We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in NE Coventry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bengal Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bengal Spice
Ranked #383 of 570 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in NE Coventry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice food, always great quality with plenty of good meat. Only thing they could improve is to have lime pickle & chilli added to the poppadoms chutneys

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsShears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    7
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food, reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a great find under a rather unassuming office block. The food was great, spiced just right and plenty of it. The naan bread melted in your mouth. Only one negative: very limited dessert choices.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank WelshMedic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Looks Uninviting but very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Lagered up to a certain degree and stranded in a hotel miles from civilisation, some friends and I jumped into a taxi and asked him to take us to a decent curry house.....we drove for what seemed like an eternity until we arrived at Coventry and this little curry house. It was recommended by the taxi driver but looked ...well ....to be honest...a bit of a dump........Faced with no alternative, we went in. The decor is dated and fading, but the staff were friendly and attentive. We had starters and mains...all freshly cooked and good quality.....and a couple of lagers (which we probably didn't need) came to just short of £20............If I'm ever unfortunate to end up in Coventry again...I would certainly pay this place another visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumpingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Excellent service - food was lovely and tasty. More importantly there was plenty of it. Some restaurants skimp on the meat but not here. Plenty of sauce and meat to go with the rice and naan bread and side dishes we ordered. I really can't fault this lovely little restaurant.

The toilet door looks a little run down but inside it smells amazing and is totally clean with plenty of toilet roll! Always a bonus in my book.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went there on Saturday night around 9:00pm - only a handful of people in the place and 4 waiters. Still had to request...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

Went there on Saturday night around 9:00pm - only a handful of people in the place and 4 waiters. Still had to request they took our food order and had to ask for drinks twice as they didn't arrive first time!
To balance this though, the quality of food was excellent and good value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dunny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Spice also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing