We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate surroundings, excellent food and very friendly staff”
Review of Blue Bistro - CLOSED

Blue Bistro
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: At the Blue Bistro restaurant we offer a fabulous menu featuring modern British cuisine with a Mediterranean twist, based upon great, preferably local, seasonal ingredients, ethically sourced and cooked with passion. Despite the quality of our food, it is still possible to lunch at Blue for a fiver. Awards include the Warwickshire & Worcestershire Life Food & Drink Newcomer of the Year 2012 and an OpenTable Diners Award as one of the top ten most romantic restaurants in the UK and Ireland. The dining area at Blue covers two floors of a beautiful medieval building dating back to 1450, the exposed beams of which are complemented by striking wooden furniture to create an elegant ambiance and a unique dining experience. The building was formerly a pub called the Green Dragon - reputedly the model for the inn featured in George Eliot's Middlemarch.The restaurant is situated on the historic Spon Street, in Coventry City Centre, an easy walk from the Belgrade Theatre, the Skydome and its Odeon cinema, Ikea and, of course, Coventry Cathedral.We have good disabled facilities, but if you have mobility issues please let us know to ensure that your table is not upstairs!Unlike many restaurants, we are happy to welcome children.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Intimate surroundings, excellent food and very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Myself and my partner have eaten here several times, and it is easily the best bistro in the area. The food is always excellent, with interesting specials available and a good wine list. We have found the staff to be very personable and chatty, although I respect that some people may not like this. The manager has come over to chat to us after the meal on quiet evenings, and we have discussed the food and other places to visit in the city. Most of the negative reviews seem to be coming from people expecting a slick "chain restaurant" type experience - if this is what you want then go elsewhere, but if you like interesting food and some character then I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DME321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    82
    53
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite nice”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went here with a friend after searching the internet. The food was quite enjoyable although my crispy pork starter was a little chewy for my liking. On into the evening the place got quite busy so I guess its quite popular. I haven't had the chance to explore other eating places yet in coventry. But in comparasion with places I have eaten in Bristol it was average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed. Looked so lovely outside and inside. We hoped for an equally good meal but this was not the case.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went here this evening for a meal with my daughter who has started a new job near to Coventry and I had travelled to spend an evening with her. We were undecided where to go and very nearly went for an Indian meal but spotted the restaurant and liked the look of it so thought we would give it a try. We decided to choose from the set menu which was £19.95 each including a glass of house wine. We both ordered pâté starter which was very strange, served in a glass with what was like poppadoms instead of toast which was very odd and not quite right, very average pate. We both ordered chicken for the main course which was quite tasty but still average, it came with a bowl of chips, no vegetables or salad which you would expect one or the other. The choice (or lack of choice) of deserts was again extremely disappointing, there was cake of the day, or ice cream or coffee/tea with chocolates, you would expect a reasonable selection of deserts not just one or ice cream.
Also when I went to the ladies, you walk along a small corridor area at the back whereby you pass an office with the door wide open and someone sitting at a computer, then another room which looked like a store room, again door wide open making the area look very shabby and dirty looking. The ladies toilets are in need of a completed revamp, they were very shabby looking. There were 2 toilets, 1 of them was out of order and the other one had a broken seat! Not really what you would expect at all from the outside!
All in all, a very disappointing experience. Wish we had gone for that curry instead :( :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizij8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite a Find”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A very atmospheric restaurant near the city centre, with high quality cusine and helpful staff. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gansey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fab food, and great service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took advantage of the early bluebird discounted menu as we were celebrating my fiancés promotion. We were greeted with a warm smile, and prompt knowledgeable service from the waitress. We opted for the home made pate for starters, and although the texture was very mousse-like it was still very tasty, rich and strong. The steak for main course was very flavoursome and perfectly cooked. All in all we had a lovely evening, and would highly recommend a lovely place to visit in Coventry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairebrookes1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing