We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for visiting students. Good clean accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very convenient for visiting students. Good clean accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had an overnight stay here after moving our son into the university which is on the same grounds.

This is a business raining centre and has that air about it. The rooms however are spacious and clean. The staff are all friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. There are cheaper hotels in Coventry but to be able to walk from the bars and restaurants on campus is a big plus. I would class this as a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Myself, and all the team look forward to seeing you at Warwick again in the future,

Kind regards,

Richard Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
636 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for business. It is very easy to find, although my sat av placed me the opposite side off the A46! To reach you have to go to the roundabout and come back on yourself . Only 2 mins off A46. There is a large car park.

My room was huge with a lovely comfy bed and spacious bathroom. I had a nice view overlooking the grounds.

Breakfast was a good choice and freshly cooked.

A nice stay and good location for Birmingham, Stratford, warwick and Coventry.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

To begin with my stay at the Scarman this weekend was good. The reception staff was nice and the bar staff helpful. The dinner was good too. Then at 5am in the morning the fire alarm went off. My colleague and I got up and out as well as advising some of the many teenagers staying for a football tournament what to do. Then about 100 of us stop by the fire assembly point. However we did not see one member of staff. No one checked that everyone was out of that all guests were accounted for. We went back in when we saw others go back in. As a fire warden I was shocked by the lack of care. When I checked out and spoke to staff I was told I was lucky (lucky?!) that two people were on duty and that someone could be outside with customers in the car park. I pointed out that we were at another fire point and was backed up by another man checking out. The staff didn't seem to care that if there had been a fire people could have died and many of them would have been children. I was angered and they didn't care at all. It is terrible and policy at the hotel should be changed. On top of this they also run of breakfast for everyone as they were not prepared for the young boys staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review, and secondly apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. I completely understand the disruption this will have caused to your stay.

Your comments will be taken seriously and fed back to our teams here at Scarman.
I do hope we have an opportunity in the future to compensate for your experience on this occasion and can assure you that the problems you experienced are far from our normal guest experience.

If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact the venue and ask to speak to me.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Harrison,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived here at around 1am, as attending a conference at the Uni and the conference organisers had managed to mess up our booking in what is normally the student accommodation. Despite the late hour, Reception dealt with our booking quickly and efficiently. The route to the room was a bit of a trek and there is a strange lift system, whereby you take the lift up one floor from reception, but it only takes you up to the 1st floor, then you need to walk along another corridor to find another lift and/or stairs to get to the 2nd floor - odd.

Anyway, the room was fine – clean and well presented. There was a flat-screen TV, a kettle with coffee and tea sachets (both including decaff) and a pack of biscuits, plus a bottle of water. There were large liquid soap plus hair and body wash dispensers, a thin plastic cup for mouth-rinse purposes, plus complimentary size body lotion and mouthwash (no shower cap). The shower was good but whilst the hand towel and bath sheet were clean, they weren’t particularly soft. There was a phone in the bedroom and (oddly I thought) the bathroom (above the loo – perhaps this is where business people conduct their business, in more than one sense of the word lol). There was a trouser press and an iron and ironing board in the cupboard, which I was glad of to press my linen jacket which had suffered during the journey in my bag (yes, I was ironing at 1.30am), but I couldn’t seem to get the ironing board down again! Hairdryer also provided.

Slight niggles: there was a small fan in the cupboard, which I got out as the weather was hot, but this was so noisy that it could not be used, as it would have hindered sleep, so the window wide open for the night was the best I could do. Also, the pillows were on the small side, plus you had to remember to make sure your door was locked with the key when leaving, or turn the lock when you get in, as it didn’t lock automatically on closure, and there was no inside cover for the spy-hole.

Breakfast was OK – buffet style, with full range of the usual cooked items (although they kept running out of toast), croissants and pastries, cereals, jam and marmite, plus it was nice to have a ‘healthy corner’ with fresh berries and yogurt (again, could have been replenished quicker). Fruit juice, tea and coffee freely available, although the hot water for the tea pots was from an urn, rather than boiling as I would have liked. The breakfast plates were purposely small, preventing people from having too much on their plate (although they could of course go back for seconds if they wanted!). Had to ask them to replenish the bowl of bananas too, so felt they could have kept their eye on stock levels a bit better, but on the whole fairly organised considering the amount of people they are feeding at once.

The conference centre accommodation is situated about a 15 minute or so walk from the Arts Centre theatre on the campus so has we had heavy bags and had to be there early, reception ordered a taxi to take us there, which came very quickly and the fare was £5 to the Arts Centre.

On the whole, I would be more than happy to stay here again if I was here on business purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comprehensive review & photos following your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. Your comments regarding the bedrooms & catering have been passed to the appropriate teams and will be acted on immediately.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimsting, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Scarman is a very good loacation close to many important places at the university. Very Simple but clean and with everything which is necessary. They have a nice coffeemaker and free drinking water in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've visited this conference centre for a reoccurring event in 2009, 2011, and 2013 and it's probably the best facility I've ever been a delegate at in the UK and I've been to plenty of conferencing hotels. The Warwick Arts Centre is the perfect host for a media heavy event as it has several lecture theaters, a standard theater, a large open hall that can be use for trade fairs and hobbyist stalls and the fantastically equipped Butterworth Hall.

The Rootes Building has several excellent features including two restaurants, a coffee shop, and bar as well several other large rooms that can be converted from workshop rooms to art galleries and more. The Student Union which can be booked has split level bars which can be used to host pub quizzes, karaoke and more. The local bar the Dirty Duck is a friendly place with affordable food and a nicer atmosphere than most student joints - though it is up a lot of steps a lift is available via the SU building.

The outdoor ampitheatre is a great gathering place and the large screen on the side of the Rootes Building visible from it can be used to display conference relevant programming. I have to recommend this as a delegate I think they are fantastic, they aren't phased if the event is a business conference, sports tournament, or a fan convention.

The only issues I have is that the breakfast, though good, isn't as good as some others I've had and the rooms I personally stayed in (Arthur Vick in the Conference Park, rather than Scarman) were rather basic - but they had plenty of storage space!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorCadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review and recommendation following your stay a Warwick Conferences. It's a pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations on more than one occasion and that you would rate us as the best facility in the UK for business trips.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business, but have stayed here before for conferences and training. The rooms have been updated since my last stay, are very comfortable and have everything you need. The free wi-fi was great, though the signal in my bedroom was a little hard to find and I initially had to stand by the bathroom to connect! Good sleep, nice and quiet despite the place being busy with a conference ongoing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was good though limited menu in the private dining area (a conference was on in the large dining hall). Breakfast buffet was vast and all tasted good. Overall excellent service, thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Myself, and all the team look forward to seeing you at Warwick again in the future,

Best regards,

Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Training and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Property: Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing