We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Styvechale - CLOSED

The Styvechale
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Styvechale in Coventry food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Coventry, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Finham, Stivichall and Cheylesmore, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Booking ahead isn't allowed so at weekends, or if you have a large group for an occasion or during seasonal periods be prepared to wait at least 45mins. They're supposed to have your food out to you within 30mins, this does not always happen and when it does arrive its dry, bland and not much of it to be honest. Last few times we've been wearing leave unhappy and say we're not coming back, well our last time was in Jan and our next family meal out we did go somewhere else

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    43
    42
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Is this the worst Harvester?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

On my own I arrived at 7 and was told my table would be 10 minutes. I got my table at 7.30 and promptly ordered. My steak came at 8.05 with chips instead of jacket potato, so I sent it back. It came back a couple of minutes later with the worst potato I've seen and my steak well done instead of medium. I sent it back again and at 8.30 my meal hasn't arrived so I left. An absolutely awful experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Good food and plenty of it with unlimited salads to accompany the main course. Unlimited free refills available on certain of the soft drinks - and free wifi too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
Kind regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

after our terrible exsperience here on june 20th[see review] we went again on the 13th of july, what a change we were met by Loz a small blonde waitress who showed us to our table with a smile, she then took our drinks order, we later ordered after Loz explained the menu to us, we had stuffed mushrooms[2] salad bar [3] & chicken goujons, all were hot & delicous. our main course were steak[2] chicken&chips[2] & gammon[1], these were hot & mouth watering the steaks just right, the sweets were also very good the servic very good the whole visit was such a change to our last visit in june.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to our Restaurant.
Regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Would reccomend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Read bad reviews about the harvester.however we haf a great expierience their.went at half eight atmisphere was lovelly.staff service was very friendly.craig who was at front of house was very welcoming.our waitress who im sure was called debbie was lovelly and bar staff very efficient.had kickin garlic spit roast which was lovelly.overall a lovely expierence.would reccomend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Styvechale, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to our restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Styvechale also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing