We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Grub”
Review of The Open Arms

The Open Arms
Ranked #209 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited The Open Arms last week with my wife and two young children. We were greeted with a very welcoming "good afternoon" from the barmaid, the pub looked very clean and tidy. Noticing we had a young child one member of staff brought over a high chair without us having to ask for it.

The food was reasonably priced and was very tasty.

I would recommend this pub to my friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbyfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    26
    21
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good in an emergency”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday at 9pm desperate for something to eat. Although they were sold out of Sunday lunches, they managed to rustle up something pretty decent and reasonably priced. The beer was good too. The service was with a smile, which is amazing for Coventry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaRa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst pub in coventry”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friends and I visited the pub on a Saturday it was noisy ask for music to be turn down but was told it was company policy to attract young people in so no can do. Tables were sticky staff were rude in the end did not eat because to dirty and did not like what we saw. Won't be going there in a hurry again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Milkyfloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“awful place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On the way in there were outside tables which still had food on them. Inside, we were greeted with the woman behind the bar's back, eating crisps, with a bar full of glasses. She began to serve us, whilst talking to some drunk local (he was clearly staggering, and saying he was in there every day) Not once did she say 'please' or 'thank you'. All downhill. The place was full of pi$$ heads at 5pm, staff were rude, and everything I touched was sticky, and it smelt bad. Avoid. Trust me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anney-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pub with a lot of potential”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to Open Arms recently mainly to eat. I was a little concerned after reading other ratings however we really enjoyed our meals. The service was good and the food was cooked just as we required. I believe this pub has suffered over recent times from the parent company not supporting it correctly. The pub has has usually had strong management but lately the owners have not taken actions to run a good pub correctly. This means introducing an experienced manager and giving time for the manager to impose his/hers style. The current manager has taken over a pub in decline through no fault of his own and he needs better support to turn the pub around and make it what it was previously: a good local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open Arms also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Open Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing