We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit and food good but place Grubby and Dirty”
Review of The Styvechale - CLOSED

The Styvechale
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Styvechale in Coventry food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Coventry, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Finham, Stivichall and Cheylesmore, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Revisit and food good but place Grubby and Dirty”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A revisit lets give it another try and i can say the food was good and waitress was helpful but I'm affair this place needs a refurbishment Asap . Its looking grubby and dirty. Entered the Restaurant to have staff look at you but no one acknowledge we was there waiting to be seated. Once seated table and menus dirty and sticky order taken promptly and food was nice and brought out quickly but my other half had to clean some of the salad bar spoon handles as dirty not good !!! Some of the staff seemed bored and give you the impression that they can't be bothered to be there

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichieC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    42
    42
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service and menu lacks excitement!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here for a few years quite often but have found the place is deteriorating FAST!!!!
The menu has become bland and boring and the service is getting slow. It seems like it is too much trouble for a waitress to show you to a table and gone are the times of asking if you require a drink when you are seated while you peruse the menu.
The tables are left uncleared for ages and the place is as someone has already comment, Drab and tired and in need of a complete refurb. You could put up with this if the menu and staff had a tinge of excitement about them.
Unfortunately the place is not inviting and is falling behind its competitors.

Used to love eating here but won't be rushing back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Mids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poor end of”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Me and my friend went for a meal. It was awful the fish wasn't cooked even though I'm sure they just put it in the fryer. The bar man was rude and very common and tried to hit on my friend over all it was a rubbish experiance

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible place & terrible food”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This place just seems to get worse and worse - staff that can't be bothered and food that is tasteless, dry and mostly cold. The only decent thing about the styvechale arms is the salad cart, but then again there isn't much you can do to ruin a salad. The decor is so dated, and the whole place just seems grubby and dirty. The location is great, but I just wish the owners would close the place and give it a complete refurb - while they are at it, they should train all their staff in the practice of good customer service.

One to avoid, unless you are desperate.

Helpful?
Thank x-jon-the-one-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Staff can't be bothered”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We go here a lot and the thing that let's it down is the staff - Everytime! The food is ok, average I'd say and the salad cart is nice while waiting. However, everytime we go we get seated by the 'host' waiter and then left for ages before anyone comes to ask our drinks order etc. This really annoys me as it is so unwelcoming. Today was worse though, we were sat down, told our waitresses name and 10 mins later she, nor anybody else, had returned to our table! Another party were then seated next to us and immediately offered drinks! At this point we called the waitress over and as she walked past us she shouted "Bare with Me"!!!! So rude. When she eventually came back she reluctanly took our drinks order and was about to walk off again when I pointed out we were ready to order our food too (we'd been seated ages by now!!). There was a half an hour wait for the spitroast chicken - at 1pm on a Sunday lunchtime and the signature dish Harvester is famous for is not available for half an hour!!! Very poor planning in the kitchen obviously. We ordered desserts after our main and when these were brought to us the waitress also 'threw' our bill down on the table as if to say "you've eaten, now go"! Not surprisingly on our way out we heard there was a 20 min wait for tables hence why they were keen for us to leave!..... I doubt we will be going back anytime soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonnynonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Styvechale also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing