We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Day at Blue Bistro”
Review of Blue Bistro - CLOSED

Blue Bistro
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: At the Blue Bistro restaurant we offer a fabulous menu featuring modern British cuisine with a Mediterranean twist, based upon great, preferably local, seasonal ingredients, ethically sourced and cooked with passion. Despite the quality of our food, it is still possible to lunch at Blue for a fiver. Awards include the Warwickshire & Worcestershire Life Food & Drink Newcomer of the Year 2012 and an OpenTable Diners Award as one of the top ten most romantic restaurants in the UK and Ireland. The dining area at Blue covers two floors of a beautiful medieval building dating back to 1450, the exposed beams of which are complemented by striking wooden furniture to create an elegant ambiance and a unique dining experience. The building was formerly a pub called the Green Dragon - reputedly the model for the inn featured in George Eliot's Middlemarch.The restaurant is situated on the historic Spon Street, in Coventry City Centre, an easy walk from the Belgrade Theatre, the Skydome and its Odeon cinema, Ikea and, of course, Coventry Cathedral.We have good disabled facilities, but if you have mobility issues please let us know to ensure that your table is not upstairs!Unlike many restaurants, we are happy to welcome children.
Guethary
2 reviews
“Great Wedding Day at Blue Bistro”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had our Wedding Lunch at Blue Bistro on 5th January 2012. We were really happy with the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff and the magical atmosphere of this medieval restaurant. Not only did they help us every step of the way with the wedding lunch plans but were lovely on the day and as it was a quiet day, let us carry on using the upstairs into the evening. The room upstairs is beautiful and I am not exaggerating when I say it is the ideal venue for a post wedding meal or other event.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabannanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    82
    53
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing wedding to remember!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

On Saturday 22nd December we held our wedding reception for 40 guests at Blue Bistro and can only describe the experience as 'totally magical'. From the original booking in July right through to the event, Blue have been phenomenal in their service and care. Sarah the head chef was so accomodating especially as we had guests with dietary needs. We had several very young children as guests and food was specially made to their specific order! Food was outstanding, hot, delicious and plenty of it...service was excellent, the atmosphere was romantic x 100, and every need was catered for, we only had to ask. They decorated the room to a very high standard with some beautiful table arrangements, and our guests were greeted and seated in such a warm and welcoming way. We provided our own music in the form of a cd chosen by our guests and Blue allowed this to take over the whole restaurant which was amazing....we also had live music by the fabulous Nigel Walton - recommended by Blue Bistro who in himself needs a first class review writing about him. He visited our home, discussed the song choice and even sang us down the aisle! You must consider this venue for a special day or event...we cannot recommend it enough...our wedding day will be a day to remember forever. Louise and Danny Wilson-Hall..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanLouCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Great Value for Money Not to be Missed!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

visited for first time as pre concert dinner. great decor and atmosphere and set menu was amazing... 3 COURSES AND LARGE GLASS HOUSE WINE FOR £19.95. Yes you heard right!! My hoisin and black sesame pork starter was very tasty ... a generous portion too. In fact all the starters sounded inviting. Mains again provided lots of choice and while mine (also pork!) was very appetising, I was a little jealous of my friends speck wrapped chicken breast supreme with black pepper mash, roasted vine tomatoes and garlic sauce! Again generous portions and puddings covered all bases from cheese and biscuits served on a huge oak board to cafe gourmand and chocolate brownie. The service was great and the owner even stated he would ensure the courses were served promptly once he knew we were on our way to a concert at the Ricoh.
I can't wait to return and would travel the 40 mile round trip to do just that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurakaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good job the food was good as service let it down”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited Blue on a busy Saturday night, the restaurant was more than pleasant, we sat upstairs where the larger tables were.

We was presented with the ala carte menu and when we asked for the festive menu that we been shown when booking it was like asking for something that didn't exist .

We was presented the wine list, when we asked for Malibu they hadn't got any, when we asked what Beers they had there was no list, nor did they know what was downstairs at the bar to a point our friends went down to look. (Print a simple list to have on hand?)

our starters arrived and they were well presented and hot, I opted for the baked Camembert, main course was salmon with bubble and squeak , fish cooked perfectly and a big portion that was great value. Desert for me was a cheeseboard of British cheeses, good cheese and nice quality oat cake and crackers. This food was genuinely good.

There were just so many little service issues that it just let bistro down, but we said we would go back and give it another go based on the food and perhaps ask to be seated down stairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday night atmosphere and music”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not been to Blue since June but saw they now have live music on Sunday nights; kitchen not open but I thought it would be a nice change for a drink. Had a fantastic time. Local band Low Profile were playing, the welcome by the staff was really friendly. The music was really good rock covers, the 40 or so customers were dancing by the end! What I planned as a quiet night and drink turned into a superb night with music, dancing and drinking! Great staff and great company; made to feel really at home. I will be back for another rocking Sunday!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing