We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth its four-star rating in every sense!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at Scarman House, University of Warwick Conferences, as I was attending a course. The en suite double bedroom and the residential meals were both excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Scarman House is definitely worth its four-star rating!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It is truly a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences again soon in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have just stayed fr 2 nights. The course was very interesting and the teaching facilities were first class. The rooms were fabulous. Immaculately clean and very comfortable. Ample car parking in a secure car park. The food was ample and very well presented and all of the staff were very helpful. I had a wonderful experience.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank KathrynW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My company booked a conference here because there were too many of us to fit in at one of our numerous locations across the UK so this fitted the bill perfect. The facilities are excellent.

Rooms are of a 4 star hotel standard or better. The food is very good. We had private dining for dinner and the lunch the following day was excellent. Too many choices but mustn't complain.

Coffee, tea, biscuits and afternoon cakes, fruit and nibbles are available all day.

Car parking on my stay was ample. Just a shame that there has to be someone holding up everyone trying to exit because they didn't collect a car park token.

I will certainly be adding this venue when we next need a conference. Previously we have used hotels but none have been as good as this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scarman and felt well looked after. We pride ourselves on providing you with all you need to ensure an enjoyable and productive time with us – from the meeting to the catering and the service, so I’s a pleasure to hear that this was evident during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Where do I start? Rooms are a high standard as you'd expect and the free wifi code on arrival for all guests was a boost. Car park overcrowded so they could do with expanding this. Here for one night for management training. Food plentiful with at least six choices for dessert alone at lunch. Private dining meal in evening even had a sweet trolley! Hello 1980s! As many penny sweets as you can cram into your pockets, free ice cream and cakes in every break. If your here for more than two days then get to the gym! There's a bar in the evening but you can always walk to the varsity 5 mins away for a change.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Cotterposts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences.

Myself, and all the team hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 to attend a concert at the Warwick Arts Center. Very easy to find, easy walking distance to the arts center. This place can and does put a lot of hotels to shame, the facilities are good, the rooms are a decent size with good facilities, free WiFi which most hotel chains still charge for, even a proper coffee machine in the room! We only had breakfast so can only judge the quality of catering by that, and it was excellent, not cheap ingredients as found in other hotels which charge similar prices or more. The staff are very good at their jobs, they show real experience of dealing with large groups of people, so dealing with couples etc is a walk in the park for them.

If I need somewhere to stay in Coventry again I know where I will be going!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. I am delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and found our facilities, staff and catering to be of a high standard, it is truly a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences again the next time you are in Coventry.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This venue was chosen by the organisers for an intensive leadership academy. I found that the facilities were very supportive for such an event. The hospitality was good, with strong skills evident in every staff department. The food was plentiful and of a decent standard - even for this vegan. Fruit was available at all breaks, as were soft drinks, coffee, tea and quite a lot of sweets, cakes and pastries - if that's your weakness. It was pleasing to find an iron, a radio and even a fan in the room - with a free view TV. The bed was kingsize - there was a full bath and storage for clothing was very adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water are provided.

The facility has a lounge with free newspapers, free tea, coffee, fruit, soft drinks and a pay for bar. Lots of space for networking and well furnished breakout areas.

The seminar rooms are well equipped and I cannot fault the conditions - which allowed for a productive learning experience.

The toilets were clean and well maintained. And the gym etc provide for a refreshing workout after the hard work.

There is a decent shopping area about ten minutes away by foot, including a large Tesco supermarket should you have forgotten something.

I'd recommend this as a venue, even though it's in clear competition with the hospitality offered by colleges in Oxford.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of a rather long corridor. You have a shorter walk to the core facilities if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relentlessvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comprehensive review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. I am delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and would recommend us as a business venue. We pride ourselves on offering the highest level of customer service, so it is truly a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences again very soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here one night for a work related seminar.
The service is good, checking in didn't take more than two minutes. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
I was really pleased by the king size bed which apparently is their style in all the rooms. Free wi-fi and TV is available. The bedroom was great. It was clean, spacious and everything (Kettle, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, etc.) was provided.
The bathroom was nice too, but I had a feeling that the toilet could use a brush and washing liquid. Also there was blond hair left in the shower from previous guests.
The dinner at the bar was nice too. The portions were big and the prices were alright. But there was napkins left on the coach (in the lounge area) where we were having our dinner. This are the reasons I gave low ratings for cleanliness.
The breakfast at Lakeview Restaurant was perfect too, with a wide range of choices. Everything was fresh and delicious.
The lunch was even better than breakfast, plenty of choices for starter, main and desert, all fresh and nice.
The seminar venue was well managed and over all it went very well.
I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. Just be careful not to be given a room with unclean bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comprehensive review and recommendation on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. Your comments regarding the lounge and bedroom have been passed to the appropriate teams and will be actioned immediately.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Training and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $139 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing