We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedsit and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have stayed in the Village Hotel Warrington which was excellent and good value for money however Village Coventry was absolutely terrible. DO NOT STAY HERE. I booked a reduced room price deal for 2 nights and paid in advance with a premium for upgrade to deluxe. . The room I was given was an absolute joke. The room was small with one small window looking out (LOL) on to a factory wall. The room was absolutelt filthy and it appeared that most of the fittings were way passed there effective life. the toilet bowl rim was encrusted with what can only be described as brown gunge, the tiling grout was filled with black mould, there were footprints (yes really) on the walls and there were cobwebs and marks over all the walls. despite the website indicating that the rooms are comfort cooled we were supplied with one small filthy and broken desk fan. The kettle was covered in dirty prints. The desk chair was covered in nasty looking stains and I would hate to imagine how they got there. I have stayed in many hotels in many price bands but I have never seen such poor quality accomodation at any price, even £9 a night in blackpool was cleaner and better furnished! I refused to stay but because we had prepaid it took me 4 days to get my money back. I went to Coombe Abbey instead in Coventry and got the same room rate for a wonderful 4 star stay. De Vere you must be joking - close this tip down.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastflashpassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that it took 4 days for us to catch up with each other so that I could hear your feedback and offer you a full refund following your stay.
I am very sorry that your experience here was not a good one, this is not indicative of the standards that I wish to achieve after 4 weeks as Manager here and neither of the standards expected of a Village Hotel. As mentioned I have implemented a full walk around of every one of the 146 bedrooms and faults such as the ones you have found are currently being rectified. This hotel is an extremely busy one and the issues mentioned by yourself are certainly the exception and not the norm.
I hope that your experience here will not put you off of staying at another Village in the future
Kindest regards
Damian Goom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,481 - 2,487 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here on Saturday the 3rd of Sept, thankfully just for the one night. We were advised by Reception that it was a walk to the room but it was a quieter part of the hotel. Quieter it may have been but cleaner, it wasn't.
The room had a decidedly shabby feel to it and didn't smell very fresh, the carpet was stained, the walls scuffed and the grouting in the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. The breakfast the following morning was dreadful, a buffet where they managed in bringing out cold, supposed hot food. The tables in the much priased Verve grill were sticky from the previous nights alchohol and goodness knows what else and the chairs were absolutely filthy and stained.
I shall not be returning and certainly will never reccomend anyone else to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingernoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in a family room which was very clean and comfortable. Leisure facilities were really good, children are only allowed in the pool at certain times which is a good idea all round. Staff in the pool area were excellent and very friendly. Ate in the restaurant on the first night which was great value for money (2 and 3 course deals before 7). Buffet breakfast was very good. There is a starbucks and also a bar. Great location for visiting the surrounding area. The only down side was we were in a room next to the staff room but our child gets up early anyway so being woken up at 7.15 is the norm. Would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaalfie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed for a weekend with my family. The pool was excellent very clean and my little girl had so much fun in the bubble pool. Food was fresh and tasty. Staff friendly, room comfortable and modern. What more could you want from a relaxing weekend away. Will be returning. Thanks! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. Really glad that you and your family enjoyed your time and I hope to welcome you back to the Village soon
Kindest Regards
Damian Goom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have been staying here for six months now. I am working in Coventry until April 2012 and you will not find me staying anywhere else. I work as a freelance IT Consultant so have to sqeeze value and quality from my booking. I have both here! I have stayed at all of the hotels in Coventry spanning the last ten years with The Village being the only one I will return to.
The staff here are fantastic, from the reception to the cleaners. Worthy of seperate mention is the Verve. The food is great quality and comes in a variety to suit most tastes. And again the staff are fantastic. I would not recommend anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. At the hotel we constantly monitor the comments made on Tripadvisor to help us to improve our service and facilities to our guests. I will certainly ensure the team here see your comments.
Thank you once again and here's to another 6 months.
Kind regards
Damian Goom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just got back from fantastic break recharging batteries at Village Coventry.

Check in was great and completely hassle free with any queries answered promptly and knowledgably thanks to Richard Hambridge.

The room was if anything too comfortable, the beds and matresses are top of the range and unusually for hotels so are the pillows! Trouble is beds so comfortable would have been quite happy to sleep the whole break! Room lovely and clean - no problems at all.

As with majority of hotels nowadays only comment is shoratge of drinks sachets for the tea/coffee making in room. Hotel quite willing to speedily provide extra if requested. We always take a few extra when travelling in any case.

We had requested a quiet room and that is exactly what we got, though I do think the problem concurrent in all hotels has to be the serial door slammer who thinks they have hired a whole floor at a hotel with no consideration for other guests. We were lucky to have considerate other guests on this occasion though.

Found the staff - all the staff even the young ones quite early at both breakfast times, to be polite, helpful, courteous and pleasant and the breakfasts have lots of choice from fresh fruit to full english. The toast machines mean that you have fresh toast instead of the obligatory keep warm cardboard! Pop your toast in go and get your breakfast and toast is done on your return - couldnt be easier.

Chose to eat evening meal in Victory pub, good choice and reasonable price and the young bar lad who waited on us couldnt have been more helpful, including seeing if and when we needed any drinks to save tripping to the bar during our meal.

Overall a brilliant hotel experience - came back home refreshed, relaxed and wishing we had stopped much longer if commitments had allowed.

Well done management and staff for the excellent team work that made this stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review. After three weeks at the hotel it is good to hear that the improvements we are trying to make are starting to show.

I know what you mean about the beds, I am quite often tempted to 'borrow' one for home!

I will be sure to pass on your comments and look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Kind Regards

Damian Goom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The room, 238, was okay but the bathroom was in need of repair. The floor tiles were all cracked with one of them loose and the grouting was missing. reported it to reception and they said that they would send a handyman, who to our knowledge did not appear!

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and although the steak was undercooked on the first occasion, the food was good and the manager who dealt with the undercooked steak was excellent . The breakfast was good with a range of alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSK998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Traveller
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and I am please you have said that you will return.
One of my first jobs when starting here 3 weeks ago was to survey every room in the building. This identified a number of problems with bathroom floors that needed regrouting and tiles that needed replacing. These have been started this week and should be complete by the end of next week. My apologies that this hadn't been carried out sooner.
With regards to your kind comments regarding the Restaurant Manager and breakfast, I will be sure to pass these on.
Thank you for your constructive feedback
Kind Regards
Damian Goom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,149 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $57 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing