We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuesday evening visit”
Review of Millsy's Cafe Bar

Millsy's Cafe Bar
Ranked #113 of 577 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tuesday evening visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice to find a place which was lively with great food on a rainy Tuesday evening, Service was friendly and the food was excellent. Will visit again when in Cov

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    95
    42
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, pricey”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Been here on 2 occasions, the first we thoroughly enjoyed it. The second couldn't live up to the first time so we were a little dissapointed. I would recommend the honey and chorizo it's delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful but sometimes a little distracted as obviously all young (poss students)and wish to chat to one another. My husband had the black and blue burger- pretty good. Meals presented well but do come at a cost. Would recommend for a larger party of people or someone who wants something no frills but doesn't mind price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseandRobdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A really chilled place to eat with friends”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You can eat what you like loads of selection and good value for money. Pizza's are home made and delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Overpriced serice without the smile or courtesy.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have eaten here a few times for breakfast and the service has always been a little touch and go. But despite this we decided to give lunch ago. The place was busy and we only just managed to get a table, despite this the table was cleaned up quickly by one of the waitresses. Shortly after a different waitress asked to take our drinks order - we said we were ready to order food but she remarked she would take the drinks order and then return. This we couldn't understand but didn't think anything of.

The delay in her returning to take our food order was unexpectedly long. We ordered a plate of olives to share and then three mains. After 20 min our drinks were plonked on the table without a word, after another 20 min there was no sign of olives or food and no eyecontact from the staff around so I had to get up and ask where the food was. A member of staff said they would find out and headed towards the kitchen, I watched them return from the kitchen and mill about for a further few minutes before coming over and saying there had been a mistake and the olives were on the way and the drinks would be on the house, (By which point our drinks were long gone) yet she didn't hang aroused long enough to ask us if we wanted more. Another 10 minutes passed before a small bowl of olives was dumped on the table, again done in such a rush there was no time to order drinks or point out they had only provided 2 olive sticks when there where three of us.
Another 25 min till the food came out. Still no service with a smile, food rushed out in-front of us and we AGAIN did not have time to ask for further drinks, which is just as well as I suppose we would still be waiting there now. The quality of the food was ok, not exacatly worth the wait and pretty much a similar quality to what you could expect from the weatherspoons accross the way with a much steeper pricetag.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firefairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“good for early evening food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Value the early bird menu before 7 pm. Modern decor, very good service, nice touches on food : typical Bistro food. Gets packed out later on and the centre of Earlsdon nightlife as there is a bar downstairs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alan b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millsy's Cafe Bar also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Millsy's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing