We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the food”
Review of The Wallace

The Wallace
Ranked #135 of 580 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Pub
Description: A Sizzling Pub For Keresley. When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Wallace in Keresley sets the standard for customers from nearby Coundon, Radford Road & Wallace Road and across West Midlands. Of all the pubs and bars in Keresley our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none. Hot Deals & News, we always offer great value but our deals and promos are unbeatable. If you'd like to know more about what's on then why not sign up for our regular newsletter or just check out our news and offers pages.Don't Miss Magic Mondays. Enjoy our Magic Mondays selection of beer, lager, cider, wine and spirits at The Wallace at the start of every week. Opening hours: Monday to Wednesday: 09:00 to 23:00 Thursday to Saturday: 09:00 to 00.00 Sunday: 09:00 to 23:00
Restaurant details
Description: A Sizzling Pub For Keresley. When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Wallace in Keresley sets the standard for customers from nearby Coundon, Radford Road & Wallace Road and across West Midlands. Of all the pubs and bars in Keresley our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none. Hot Deals & News, we always offer great value but our deals and promos are unbeatable. If you'd like to know more about what's on then why not sign up for our regular newsletter or just check out our news and offers pages.Don't Miss Magic Mondays. Enjoy our Magic Mondays selection of beer, lager, cider, wine and spirits at The Wallace at the start of every week. Opening hours: Monday to Wednesday: 09:00 to 23:00 Thursday to Saturday: 09:00 to 00.00 Sunday: 09:00 to 23:00
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place shame about the food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a Christmas meal with friends and found it rather disappointing. I found out that it had changed hands and we could tell by the quality of the food - some of it was cold or under cooked and not up to the high standard of cooking it once had.
Its a nice pub just dont eat there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Withall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have been before with the family as very local to where they live, Unually OK but on last visit it had deteriorated. Basic choices not available. One medium/rare steak was anything but and other meals barely warm. Not expensive but not good value if the whole experience is disapointing. Had taken my elderly mum as what was meant to be a treat but was not. Won't return in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitsycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service, mediocre food, shant be returning”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Visited as a party of 6 adults & 5 children, not the first time we had visited - wasn't that great last time but gave it another go as a friend works there.

Ordered main courses as separate parties but consecutively. Took 45mins for some to arrive before waiting another 10mins to be told they didn't have all the childrens food left & agreed an alternative, waited another 15mins for the wrong food to come out, by now the kids were starting to get a little ratty as they were hungry.

Food was mediocre, steak was tough & chewy. All the desserts that had ice cream were off the menu due to a broken freezer so we settled for what they had left available...took another 30mins to bring out a couple of slices of cake & squirty cream out. Not impressed.

Complaints to the staff fell on deaf ears, they were apologetic but felt like it was only to placate us so they could get away from the table. All in all, terrible service, below average food, really not worth the money. Plenty of other similar establishments in the area that we will be trying rather than wasting our hard earned cash here.

Our advice...don't bother!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsShears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food & pub”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Ate here recently celebrating my nephews exam results. Pub gets very busy and there is a very long bar which only had two barmaids working on it, one at each end so there was a bit of a wait. That besides food came quite quickly once ordered was hot & filling. Very good value for money. I think the waitresses are worth there weight on gold!!! They work very hard!. Would gladly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
793 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Friendly staff good vaue for money”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A group of us eat out often ,some one suggested the Wallace and now it is a regular both luch time and evening meeting place.A varied menu but you can't beat the fish and chips!,,

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wallace also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Wallace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing