom. Overall, would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Upper Deck room - these are more recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stylesr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Styles1,

Delighted to have received the review posted on trip advisor following your recent stay at the hotel, guest feedback is vital and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your view.

We hope that the next time you are visitng the area we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice, basic hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. The highlight for me was the leisure centre. The gym was large enough and well equipped. The pool was a decent size, the sauna and steam rooms were good and it all seemed quite clean and well maintained. It was wonderful to relax there after a long day in stuffy meeting rooms!
The staff were ok - no complaints but nobody special either. The food wasn't great, but I am horribly picky so only places that have a large selection seem to please me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissnuisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Littlemissnuisance,

Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review of the hotel with trip advisor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the leisure centre in particular and i hope that on future visits to the area business or pleasure we will have the opportunity of welcoming you bck.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Tiny room, no air con. £2.50 credit card policy is poor. Was not made aware of this until I went pay. Receptionist pointed at a tiny card on the counter and said it was in ts and cs I signed night before, now that's service. Whoever writes the copy for food menu is fantastic but the food itself is very average and very small portions. Not a cheap option and not a great one. Rather go economy and eat out than stay in one of these places again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Andy H,

Many Thanks for the feedback provided following your stay last month, obviously disappointed that all was not to your liking however the feedback is valuable and as a business we react accordingly. Currently the type and style of menus are being addressed along with heightened levels of quality and preparation and I would be confident that we will see change.
My apologies that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations .

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

didn't stay here but the food & drinks were served with a smile & the swimming pool is apx 25m so really good, hop on the bus outside to take you into Coventry city centre which is just 10 min bus ride away, nice place for lunch or dinner,will visit again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Petervcoventry,

Delighetd to have recveived your review on trip advisor following your recent visit, really appreciate the time taken to share provide the valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again v.soon

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,009 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $51 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing