We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively atmosphere. Good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akbar

Akbar
Ranked #69 of 570 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere. Good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed a super meal in a busy, lively restaurant. Good food and very welcoming. A very convenient place to eat if staying at the Ramada Hotel opposite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourways48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    100
    39
    26
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced greasy poor! Not original akbars!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went on a saturday night so expected delays but over an hour wait for food half n hour for drinks, staff rude n could not understand me. Naans poor standard curries greasy. Even had a long wait for the bill. If i visit coventry again won't be going back here. Plenty more curry houses in the area only to be told later.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacknjoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

All good, but if I had to be anal I would say the nan bread was under cooked and the main was a little too oily

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gripper A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“best restaurant in coventry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have been going to akbars for many years now,excellent food,service and all the staff are so friendly and helpful even when they are so busy. Have tried other indian restaurants in Cov but none compere to Akbars. Nas makes you feel a valued customer and always makes time to chat to you. Definitely the No 1 restuarant in Cov!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relax, it's worth the wait!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's been a while since we have eaten in the restaurant at Akbars as we normally just have a takeaway.
Due to a very poor meal at a curry house in Dunchurch recently we decided to have rerun of the birthday celebrations and eat in at Akbars.
This place has a great atmosphere and is really busy, if you don't like waiting then this place is not for you!
5 of us ate sharing a couple of mixed kebabs and poppadorms to start followed by a selection of curries that again were shared around the table, all washed down by a couple of excellent Cobras.
There was a delay getting the bill at the end but apologies were delivered and accepted - a very busy night and a man down!
We will definitely return soon to eat in or out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Akbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing