We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmoshere, great food”
Review of the newlands

the newlands
Ranked #373 of 582 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Built in the 1930's The Newlands is a great community pub which offers a wide range of food and drinks at a good value price.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice atmoshere, great food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food at the newlands is very good, especially the steaks which are all served on hot cast plates that make the food sizzle.The steaks are very hot and tasty. The prices are great and there are some very good meal deals that keep the price down.Highly reccomended if your on a budget!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amelia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    15
    17
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a local ruined”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been a regular at the pub for 40 years and cannot believe the brewery allow it to be run in the way it is. The manager is a disgrace to his profession and is nothing short of a bully with a diabolical attitude. It seems apparent that he does not want any customers in the pub. The queue for the bar is horrendous at times ( I have never seen the owner pour a pint even when 3 deep at the bar) and they rarely have suitable glasses for your drink. The staff are unhappy and the locals to scared to complain as the owner bars people at will. His response to any negative feedback is " go somewhere else" or the latter - "Your barred". He treats people with a complete lack of respect whether they are elderly diners or locals sharing a pint. The pub never seems to collect glasses as tables are stacked with dirty plates and glasses upon entry which is not a pleasant site. The staff do not seem to have any training although I pity them working for the GM. I am dismayed to think the brewery are allowing this to happen to a once great local. The pub has no atmosphere an people in the local area who had been drinking at the pub will not go in now. The Brewery needs to act as there will be no customers left and the only person who will be happy with that is the GM so he can do less than he does now!!.....a real shame

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“place to go if you want a special time!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to the newlands for our mum's birthday with family. We all had a variety of different dishes between us. The meals were all lovely and to a high standard. The staff were very friendly. They couldnt do enough for us. It is very clean, with a lovely relaxing atmosphere and We all enjoyed our vist.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad pub”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not bad - one of my fav pubs in the area. Decent seating and garden / outside areas. Decent staff friendly etc.

The blokes toilets need some attention though which is disappointing. Just getting in them is a feat in itself with 2 sprung closing doors so close together meaning you have to be careful they don't slam in your face or trap your fingers. The 3 cubicles are usually ridden with piss; and there is a massive buzzing noise from the broken fan which goes right through you.

Sort the bogs out and this wouldn't be a bad pub at all.

Food is good - would recommend the mixed grills. Beer cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BannerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not half bad.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only drank here once before and didn't find the experience too great.
My partner's sister and brother in law had come over from Australia and we were looking for somewhere to eat with two young children. Our first choice wasn't open so we reluctantly decided to head to The Newlands. To our surprise, it wasn't half bad! Food was cheap but fairly good (as good as you can get for that sort of price), it was a bit of a long wait and with two jet lagged children made it seem longer but you really cannot grumble for a Friday evening. Food came and it was hot and everything it said on the menu. My only disappointment was the two items I had wanted from the menu for my main and dessert, wasn't available. Other than that, after having avoided this pub to eat previously, I really would go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jord920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the newlands also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to the newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing