We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akbar

Akbar
Ranked #69 of 570 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We were taken to Akbars for a family night out. The place was recommended by friends and it didn't disappoint. I read the reviews prior to visiting which had some negative reviews. I guess a place that is this busy is always going to miss something. When we arrived the place was 25% full but it wasn't long before it was 100% full. The staff were stretched but coped well. We had chicken puri, garlic mushrooms, onion bhaji and samosa and they were all divine, complemented by 4 very good curries. Would recommend this place every time.

Helpful?
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    100
    39
    26
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“reliable eating place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times over the years and it has never failed to come up to the mark. The food is wonderful as is the service and portion sizes are generous. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“service and welcome as important as food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As someone who had always professed a dislike of any spicy food, I was very surprised by my first visit to Akbars. The surroundings were more sophisticated than expected and the welcome excellent. At subsequent return visits we were greeted like old friends. The food is excellent, with something for all tastes, even children.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've never Been disappointed, always delighted! Polite attentive waiters - can get very busy at weekends. Great menu choice for couples, friends, families.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lily43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Wedding present?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Yes, we were given dinner at Akbars as a wedding present. From the moment we walked in it was superb. The staff were wonderfully attentive. It was certainly a lovely place to be in. Of course opinions vary, but we loved it. The food was very good. I have absolutely no complaints or negative criticism of our meal here. I haven't been to many Indian restaurants but this was an experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vandino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Akbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing