We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous 2 nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocked Hat

Cocked Hat
Ranked #405 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This place is at the moment on your system as a hotel,however I eat here on a regular bases in the restaurant and I have to say the food is excellent,especially the steak !!
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous 2 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great pub/ restaurant, with very pleasant staff, especially the young girl called Letitia (I think), what a lovely friendly girl, with an AMAZING singing voice, a true credit to the place, we stayed opposite at the premier inn, a party of 50 of us and we used the pub, restaurant and outside seating area over the bank holiday, great place, would definitely return ;-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank roffey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    63
    60
    52
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited here as a family of age from the age of 6 to 85. We waited approx an hour betweenn our starters and main meals arriving and when they came my parents food was cold and had to be sent back. Although they replaced them with new meals the order was incorrect as they gave them garden peas and not mushy as requested. The rest of the meals vari3ed in heat.
The staff were very pleasant and apologised but did not offer a reduction in the bill.
We will not be going again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cupcake130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Bland food, good prices mixed atmosphere. Pub food, ok quality would go if no where else was available

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellsbells23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“ok for cheap and cheerful but have had quite a few problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I live 5 minutes from the cocked hat so its ideal for a meal out, my husband and i how ever had a few problems on several occasions, we vistied with family for his birthday in November and waited 1hr 30 min for food, i also went for luch with my mother in law and we did the lunch club where you get a main course and a dessert, we ordered and couldn't believe it when 10 minutes later the waiter brought out dessert when we hadn't even had our main. they apologised and sorted it out but our main course hadn't even been prepared, I visited here again and they gave mine and my husbands meal to another table because by coincidence we had ordered the same meals, i wouldn't have minded but they arrived 20 min after us and left before the mistake was realised and we had our food, this all happened at the end of last year and we were extremley concerned as we had put a deposit down for christmas day and were seriously considering forfeiting it, but we went with our family and it was a pleasent surprise, the food was lovely the service was excellent and there were no problems, so yes they are capable of it if they put their mind to it,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmyloo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“annoyed!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really annoying when you have to wait 20mins in the queue to wait 40 mins for dinner to come out when two tills were available and 1 member of staff on. Went back up to order dessert and once again had to wait 20 mins to be served. Really should put two people on the food till when the queue is long. Won't be going again on a Bank Holiday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocked Hat also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Cocked Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing