We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid taking your family here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid taking your family here”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here for a night before going to an NEC event. Booked as the hotel has a swimming pool. Arrived at 7pm, swimming pool closed to under 16s from 5pm- but they're happy to charge full price to over 12s to stay in the hotel. Staff not really interested in listening. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    692
    416
    161
    107
See reviews for
379
654
100
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Poor facilities, not clean and after an very disapointing stay they then overcharged us. We faced rude and abusive management when we tried to resolve the mater which only made the experience worse.

I certianly will be avoiding the place in the future. I was particularly disapointed as a colleague recomended the venue having used it a few years ago. I guess as employees and managers change, the service does too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The pool, gym, fitness classes and instructors are really good here, and the environment is clean, well presented and fit for purpose. But be sure to check and double check all of your needs and conditions of membership at this hotels fitness club, as sales are facilitated and processed by ill informed staff. Queries and difficulties arise from the poor knowledge and customer service skills of frontline staff, which have been observed routinely. The defensive corporate approach of management does nothing to temper this negative experience. All in all the attitude here takes the leisure out of using the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just back after the weekend and cannot believe how much has changed at the village since my last visit. There was no toiletries in my room, streaky towels and a contempt for guests.
Prices have also changed with a 1.75 charge on the ATM and do not attempt to try a get a drink after 12 at the bar, resident or not.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with some really nice non greasy fare but when I stopped a member of staff entering my room at 11.45am, he told me I should have been gone at 12?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicuruean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as I was working at the NEC as part of an exhibition. Only a 15 minute drive to the NEC and was very simple to get to.

The reception had recently been decorated and looked rather good - also of note the hotel has its own official Starbucks! Don't see that very often, if at all, in the UK!

The check-in reception wasn't particularly welcoming or friendly and saw it more of a chore to check us in, it felt like.

The room I stayed in was a twin, sharing with another colleague. The room was OK, fairly modernly decorated, however the bathroom was in need of modernising. Very dated tiles, but I did like the wall mounted Carex hand wash and shower gel. For some reason the hotel had the habit of hiding the spare towels in the bottom draw in the bedroom under the television???!

The wall mounted light, that was directly above my head over my bed had no bulb in it at all! There was also a rather strange stain on the carpet too. Don't think I want to go to close to it!

I ate in the hotel bar (Victory Bar) for 2 nights. The menu was simple and looked tasty with good prices, BUT... on both nights we had to wait over an hour for our meals! This was completely unacceptable and considering they were only serving basic meals, i.e. Scampi & Chips, Pizza's etc. The bar was not overly busy but I still felt an hour was a massive let down. The food was mediocre, nothing to write home about. On the second night there were a group in the bar who were very loud and were continuously swearing. This made our group very uncomfortable and the hotel did not seem to do much about it until we had to make a point of complaining at the hotel reception.

The hotel did have a beautiful and extensive leisure club attached to the hotel. It boasts a full 25m pool, steam room, sauna etc. Well maintained and really nice, except it is obviously very popular with the local residents as it was particularly busy in the evenings. Space in the steam room was at a premium!

Breakfast at the hotel consisted of a buffet style breakfast. Basic choice and perfectly edible, again nothing outstanding but not disappointing.

Another plus was free, unlimited WI-FI throughout the entire hotel and rooms. Very impressed considering other hotels charge the earth for this. OTHER HOTELS TAKE NOTE... it can be done, you don't always have to charge on the sly!!!!

To summarise, I would recommend staying at the hotel, just bear in mind that its exterior and reception do not necessary reflect the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Jonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Reception area is decieving as it is appears to be newly decorated and has good amenities..restaurant, bar, coffee bar & gym..however my room was a different story. extremely basic and dated. Carpets and Furniture were grubby with lots of stains?? Dispenser for shower gel was empty.. which I didn't discover obviously until I was in the shower, before heading to a meeting!!! I stayed in the Village hotel in Shirley, Solihull the previous week... this was really nice, very modern and clean... defintely a better choice. Its hard to believe they are the same chain. There was only half a star between them... I don't think this was an accurate rating.. The Village hotel in Coventry was more 2 *

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva74_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting NEC, booked superior room. Not quite sure what was superior about it, the room was a decent size but no added extras like bath robes or toiletries. A long wait at reception to book in and met by surly staff with no knowledge of the services provided. Breakfast was decent. Grumpy staff at leisure facility too. Huge pool, good sauna, stream room not working. Handy to walk to canley station with trains to NEC every 15 mins.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwRuralScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
542 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing