We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good job the food was good as service let it down”
Review of Blue Bistro - CLOSED

Blue Bistro
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: At the Blue Bistro restaurant we offer a fabulous menu featuring modern British cuisine with a Mediterranean twist, based upon great, preferably local, seasonal ingredients, ethically sourced and cooked with passion. Despite the quality of our food, it is still possible to lunch at Blue for a fiver. Awards include the Warwickshire & Worcestershire Life Food & Drink Newcomer of the Year 2012 and an OpenTable Diners Award as one of the top ten most romantic restaurants in the UK and Ireland. The dining area at Blue covers two floors of a beautiful medieval building dating back to 1450, the exposed beams of which are complemented by striking wooden furniture to create an elegant ambiance and a unique dining experience. The building was formerly a pub called the Green Dragon - reputedly the model for the inn featured in George Eliot's Middlemarch.The restaurant is situated on the historic Spon Street, in Coventry City Centre, an easy walk from the Belgrade Theatre, the Skydome and its Odeon cinema, Ikea and, of course, Coventry Cathedral.We have good disabled facilities, but if you have mobility issues please let us know to ensure that your table is not upstairs!Unlike many restaurants, we are happy to welcome children.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good job the food was good as service let it down”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited Blue on a busy Saturday night, the restaurant was more than pleasant, we sat upstairs where the larger tables were.

We was presented with the ala carte menu and when we asked for the festive menu that we been shown when booking it was like asking for something that didn't exist .

We was presented the wine list, when we asked for Malibu they hadn't got any, when we asked what Beers they had there was no list, nor did they know what was downstairs at the bar to a point our friends went down to look. (Print a simple list to have on hand?)

our starters arrived and they were well presented and hot, I opted for the baked Camembert, main course was salmon with bubble and squeak , fish cooked perfectly and a big portion that was great value. Desert for me was a cheeseboard of British cheeses, good cheese and nice quality oat cake and crackers. This food was genuinely good.

There were just so many little service issues that it just let bistro down, but we said we would go back and give it another go based on the food and perhaps ask to be seated down stairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    82
    53
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday night atmosphere and music”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not been to Blue since June but saw they now have live music on Sunday nights; kitchen not open but I thought it would be a nice change for a drink. Had a fantastic time. Local band Low Profile were playing, the welcome by the staff was really friendly. The music was really good rock covers, the 40 or so customers were dancing by the end! What I planned as a quiet night and drink turned into a superb night with music, dancing and drinking! Great staff and great company; made to feel really at home. I will be back for another rocking Sunday!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & A Warm Welcome A Must Try”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My Wife & I went for some afternoon lunch & ended up having a 3 course lunch & a Large glass of lovely wine for £19,95 each! Food came to the table hot and warmed us through which was great no thanks to the weather. My Wife had the soup then the Pork followed by tea & petite fours. I had mushroom risotto then the Chicken followed by Coffee & petite Fours. If I had to criticize anything it would have to be the the timing between courses took a while even though they seemed short staffed. 9/10.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Must be the best place in Coventry! Great atmosphere, venison was the best I've ever had - so tender, pink and juicy. We'll definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind in the City!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Firstly we were a bit nervous too go too Blue following some of the recent reviews as we haven't been since the change from 1450. We needn't have worried. We had a Travelzoo deal for two starters, two mains and glass of fizzy wine each and this was great value.

We were welcomed at the bar and served drinks very quickly, before being told our table was ready 15 minutes earlier than our 8pm booking -we were not expecting to be seated as we had arrived early and were prepared too wait, but it was great they were able too seat us straight away!

Food was served quick and was very tasty and it was great to see locally sourced meat on the menu, including the delicious lamb which i had. The waiter we had was great and very friendly, one set of forgotten drinks but this was soon rectified and apologies given.

Blue is a lovely bistro and an asset to Coventry, for some reason the city does not manage too sustain or attract that many independent restaurants and i hope that Blue continues, and i hope that people that would usually go out into Warwickshire will give this city centre gem a chance - after all its also in one of the best historic buildings the city has too offer.

Only suggestion, please brig back the Cherry beer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing