We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Etna

Etna
Ranked #109 of 582 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Average restaurant with average food. Food was bog standard and not well presented. We went on a saturday night and it wasn't busy at all. The waiters were very friendly - although they didnt ask us if we'd like a drink the whole time we were there. When glasses were empty after half an hour i had to call the waiter over. Toilets were dingy very pooly lit with only 1 dim light. 1 cubicle had no toilet roll and the seat was broke. The other had used toilet roll all over the floor and was vertually pitch black. Mediocre restaurant let down by small things.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    28
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent food and wine, nice staff, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Was in the restaurant on a midweek evening (when Coventry City Centre resembles a ghost town), so the restaurant was quiet. The staff were attentive and friendly, but overly so.

We were immediately informed that a couple of items on the menu were not available, so we knew not to pick them and then be disappointed.

I ordered the Fritto Misto to start (mixed Calamari, King Prawn and Whitebait seasoned and deep fried). It was excellent. The portion size for all our starters were all on the large side.

I had the Calzone for a main course, with others in our group having Pizza or Pasta. The pizza dough was a little thick and doughy, but other than that, the food was delicious, and portions generous.

The house wine was also very pleasant and reasonably priced.

This is a restaurant that I would go back to (although I may not choose pizza-based dishes).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lappins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very reasonably price Italian food and very good service. They also do a take away service now at rock bottom prices!

Helpful?
Thank Evie D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful food at a good price”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've been to Etna on three occasions and have yet to have anything which wasn't perfectly cooked. Our last visit was on a Thursday evening last week.

We have to make a comparison with Da Vinci's in Earlsdon. Our opinion is that the food at Etna is better quality and also costs less, but the place does lack the intimate atmosphere Da Vinci's has. The place is brightly lit and very open, so can feel slightly odd if it's not very full.

On Thursday we had the fritto misto and antipasto misto as starters. I've never seen as much whitebait on a starter, and the antipasto misto was spot on.

We both had fillet steak for mains, one with vulcano sauce and one with black pepper sauce. The steaks were generous in size and absolutely perfectly cooked (both rare). The meat was amazing, as good as we've ever had. Both served with veg and potato, easily enough, and all included in the price.

We shared a tiramisu for pudding followed by espressos, and had a £20 bottle of wine with our meal. Total cost for two was £80, two thirds of the price of the more expensive restaurants in Coventry.

There was only the one waiter serving, but he managed to cope well enough. We had a really good chat with him towards the end of the evening. Walking past Etna later that night, he clocked us as he was clearing up and gave us a wave and a smile which was lovely!

We are so happy with Etna, and can't believe we've walked past so many times. Forget how it looks, try the food. Having never tried the pizza we must pop in in an afternoon and give it a go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeggyTomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“A Pleasurable Experience!!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic lunch at The Etna.....I had their Home-made Soup and Crusty Bread to start with which was delicious. For the main course I had their "Gorgeous" Home-Made Lasagne Bolognaise.......Superb. Dessert was a light Chocolate Cake with nuts and Whipped Cream.
The young Italian Man and the very amusing waitress made the whole experience a pleasure!!! They served us efficiently and with good humour, what more could a customer want???/
Thank You all so very much...we shall return!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing