We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I was only here overnight and for a conference, but I found the hotel to be pleasant and friendly. I didn't pay for it, so I've no idea if it represented value, but I would have happily paid a fair price.

Several reviews have commented on the rooms being small - I didn't find this to be the case. I found the hotel had, if anything, too much space, which did mean at times it was confusing to find things through the twisty corridors.

The rooms were tidy, well presented, well lit. All were supllied with WiFi and wired connections which, over the University network, performed well. We did have some issues during the conference as the wifi kicked us out as we moved around rooms, then sometimes gave trouble re-connecting. But when it worked, it worked very well indeed.

The conference area, which doubles as the bar area, had soft drinks and tea and coffee on tap - I'm not sure if that specific to our conference, but it was most welcome.

The breakfast was excellent. As all buffet breakfasts do, it suffered a bit from "been standing there too long" syndrome, but it was all filling and the choice was great, even for a vegetarian and, as an extra brownie point in terms of the latter, the meat and non-meat products were entirely separate...first time I've seen that.

The catered buffet lunch was gobbled with gusto as I was busy, but was well above average, as were the cakes and buns supplied in intermissions.

Excellent impression and excellent venue....but I've no idea of the value

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comprehensive review on Scarman. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and found our venue pleasant and friendly.
Your comments regarding breakfast have been passed back to our team and I am pleased you found our offering ‘excellent’.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Scarman soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 178 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have stayed here twice for work-related courses, the most recent occasion being in December 2011. On the positive side, the rooms are clean and pleasant and of more than adequate size for one person. The staff at reception are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Also, the choice of snacks available in the lounge is excellent, with plenty of 'healthy' options. If you are lucky and your conference includes it (as my first one did), the cafeteria -style lunch is also very good, with again lots of choice.

My main complaint would be about the evening meals. The food is very well presented, in fine-dining style, but the portions are miniscule and the meals are virtually vegetable-free. It's a minor point, but the menu mentions that when having cheese and biscuits, it is possible to opt for lower fat cheeses, but my request for this option was met by blank looks.

Still, I know that I will be returning next year and the prospect doesn't fill me with dread, but I may request basic but filling meals from room service, even though I will be paying for them myself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and found the rooms to be of a more than adequate size.
With regards to your feedback about the evening meals, I have taken your comments back to my team and as a result we have increased the selection of bar meals, as an alternative to the restaurant dining option.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you again have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I found myself at Scarman House whilst taking exams with Warwick Business School. The rooms are small and basic (smaller than Travel-lodge but of the same standard) and not good value for money. The leaflet in the room refers to a fridge - but there isn't one in my room.

The restaurant says they have award winning chefs - but I am guessing the awards arent cookery awards after my (just abandoned) evening meal. They were very quiet, but I thought that should have helped. The food was very average, cold starters arrived in around 90 seconds, followed by the main course swiftly afterwards, including mushy cauliflower and hard potatoes - reminded me of hospital food!

Dessert was disgusting and was left on the table hardly touched.

On the positive side, it is a great location for my conference / exams and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T4Tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

I stayed at Scarman House which I had booked through the exam board OCR and was due to take part in a very boring course about marking exam papers online.

Scarman House is a conference hotel - I don't think you can book directly and stay there for leisure purposes. It was easy to find with plenty of parking and check-in was very easy.

However it is quite expensive - it cost £90+ for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet affair which was excellent and you could eat as much as you wished - and food was very good. Unfortunately the rooms are not special. The beds were small and the room very hot. You also have to lock the room from the outside when you leave as the doors don't lock automatically which I found strange.

A very average hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vicki1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickconferences, Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Stefania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPLEJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
570 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $132 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing