We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Brighton , East Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overall Good Stay”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well lets start on the positives, plenty of free ample parking on site, great leisure facilities, pool , steam room, very very clean. I had a meal in the bar, very reasonable £8.95 for shepherds pie, and very nice.

Bedroom was good size, but I had a room with an adjoining room you could access, problem was you could hear the tv from the next room, person talking, and shower/bath going on and off. Would have requested another room but after hours travelling, just wanted to get my head down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that in the main your stay was good but was disappointed to hear that you experienced noise from another room. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and I hope that this will not deter you from visiting again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    671
    403
    160
    106
See reviews for
362
633
97
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked this hotel very early and got a great price. It is easy to find on the outskirts of the city. Rooms are a good size and very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good with a varied menu. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and kept topped up with hot food. There is a lot to see in the surrounding area including the National Arboretum, Coventry Cathedral, an excellent motor museum as well as a motor cycle museum. Warwick, Royal Leamington Spa and Stratford upon Avon are also close at hand.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Andrew R
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of your time by visiting some of the fantastic attractions in the area. Thank you for your kind review.
We regularly monitor this site for feedback and I will ensure to share your comments with the team.
Kind regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is easy to find and relatively close to Birmingham Airport. It has a large car park and is situated in a commercial zone making it close to Food and retail outlets, Sainsburys, Pizza hut KFC etc etc. The hotel is quite spacious and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. It has great facilities in the basement area i.e. large well equipped gym and Large Proper swimming pool with full Spa/Steam room/Sauna/Cold Spa/relaxation area. As the facilities are so good, it is always well occupied so choosing an off peak time is helpful. The bar area is nice with friendly staff although I found the prices a bit over the odds. A speciality is flatbreads, basically like a long narrow thin crispy pizza base with toppings. The restaurant however was very disappointing. My colleague paid £23 for a 250grm Steak Diane, which arrived almost rare dispite medium to well done being requested, on return it was liitle better moving towards medium. It was served with a grilled half tomato on top which was a cremated large upturned mushroom with a very curious unpeeled garlic clove in the middle of it. For that money I would have expected MUCH better!. My roast free range chicken and garlic creamed potatoes at £12 faired little better. The chicken breast supplied looked more like a pigeon breast going by the size of it. It was overcooked and chewy, and was on top of a small mound of creamed potatoes, oddly enough like the steak the garlic addition to the potatoes was 2 whole unpeeled garlic cloves pushed into the potatoes....weird. This was surrounded by a sea of gravy. Needless to say it was gone in a very few minutes and I went to bed that night fairly empty. Breakfast was in keeping with the night before. Although most of the cooked/cold breakfast was fine, the experience was spoilt by not pleasant coffee that was stale and not very warm....perhaps this is why there is a Starbucks in the foyer?

In summary, a nice hotel friendly staff, great facilities, but eat elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hncsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Hncsys
Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel but am disappointed to hear your comments about dinner and coffee at breakfast. We regularly evaluate feedback from Tripadvisor to ensure we react to any negativity and your comments will be passed to the relevant department heads to action for future guests.
Thank you once again
Kindest Regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed on a groupon deal which was bed breakfast and evening meal. which was excellent value, the 3 course evening meal was very good, and the breakfast buffet also very good, we didnt use the facilities ie swimming pool as there were too many children around Ample free parking included.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room top floor then there isnt any noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you thought that the dinner and breakfast was good and you considered it good value. We evaluate all feedback to ensure we are delivering what our guests want when staying at the hotel. I note your comment regarding not using the pool because it was busy. Although we are a very busy facility with outside members we do have quieter times and indeed adult only times throughout the week where the swim is a bit more relaxed!
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon
KInd regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and bright, containing all mod cons. The bed was lovely and comfortable! Breakfast was excellent, lots of variety-something for everyone I'm sure. Staff were very helpful and refilled drinks quickly. Whilst staying we spent time in the pool and spa, both were lovely and very clean. I had a beautiful manicure! Dinner in the hotel pub was lovely, great menu selection and comfortable surroundings. I would definitely recommend a stay, we will be coming back again soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slumbersloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Traveller
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel following your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time and made full use of the facilities.
It is great to hear that you will be back and I look forward to welcoming you on your return
Kind regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for one evening while on business. The hotel is spacious, lively and staff friendly. However the whole place was very hot. I was in first floor room away at the back of the hotel which involved several minutes walk and two lift rides!.My room had two small windows, each one only opening about an inch. On a warm summers evening the room was stifling and I got very little sleep.

Room service was fast, efficient and friendly. Didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on food.

One small warning - hotel reception booked taxi for me but driver hadn't a clue where he was going, and didn't speak much English! A ten minute journey took over half an hour and then he had the cheek to try and charge me for the full journey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the hotel - quite a hike to the ones at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltzingmatilda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent stay. I note that in the main your stay was pleasant but take note of your comment about heat. Our rooms are not air conditioned and unfortunately our windows cannot be opened fully due to Health & safety requirements. However during the recent warm weather we have purchased fans for all rooms to make them more comfortable.
I hope that this will not deter you from staying again and look forward to being able to welcome you back.
Kind regards

Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Upon our arrival, staff were friendly and helped us to our room. Our room is spotlessly clean, spacious and decorated in a modern style. The towels were fluffy, beds were super comfortable (I suffer from a bad back) and coffee and tea provided. The hotel has a lovely restaurant/pub that has excellent offers (we had an offer available for rose wine). The food was delicious and well priced- gastro pub style. The staff in the pub were all very friendly and helpful- extremely attentive!

Breakfast was a buffet style- usual hot breakfast. Cereals, pastries, fruit offered as well. The staff were lovely! Breakfast was really tasty and I was surprised at how nice the food was (often buffet style food is dry and overlooked). We didn't have any problems with the breakfast we ate over two days.

While at the hotel we were treated to a spa treatment- the spa was peaceful, calming and very relaxing! The therapists were all very attentive and nothing was too much for them! We were very well looked after, and I had a beautiful manicure. The swimming area is meticulously clean and spacious changing areas. Swimming pool was warm and there were 3 jacuzzi areas with a steam room, and sauna. Bliss! Nice that the hotel offers specific times for children to swim- and this is nice if you want a quiet relaxed swim. Shower areas were clean and equipped with shower gels (which are often empty in most hotels!)

The hotel itself is situated in an excellent area for those who would like to be away from the noise and bustle of a busy city, but close enough to be a 5/10 minute drive to shops and the city centre. Parking is plenty and there is outside space to sit with a coffee or glass of wine, which we did as the weather was lovely.

The hotel also offers a Starbucks cafe inside. As most chains go, I love Starbucks, but the staff can be a bit rushed. Staff here at The Village Starbucks were helpful and friendly!

If you want an affordable break with excellent facilities, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms this is it! I cannot recommend this hotel more!
5star!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sunburn99
Thank you for your kind and informative review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that the detail provided by you the facilities and service provided will show future guests what we strive to achieve.
Thank you once again
Regards
Damian Goom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing