We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of the newlands

the newlands
Ranked #368 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Built in the 1930's The Newlands is a great community pub which offers a wide range of food and drinks at a good value price.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Food tasted good, extensive wine list and friendly staff. Food arrived quick and the place was very busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirlie1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    27
    15
    17
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have had enough”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I only live around the corner and it is now going to be the last option when the family go out for something to eat. Over the last 6 months or so the place has gone downhill in my opinion, especially at the weekends. Not enough staff seem to be working busy times, never enough glasses, dirty plates not cleared unless asked to by customers, poor service from staff- I could go on. Today not enough staff, and the staff on the bar serving everyone she knew first, so I left.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazeroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
“one of cov's best kept secret's”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Newlands pub is part of the sizzler brand in tilehill, it is local to us and is always a pleasant place to meet with family and friends to enjoy a few cold beers.The atmosphere is great and the food is very good quality.The also have entertainment during the weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issac b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sizzling sizzling sizzling”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we went to The Newlands for a meal with friends and couldn't have been more impressed.
we had never been in before i was totally unaware of how busy the place would be on a
saturday evening.we were informed that we might have to wait about 30 minutes or so for food,
we were greeted in less than 15 minutes by the waitress's with our food.The food came out on a sizzling plater and looked and tasted fantastic, the beer was good and the atmosphere of the place
was great too.A very pleasent experience.If you go in, try the rack of ribs, excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“a lovely experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I had some time to kill while we waited for our son inlaw.We needed to eat and so
we looked for a decent place to have a quick meal.so we popped into the newlands pub And we were not disappointed. My wife had the gammon,and i had the triple burger.
The food arrived quickly and tasted lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calum f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the newlands also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to the newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing