We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Coventry”
Review of Cafe Italia

Cafe Italia
Ranked #36 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Coventry”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have visited this Cafe on many occasions and I can honestly say the food is excellent, the service is brilliant and the coffee is better than any other major coffee house chains. The staff are always accommodating to our needs, at times we have grandchildren with us and room is made to take in a pushchair. They have an extensive menu that caters for all types, and children meals are just brilliant home made taste. I cannot praise this cafe enough, if your in Coventry ever... pop into the Cafe on Trinity Street, near to Sainsury's in the town centre, you'll never be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    34
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst experience in a italian cafe so far.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very poor customer service, staff don`t speak well english and barely understand the meaning of words, owner was even rude and couldnt take complaints in regards to the terrible food that they cooked. One of the waitress was trying to talk me out of buying soup explaining me they are closing in one hour and i need to finish. Really terrible food overall as well as attitude and customer service. Wouldnt go back there again.
Shame for the nice decoration and aspect of the cafe.Hope this will help other people in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyCoventry, Owner at Cafe Italia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sandra

Thank you for taking the time to review the business, I am sorry to hear that it was not to your liking. We usually do receive very positive feedback with regards to the customer service and especially the standard of food.

With regards to the first point the staff serving you on that particular day were english and did remark to me that they had difficulty understanding your order requests.

With regards to the complaints of the standard of food, i am always open to criticism and aim to amend anything to the customers taste. However in order for me to assist in resolving complaints I need to know exactly what is wrong with the food. It is not of help for someone to complain about every single item on the dish to the extent of the size of the chips by just saying that they dont like it and dont know why. I would also like to point out that in my experience if the customer does not like any of the food they do not eat it all, they normally send it back to the kitchen for me to change to their liking so they can then eat it.

With regards to the comment regarding the soup, when entering the restaurant at closing time the waitress clearly said that we were closing soon but could accommodate most requests despite the kitchen closing. I think this was a simple misunderstanding between yourself and the waitress.

I hope the above helped to clear up any issues with regards to your recent experience. The business has a very good reputation for food standards and customer service and we hope that you will revisit to enjoy this.

Kind regards
Cafe Italia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An easy, comfortable dining experience with friendly staff :)”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Myself and a friend dined here today around 3pm, it was neither heaving with customers nor desolate, but nicely filled out. Not very noisy, just the radio playing in the background, and i could easily talk to my friend without raising my voice. Staff are easy going, let you order and eat at your own pace which i loved. We had homous with pitta and also garlic bread (4 good size pieces) for starters. Then for mains i had the arrabiatta pasta (spicy tomato, herb and chicken), which was rich, flavoursome and hot as per request and my friend had a veg panini that she enjoyed. For desert we shared the 3 scoop icecream option, which to our surprise came in a large sundae glass, topped with some crispy wafers. The chocolate icecream in particular was delicious and had broken pieces of rich chocolate mixed in. Cranberry juice was fine, my friends tropical smoothie was nice. Bill only came to about £23 for the two of us, considering the large portions. Overall, very happy, will be dining here alot more :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty food and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Returned after a visit a few Months ago. The place was really busy and when I taste the delicious food I understood why.
Very fast service, polite friendly staff and a variety of dishes on the well priced menu.

A little gem

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really good value for money, visited a few times and always busy. Food excellent, for an early morning snack their teacakes are scrummy

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Italia also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Cafe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing