We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its improving”
Review of The Open Arms

The Open Arms
Ranked #211 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
coventry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“its improving”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

all the poeple on here that are giving the new managers hassle about the pub should remember just what is was like this time last year........ the new managers are not sheila and are not trying to be but what they have done is get rid of the crap and rough people and try there best to turn the pub into a nice community environment. maybe POOJA you should try talking to them about how hard it is been and you may appreciate what they have done......


give them a chance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodpubeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    26
    21
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for the last 25 years plus but this place has gone downhill with the staff the service and worst of all the smell and hygiene in the toilets really terrible worst than some 3rd world countries.
The new manager never ever smiles and is not bothered how long you have been a loyal client typical no management skills.
Pity have to travel a bit further to the burnt post same brewery but way much different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pooja02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An average Ember inn outpost...”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's difficult to evaluate pubs for what they are when you are used to their sister venues around the area. The Open arms is definitely a neighbourhood pub, in that it is located in a residential area, with a decent access to main roads. It has ample parking and a nice beer garden for summer evenings. The interior looks like any other Ember inn, which is not a bad thing, even though when it gets busy, there is not a lot of space to move around tables and chairs and even the bar.

My rating is average really because of the food. Our burgers were overcooked, the fries - in small amount - were not cooked well. There used to be a barbecue sauce provided with the dishes which did not come. The nachos were partially burnt and the cheese on top scarce. Finally, one of the desserts ordered was actually not available, so the staff at the last minute came to me to see if I would swap for something else. Finally, the prices are above average and hardly justifiable...

A point raised by other people is the understaffing. It was a Saturday around lunchtime, yet it was fairly busy but there were two people in the room, one staying behind the bar... The bathrooms were clean.

Honestly, I was expecting more from this venue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I popped into the open arms with my five year old daughter for a quick pub lunch. The pub was clean and tidywith a nice open fire. I had a burger and chips and my daughter had a kids chicken and chips. The food was well cooked and ready in good time. I found the staff to be friendly.

In short I got exactly what I want from a pub serving food - good meals at a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishnotWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Terrible food. Most GCSE food tech pupils could do a better job. Such a shame as this ember inn once did great food. The understaffing of the bar is almost as annoying as the awful food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open Arms also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Open Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing